My husband has recently expressed an interest in incorporating more vegis and grains into our diet … something I want to encourage in all ways possible :D. However, a quick mental scan of my vegetarian cooking know-how has come back with sadly meager offerings …
so I thought perhaps a thread would be a good idea to start a collection of non-meat recipes … all cuisines and their variations etc most welcome and gratefully received!
The index to the recipes in this thread :
Bhindi Ki sabzi by Ehle - Post 2
Bhuni Moong daal by Niksik - Post 5
Chana Daal Zuchini by Niksik - Post 5
Potato recipe and tips by MM - Post 6
Alu Mattar Paneer by Gina - Post 8
Alu Baingan by CB - Post 9
Veg Fried Rice by CB - Post 14
Shaljum by Sehrysh - Post 17
Potatoes with peanuts by Niksik - Post 18
Anday Aloo Qorma by Ehle - Post 25
bhindi/okra 16oz pkt - cut
onion 1 large - finely sliced
tomatoes - 2 medium chopped
crushed red chilli flakes - to taste
cumin - 1 tspn
garlic - 2-3 cloves
salt - to taste
oil - 2-3 tbspn
heat oil. add okra (fresh or thawed) to oil. stir for few mins. Idea is to lightly saute this vegetable to minimize/eradicate the "slime" ot sticky factor that many ppl dont like.
once lightly sauted. removed from pan. add bit more oil to pan and add sliced onions. saute until translucent to slightly pinky brown in color. add crushed red chilli flakes, zeera and garlic to onions. saute. return the bhindi to onions. add chopped tomatoes and salt to taste.
stir stir stir. cover and cook on med heat. no additional liquid is needed BUT if you see/smell burning add 1/8 cup of water, lower heat ... cover and cook. about 10 mins or sooo
uncover ... bhonify some more. there should be no liquid at this stage. onions would be cooked to a nice caramel brown and bhindi would be cooked through.
I serve with chapati.
**that’s a great idea for a healthy living, inshaa Allah
i’m in the process of developing a great recipe for making “the BEST MASUR kii Daal” i’ll post it right here as soon as it’s patented and copyrighted by GS Administration… ab yeh koii na kahe k “yeh muNh aur masur kii daal!” **
Take a cup of yellow moong daal and wash it. Soak for an hour.
Fry an onion with some assorted garam masala pieces [cinnamon stick, bari elaichi, zeera, a few cloves and peppercorns]
When golden, add ginger garlic paste...1 tsp
Then add one chopped tomato and tumeric, salt and red chilli powder
Bhuno until ooil separates
Add the soaked daal and very little water
Cook covered on low until done. Garnish with cilantro and green chillies.
Channa Dal Zuchinni
Boil one cup washed daal with chopped tomato, ginger and garlic crushed, haldi, salt and red chilli powder
when cooked, add sliced zuchinni [don't remove the peel as that's where most of the nutrition is]
cook on low until zuchinni is al dente
Do a simple tarka for oil and zeera and deghi mirch [or kashmiri mirch] and por over the dal
-Well this lady I know makes ghotay-shaljam. I don’t know the exact recipe but it’s yum. I think you cook it like make regular masala, then add shaljam and when it gets tender, bhonofy it until it’s reduced to a bharta like form.
-I love this potato recipe. It’s the easiest dish ever:
-I am not a big fan of daals but I love saabat masar (the whole brown lentils ones) with boiled rice. Made best in ‘matti di handi’ over slow heat. :drool:
-I made veggie kebabs yesterday with carrot, fresh beans, capsicum, corn, cabbage and boiled potatoes+zucchini. The material went a bit limp and had to handle it with care, but they tasted yum.
1 potato diced and parboiled
1/2 cup peas
1 cup paneer cubes (fry it in very little oil)
1 small onion
1 small tomato
gin/gar paste
salt
kalonji
zeera
red chilli powder
1 teaspoon tomato paste.
Fry the paneer cubes and set aside.. in some oil fry the onions till they’re transparent, add the tomatoes and red chilli powder, salt, zeera, kalonji and the parboiled potatoes. Then add the peas, a little water and let it cook..when the potatoes are fully cooked add-in the tomato paste. When the water dries-up and the oil seperates add the paneer cubes, dhaniya!
Ehle , this is a fabulous thread idea I will sticky it now
I love vegetables and daals … one of my favourite recipe is Baingan aloo …
here’s the recipe for it :
Peel three to four baingans and chop them to really small size cubes .. Keep aside
Peel 6-7 Potatoes , cut into large cubes and keep aside
Start the dish with basic masala , ie onion bhuno, add ginger garlic , then add the spices like salt, red chilli powder, cumin powder, corriander powder , garam masala pinch … stir until oil separates
Add two to three tomatos ki paste … stir until oil separates. finally add in the cubed baingan and half cup water … lower the heat to the lowest setting , cover the pot and bhool jao ki kuch pak ra hai , for a good 30 minutes.
Then return to the baingan and stir it , when its nearly become a thick paste , add the potatoes , cover the pot back again and let it cook in low steam …
When done, add corriander and green chillies …
Comes out yummy , to be eaten with Paratha for extra brilliant taste
gina~ love ur recipe ..i'll try it soon
i have never bought/used paneer can you guide me plzz :@: i have seen lots of different kinds but dont know which one to choose ??
Boil one cup rice and leave them in the fridge for a day or two.
When ready to make the dish ,do the following:
Thinly shred one and a half cup cabbage
2-3 carrots shredded
half a cup of peas
half a cup of corn
half a cup green simla mirch
Any other vegies that you like
Then stir fry them all one by one and keep them aside ...
Finally saute half an onion , finely chopped , add the vegetables all of them in ... then add two TBSP soya sauce , two TBSP Vinegar, Some ketchup , few drops of fish sauce , chilli sauce ... stir and take it all out in a pan .
next , in a frying pan , add one tsp oil , when its really warm , add quarter of the boiled and refrigerated rice and stir fry them on high fire ... try not to stir too intensely or they will break up ...
few stirs , and then add them to the pot that has the vegeis , do the same with the remaining rice , do it in small chunks so they all get fried nicely.
When done, mix the vegies and the rice together sprinkle some salt and black pepper if you like ... they are ready to be served with any salan or on their own
Boil or microwave 6 medium white potatoes. Peel and cube.
In a frying pan, add some oil, mustard seeds, kari patta, whole red chillies, zeera, the potatoes, salt, coarsely crushed plain unsalted shelled and peeled peanuts [half cup], red chilli powder, 1/2 tsp khatai. Stir fry quickly.
I have shared these ideas before but do that again.
Most of the desi think daal and sabzi as light foods and keep them blend that is why people do not show interest in them , think them to be boring .
You can add , zest and zing to daal or zabzi and turn them into exotic dishes.
Who said you cannot make daal or sabzi with/in , qorma masala , achar gosht masala , fish masala , karahi gosht masala , sky is the limit. Try it tonight and you will thank for these great ideas.