The Concept Of Londi In The Quran

I have read it in the Quran a few times, that Allah says to men that their wives and “Londis” are halal for them. I once asked a Religious person and he was not able to give a clear answer. I have read in few places about the concept of “Mutaa” which used to be there during the prophets time (according to sunnis) it was practised, but later abolished by the prophet mohammad saww twice (once during the opening of kaaba, second during the battle of khaybar). hazrat umar (ra) confirmed that ban during his period. . Some people say it is still there among Shias. I am not sure about it.

p.s. The purpose of this thread is “only” to seek authentic Islamic source regarding the matter. Kindly no criticizing any particular sect. Thanks.

Re: The Concept Of Londi In The Quran

I don't know what a ' Londi' is but are you talking about 'that which your right hand possesses'?

Mut'a on the other hand is temporary marriage which is an accepted form of marriage for some (i'm not sure maybe all) Shi'a sects, I assume the reasoning behind it is to provide support for a specific woman for whatever reason (maybe she is struggling for some reason). I'm not certain about the ins and outs of Mut'a- all I know for sure is that it is the concept of temporary marriage and is not necessarily related to the 'right hand possessions'.

The 'right hand possessions' referred to in the Qur'an, which is specifically 'WAR CAPTIVES'. In essence, it elevated their status to that of wives. They would be assigned by the Ameer ul-Mu'mineen (clearly not going to be an unwise man). As they were not legally 'free women' they could not have any possessions, therefore they could not accept/possess a MAHR (dower) and thus could not be formally married. Thus, relationships between the 'owner' and the female war captive was legally that of 'possession' - remember, assigned by the Ameer... In turn, in theory, this made her a part of the family system and inshaAllah would have made it much easier for her. She would not be out on the streets, starving or having to do haram things to make money to eat, you know? Furthermore, if she had a child, that child would be entitled to inheritance, as with his other children, if any.

Of course, there were conditions in those circumstances that are pretty much non-existent now, thus meaning that this injunction is not appliccable in the current day.

For example, one obvious one, is that it has to have been a war of Jihad.
Another, is that social conditions would force her into committing haram acts to get by. Etc etc...

Tell me if you disagree with any of this so far?

^ thanks sister for a beautiful and comprehensive reply. Some of my friends asked me if that "possession" was against the will of those women. As Islam does not allow forcing people against their will. Like after wining a war to take the women who might possibly be wives of someone else, some non-muslim. In that case won't it be immoral to not return that women to her husband and her children ?

"O Prophet! We have made lawful to thee thy wives to whom thou hast paid their dowers; and those whom thy right hand possesses out of the prisoners of war whom Allah has assigned to thee; ...]; and any believing woman who dedicates her soul to the Prophet if the Prophet wishes to wed her, this for only thee and not for the Believers at large; We knows what We have appointed for them as to their woves and the captives whom their right hands possess in order that there should be no difficulty for Thee. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful. ...] It is not lawful for thee (to marry more) women after this nor to change them for (other) wives even though their beauty attract thee except any thy right hand should possess: and Allah doth watch over all things. " Surah Al Ahzab (33:50,52)

"He does propound to you a similitude of your own (experience): do ye have partners among those whom your right hands possess to share as equals in the wealth We have bestowed upon you? Do ye fear them as ye fear each other? " Surah Ar-Rum (30:28)

" And those who guard their chastity Except with their wives and the (captives) whom their right hands possess for (then) they are not to be blamed. " Surah Al-Ma'arij (70:29-30)

This is usually the second question that comes up in this topic :)

It's like the 'if' in the 'you can have up to four wives IF you can treat them equally'- the 'if' is the crux of it all! In this case, we see, for example at the end of the ayah quoted above from Surah al Ahzab " and Allah doth watch over all things. " (33:52) If this ayah did not instill fear in the hearts of the men who had war captives in their homes, to treat them considerately, and think before their deeds, then I don't know what will.

I think we need to study exactly how it would work but it's one of the reasons it's important to remember that the Ameer ul-Mu'mineen would assign the war captives to the specific homes. I assume (but this really does need more research) that there would have been some kind of system, official or not, to decide whether or not the woman wanted to return (which can go both ways), whether or not she was able to immediately return to them, etc. Also, although this may not have necessarily always been the case, it is possible that some of the women preferred Islam and were themselves women subjugated by their men... Remember, it had to be a Jihad. However, As I said, this bit definitely needs more research :) I think we should get right to it inshaAllah!

