The Culture of Punishing Victims

Sub-continent is a strange place. Here women are worshiped as goddesses (Durga, Kali, Gori, Sita) and when its comes to exploitation there are no limits.

Sub-continent’s males have an ego in the name of honor. The ego which can even punish the woman knowing that she was not responsible what happened to her. This is not limited to common men. Its also followed by people like Rama.

Have a look at this piece:

The couple came back to Ayodhya, where Rama was crowned king with Sita by his side. While Rama’s trust and affection for Sita never wavered, it soon became evident that some people in Ayodhya could not accept Sita’s long captivity under the power of Ravana.

Sita - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Another piece from sub-continent:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/536552-pakistani-lok-dastan-umer-marvi.html

and the latest one deserves :smack2:

The Jamat-e-Islami, and rape – The Express Tribune Blog

Whats with this double standard society? Are there any chances that this attitude (prevailing in our society for thousand years) will come to an end?

Re: The Culture of Punishing Victims

it's time to act...not talk!

Male dominated world ?

it wont change until we start differentiating between rape and consensual sex, and try to play down cases on the pretext of stopping the propagation of rape. I think the media channels should also see what they are showing to the public, and what correlation could be between the dramas and the epidemic.

should media be our guide? heck no! are we gonna be swayed by media? is that what our intelligence dictates us? personally, i'll NOT be even the last person on this planet earth to be swayed by what media tells us to believe. we're intelligent enough to separate the right from the wrong.

you might be the last person, but media moulds the perception of a big percentage of the population.

in that case, there is a need for educating the masses! :)

actions are followed by words. Here, we are not ready to accept that there is something wrong in this attitude. Majority, will follow the person and will not condemn the words of likes of Munawwar Hussain.

To some extent yes. But, will women have talked against such injustice and in favour of victims. A few daring one, who are labelled as 'Buri Aurat' not only by males but ladies as well.

How will you make a distinction between consensual sex and rape, when majority of people still consider working woman as a taboo. She is considered to leave the house for some husband-hunt

I though d2lk would post in this thread Kishore Da's song : Kuch to log kahen ge....... tu kaun hai tera nam hai kya sita bhi yahan badnam hui

World is what male has carved out, it is better because they are smarter and better than women :)

you male chauvinist :snooty:

Thats an issue, like in every case rape case turns into consentual one as the girl asks for it.

My experience with women has always made me doubt on their fidelity, even I questioned my fidelity through them, I have see men being so good as friend with each other, that it makes me envious, why, generally speaking, two women can’t reach that standard

are you talking of man-man friendship or man-woman friendship?

man-man friendship versus woman-woman friendship, edited the original text for clarity now

Probably in west, women have such inspiring friendship

No idea, if they really have so, I haven't seen any such example even there