The desert queen Reshma

I think she is a very under rated singer from our country just because she is a woman. She has a very strong voice and tunes like Lambi Judai really touch you.

This is an Article from Dawn. I thought I would share it with others.

The desert queen

By Samia Ahmed

Mesmerizing, soulful, stirring; that’s the effect that Reshman has when you hear her singing. And truly speaking, her presence seems ubiquitous be it a make-up room with a handful of people, or a hall occupied by avid music lovers. But another reason for this may not be her voice; people think its got more to do with her personality. She’s overbearing and audacious and many ignore her tantrums saying, “She’s grown old and obstinate” and politely overlook her comments.

Unfortunately this scribe also came in the line of fire when she found out that a journalist was present there to interview her. She started ranting off belligerently about how publications and journalists, in particular, want her dead.

“Dead?” I asked.

“They write about me being chronically ill and say I’ve been spotted at shrines roaming about aimlessly. Do I look ill to you?” asks Reshman while getting ready for a recording. This uncomfortable yet amusing conversation went on for a while where I played the role of the conscientious journalist taking notes of a wounded artist’s complaints, while the artist controlled the situation and spewed out her severe doubts about the authenticity of reports in papers. In the middle of this I’m led out of the make-up room, as the make-up artist cannot perform his religiously skillful duty until Reshman keeps quiet and that means my absence.

PTV station, Studio D, the recording of a commendable programme called Bazm-e-Ghazal. Reshman is the star of the evening and everyone on the set along with Salman Alvi, the host of the show, is waiting for her. Tremendous applause greets her as she sits on stage and immediately instructs Salman to announce her good health on TV. He does so with a genuine smile, respect showing in his eyes. At that point, right there before me Reshman transformed. This lady on stage cracked jokes about herself with the crowd, lightened the atmosphere with her easy going disposition and had no qualms about telling people about her drawbacks.

“I only know how to sign my name in Urdu,” says Reshman to a fan asking for an extended autograph. “But if you like I can put down my thumb print,” she jokes. The intimidating lady had become the darling of the audience. And then of course, her singing and the lovely melodies including the famous Lambi Judai and Chori, Chori kept all other thoughts out of my mind for a while.

Reshman belongs to the golden sands of Thar, Rajistan. She may have travelled vastly, but her heart belongs to the land that gave her what she loves so dearly; music and the melodies. More than that the land has given her character. She may be staunch, blunt, conceited and coarse but she can’t be any other way. What do you expect from a woman who has been raised in a desert and had been singing at the shrine of Shahbaz Qalandar since her childhood. And that is where she was discovered by Salim Jilani, director Radio Pakistan. To date she gives credit to Shahbaz Qalander for her success and always starts her performance with him.

“When I feel him calling me I leave everything and go to his shrine to sing for him,” says Reshman, her piercing, grey-green eyes full of respect for the religious man.

Reshman is also a great believer of Nizamuddin Aulia, Bakhtiar Kaki and Moinuddin Chistie. She visits the shrines often and thus her association with India grew. She has been called time and again, her most recent visit solicited by the Maharaja of Jaipur. She has sung for Indian movies, and has been praised by many including Dilip Kumar. She has performed the world over and won numerous awards. People have given her immense love and attention and her pride has nurtured thus.

With a god-gifted voice and an opportunity to leave her village, Reshman entered the world of fame. Always confident and dauntless, she appeared on TV not having the slightest notion of how this would change her life. Little did she know that one day artists like Lata Mangeshkar would adapt her song for a movie soundtrack.

“Noor Jehan and Lata are great singers, I respect them immensely,” says Reshman. “I’m lucky Lata chose my song.”

But she is not happy with the kind of response she’s getting these days “since everybody is moving towards pop now.” However, she has not forgotten the appreciation she has received from the country.

“Everywhere I go I represent Pakistan. I love this land, and it’s only because of Pakistan that people all over the world get to hear my voice, otherwise none of this would have happened to me.”

Reshman exudes patriotism at the mention of stardom and glory and keeps repeating herself as if she can’t say enough about the land and the people.

Many say that she has had her peak and its time for her to move on. Many publications have reported her to be ailing and have seriously doubted her ability to sing again. But from what one witnessed that evening, she still has powerful energy, performing brilliantly at the show. She may have crossed her prime and might not be able to deliver gems like she has done in the past, but she still has the gift of a wonderful voice and from what I could gather from our little talk, she has every intention to have continue making her presence felt in the world of music.

i met the gr8 singer bk in ottawa a few yearz ago...shez an amazing singer and person...humble, down-2-earth and true in every aspect...itz sad that shez ill these dayz and is keeping a low profile...not attending many concertz and showz...i alwayz had and will alwayz have respect 4 her...shez a gr8 asset for our industry and country...may God bless her with health...

thanx 4 sharing this article ali...
God bless u 2

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni...
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni...
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein...
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni...

Yaar Dervaish its amazing teri aur meri choice kitni milti julti hay!

I totally agree! she never got the exposure she deserved. ah! When will our countrymen learn to be grateful for the excellent talent present on their own dharti?!

Thanks for the article AliBeta

problem wid us is that we don't appriciate wat we have until it's too late, she is a The deserted queen

Very right my parents met her once and told me the same. She has excellent voice is no doubt a huge talent. Wondering why she had to go to INDIA to become real famous. Even then she didnt derserve what she really should.

"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"

Chaar dina da pyaar o rabba
badi lambi judaai.

Reshma is a great singer with so much depth in her voice.She was kind enough to sing a few songs for Hindi films in Mumbai.All of these were big hits.
I think she also sang for a Rajkapoor film.I dont recollect the song.