^JazakAllah khair sister for the kind help.

What is "Misyar" ?

Is the following correct

**what is misyaar
**before i explain it i want to say. that this kind of marriage does not have a tradition in islam. although there is different kinds of consepts about this kind of marriage.
the first one i explaines earlier. that a couple which cannot afford a house together can life for themselves for a period then later on they can live together.
the other consept is a form for legal prostitution or legal form of sexual relation to other women in change of money. this practise is popular among poor people who cannot afford money to buy houses so they have misyaar marriage for a time, while among rick saudi arabians this is practised as prostitution.
although there are arabs who support this and take this support out from books. as the full name is zawaaj al-misyaar (travellers marriage) this is somehow changed thru grammars. it was misraa which meanth wealth. although sunnis can agree and disagree on this practise. and some can say its lawful while others ban it

who practises it
this practise is only practised in the arab areas. missr,palestine,jordan,saudia the schools of law which include and accept this practise are hanbali and shafei (madrassah of al-azhar) also the salafis who are strong in this area alloves it. theyr sheikh abdul aziz ibn abdullah ibn BAZ sent fatwa on that to make it legal
read there is only practised in this area. so not a common practise among sunnis.

what is mutaah
a marriage which is based on a contract, in where the woman receives a dowry (a sum of money/property...), this marriage lasts for a period of how much the contract is signed for . for example one week, one year or 10 years...
this marriage is thereby a temporary marriage. in this case too there is two forms. one gorup of shias who practise it as a legal marriage for a period of time, while others uses it as a form for prostitution without beeing punished. note that adultery in saudia and iran is punished hard. and in both countries we will find practises as temporary marriages as been accepted. misyaar in suaida and mutah in iran.

who practises it
during the prophets time (according to sunnis) it was practised, but later abolished by the prophet mohammad saww twice (once during the opening of kaaba, second during the battle of khaybar). hazrat umar (ra) confirmed that ban during his period.
shia practise this as a legal act. (i dont know about ismailis and zaydis) although it is not practised by all shias. there can be some different opinion among akbari and usoolis and well as shaykhis.

jazakAllah for the outlines of these types of marriage... I didn't realise people would use the name of marriage like this...

A source I found

Quote:
Firstly, for the benefit of those who do not know, Mutta is a temporary marriage rooted in Shia traditions.
Now it seems the Sunni's have their version too, thanks to a lunatic religious body in, believe itor not, Makkah. The temporary marriage is called Misyar and you can read about it here
Further proof that evil people are in charge of the holy lands.

Assalaamu alaikum all,

It is important to appreciate what exactly is being said by the scholars before passing any criticism. Also it helps if one has some understanding of the Islamic law relating to the subject in question.
Muta and misyaar are not the same. Misyaar is not a temporary marriage.
In Sunni Islamic law misyaar is permissible while muta is not.

Marriage (nikkah) is a legal contract in Islamic law between two individuals. If all the requirements of this legal contact are fulfilled then the marriage is valid from a legal (Shariah) point of view. This is what the MWL Fiqh Academy in Makkah declared earlier this month. 
Many of us may find the concept of misyaar marriage very undesirable but what the scholars looked at was whether the letter of the law is fulfilled or not.

**QUOTE**

**Anyhow, in order to formulate an objective opinion about misyaar (meem seen yaa alif raa) we should at least consider the following:**

**1. Misyaar is practiced mainly in the Najd (central region) of Saudi Arabia and to a certain extent in the South.**

**2. What is the definition of the word misyaar? This you will not find in the dictionary. The original word was actually maisar (asli haroof being yaa seen raa) which means wealth but it has been transformed (in grammar terminology this is the concept of qullab) into misyaar and some people mistakenly translate this into “travellers” marriage thinking the asli haroof are seen yaa raa. Misyaar in this context means wealth.**

**3. Who instigates this kind of marriage contract, men or women? The meaning of the word should provide a clue to this question.**

**4. What kind of individuals (women) enter into this type of marriage contract?**

**5. What is the definition of marriage in Islamic law?**

**6. What are the essentials of a marriage according to Islamic law ? If any of the essentials are missed the marriage is void.**

**7. Are all the essentials present in a misyaar marriage? If so then it is legal from a purely an Islamic law point of view.**

**We should also consider the Divine wisdom behind the concept of marriage as well as what our pious predecessor said about the importance of marriage.**

**I will leave our sisters to find out for the answers to these questions for themselves, me being a man, my opinion might be biased! I know they are more than capable of finding out for themselves and deriving at the correct opinion/ conclusions. The meida/ newspaper articles etc. unfortunately give the wrong impression about misyaar marriage. The internet is a minefield of information! **

**My message is:**
**1. Discuss issues with the correct knowledge. Be objective and do not apply pre-biased opinions.**
**2. Sisters! There are many good Muslim men out there please don’t automatically think bad of us all the time. **

**Wassalaam, AH1999**

**PS: I am neither endorsing nor condemning misyaar marriage I just happen to acknowledge its legal standing and circumstances surrounding it.**

**END OF QUOTE**

(Incidentally MWL Fiqh Academy in Makkah has stated that a marriage with tacit intention of divorce at a later stage is prohibited on the grounds of fraud implied towards the bride and her guardians. This type of marriage was unfortunately allowed by Sheikh Bin Baz (R) to those students who had to stay in foreign countries for longer periods. 
Further, the MWL FA outlawed a marriage contract conditional upon non-pregnancy on the grounds of resemblance to the muta marriage.)

Wassalaam, AH

I shall double check the dictionary but 'yaa-seen-raa' is also the root of the word 'maisir' which means gambling... and i realise there is a kesra and not a fathah on the 'seen' but still interesting about the root.

" Yas'alunaka 3anil khamri wal maisiri " (They ask thee concerning wine and gambling.) ---Surah Al-Baqarah (2:219)

SubhanAllah! look at this definition by Abdullah Yusuf Ali of the maisir (*gambling) i referred to above:
Gambling: *maisir
: literally, a means of getting something too easily, getting a profit without working for it; hence gambling.

This is in his footnote to the above ayah (2: 219)

(p.s. and SubhanAllah, just 2 verses later comes this ayah:

"Do not marry unbeliving women until they believe; a slave woman who believes is better than an unbelieving woman even though she allure you." (2:221)

debateably relevant but I think it is!)

^Very nice sharing sister. MashAllah Allah has blessed you with wisdom and knowledge.

Here is another source I came across. (as I dont know why the link is not working in the "insert link" option I would copy paste it here)

[quote=]

New business, marriage brokerage

Marriage broker Fahd Suleiman makes the kind of offer that unleashes fury among women and arouses intrigue in men in austere Saudi Arabia, where sex outside marriage is high on a long list of taboos. His fax offers men trapped in unhappy marriages an easy and safe escape -- zawaaj al-misyaar,'' or amarriage in passing.''

Callers who dial the five telephone numbers in Saudi Arabia listed on the fax get through to a taped message from a woman with an alluring voice telling them to punch in a secret code to learn more. My dear brother,'' says the fax.May God help you find a wife (in passing) to compensate you for your troubled life. Know that the broker charges these prices. Five thousand riyals for a virgin. Three thousand riyals for a non-virgin.''

Islamic sharia law allows a man to have up to four wives at any one time on condition that they are given equal treatment -- from identical homes to conjugal visits. But under an al-misyaar contract, which falls under the sharia law umbrella that rules Saudi Arabia, the man benefits from fewer financial commitments, is not obliged to live with his wife and he sets the conditions for marriage. ``He can pass by at any time, in the morning, afternoon or evening. And he does not have to stay over,'' Sheikh Mohammed Mu'bi, a cleric, told Reuters.

MARRIAGES IN PASSING INCENSE FEMALE CRITICS

Such conditions have enraged female critics of al-misyaar and triggered a war of words in the pages of Saudi newspapers. This is just like having a legalised mistress,'' said Intisaar al-Ageel, a female columnist who has lambasted al-misyaar pacts as an insult to the institution of marriage.This is terrible. They are deceiving women. It's like a man buying cows and sheep or watermelons,'' she said by telephone from her home in the Red Sea port city of Jeddah. Soon after she published her opinions, al-Ageel was bombarded with hate-mail and insulting faxes.

``You cannot believe what I went through. They sent me faxes saying 'you are an old woman' and 'we heard you had plastic surgery and you don't read the Koran'. They are out of their minds. I can be very tough when I believe in something,'' she said. Apparently, al-Ageel was not tough enough.

Newspapers stopped printing her stories. She has yet to gain official permission to publish a book in the kingdom that compiles her anti-misyaar editorials -- even though they have already been published in newspapers. As the days of easy oil money in Saudi Arabia have waned and supporting more than one family has become prohibitively expensive for men, al-misyaar pacts have become more popular.

There are no signs that the country is becoming any less conservative. Women are banned from driving and unmarried couples who mix in public risk angering the mutawaeen, stern-faced religious police armed with thin wooden canes.

APPEAL FOR DIVORCEES, SPINSTERS AND WIDOWS

While outspoken critics like al-Ageel blast the al-misyaar pact, it has a certain appeal for divorcees, spinsters and widows who find an ordinary marriage hard to come by or simply don't want a full-fledged commitment. Advocates say the pact offers a practical solution for a man who grows attracted to a woman but wants satisfaction within the confines of Islamic law in one of the most conservative countries in the Moslem world. Islamic law imposes the death sentence on adulterers, but the crime is very hard to prove. In Saudi Arabia, extra-marital affairs are usually punishable by flogging. ``In the West, if a man gets attached to a woman he can have a girlfriend. But this is forbidden in our traditional society. This type of marriage solves the problem,'' Abdullah Abu al-Samh, a writer who entered the editorial battle, said.
CLERICS JOIN THE CONTROVERSY

The issue became so controversial that the fiery editorials virtually disappeared from the state-controlled press. The government got nervous,'' said one columnist.It was making too much social noise.'' As tales of marriage brokers luring thousands of Saudis spread in the kingdom, clerics warned that the al-misyaar arrangement was being abused.

Sheikh Mohammad Mu'bi said the pact was attractive to some women with a ticking biological clock, for instance, who were unable to land conventional marriages. Some women do this because it's the only way they can have a baby,'' he said.We are not attacking the practice itself, but its negative sides. Some men do this just out of lust. Others do it just to marry for one month or even one week and then they never go back.''

Those types of scenarios did not seem to scare one woman, who goes by the name Mona, away from an al-misyaar marriage. After escaping an arranged marriage with her first husband, and failing at another relationship, she settled for al-misyaar with a married man who has three children. He said the condition for our marriage was that his wife would not know,'' said Mona.I am happier now. We travel together and he visits twice a week. But I would like to see more of him,'' she added. ($1-3.75 Saudi riyals)

oh wow...

(btw i think the insert link option won't work until youve submitted at least 25 posts, or something like that)

really wow...

As someone mentioned above, the concept of "londi" is different from muta'a/misyaar. The later are consensual arrangements, while slave-girl (londi) is a concept derived from prisoners of war etc. It doesn't have to be consensual, as this is the price women paid when their armies lost a battle. Men, who are awarded a londi, were allowed to have sexual relations with them. They were not required to marry them, and they don't count towards the limit of "4 wives" either.

I don't think Islam ever formally prohibited this. In modern day, where we talk about human rights, and Geneva convention (rights of POW's etc), this issue seldom comes up. Not to mention we don't have a caliphate either that was supposed to take care of these kinds of issues/allocation etc.

*I believe we are talking about women whose husbands or guardiands were killed in battles and there was no one left to look after them. On the other hand if after winning the battle there were non muslim families captured, they were allowed to keep their religious beliefs and thier protection and welfare was the responsibilty of the Muslim rulers. I doubt it very much that pretty girls from the captured families were considered the spoils of war and were taken as londies. *

Makes sense :) And I agree with the latter '**I doubt it very much that pretty girls from the captured families were considered the spoils of war and were taken as londies'. **InshaAllah we will look for historical evidence about how it exactly worked, so we can make this point with as much evidence as possible.