Re: The case of the shawls!
I was just going to ask ki achanak itni a chi kaisey ho gaeen that they’re getting shawls and you and I are not
!
I was just going to ask ki achanak itni a chi kaisey ho gaeen that they’re getting shawls and you and I are not
!
Or what you can do is that since they might not like you returning the money, buy them some bangles each and give them to each colleague with the shawls saying "these are a gift from me personally"
the bangles cost less anyway and are a nice enough "gift" giveaway.
Then in that case if I were you then I will not return the money
I don think that you should return the money. You asking your mom to buy for them from Pakistan is a gift enough for them as they know that you are putting your mom at inconvenience already.
Do not gift any and do not return the money , if this job becomes contract to perm then you can think of gifting something then.
You can gift them one Shwal each... Take money for the remaining....
^ This.
You've been working with them barely 3 months and this is a temporary situation. As stated earlier....the "gift" thing is a Asian mentality. Outsiders don't think like that and are not offended at you taking the money to get them something they specifically asked for.
it's too much hassle working out what you should give back/giving them one free. Just charge em and bring in asian food if you get made permanent, or just. White people always like free curry :/
I'd keep the money and tell them 1 scarf/shawl is free and a gift.
yup yup its an Asian thing.
take the money and give them the merchandise
Never thought of it as a desi thing, but....excellent point. I guess I should be glad I work with non-desis (though I do miss eating desi food in the office and speaking Urdu :/)
LOL! Maybe. ![]()
I do work wtih more than 2 people…it’s just the two I happen to talk about the most ![]()
and why does slims need a shawl? ![]()
bangles as in karay or churiyan? cz Churiyan are cheap but would be too much of a hassle to bring over from pak.
Did any of them ever gift you anything? If yes then you can do either 1.... Gift them 1 shawl and get the money for rest of it 2..... Gift them all of it although I think 4 is a lot
I would give them all 1 as a present and then the one that wanted more, you can either a) give the money back and bring...one (I dont' think she'll care that you got her one nice shawl since it'll be a gift and ppl like that/appreciate it) b) use the money to buy the extra ones she wants.
arrey, for his voti ![]()
Hainnn ![]()
Slims, yeh kya baaat ho ri haiiiiiiiiiii ![]()
Well, considering he is a handsome young male specimen, sooner or later, he will land up with voti material.
bangles. they come well packed and not a hassle. just a shoebox full.
mera saman kaafi hai ![]()
tandori chicken is yum
the curry in japan is yuck though because they make it japanese style which is runny soo its kinda like a thick soup
Talking about Japanese curry, one of the airports (Denver?) had a Japanese fast food place - and to our surprise they had curry (with potato). It was not bad (though off topic!)
Hate to take position opposite of your mom. But IMO, keep it simple.
Simon says, keep money, give shawl(s)
Talking about Japanese curry, one of the airports (Denver?) had a Japanese fast food place - and to our surprise they had curry (with potato). It was not bad (though off topic!)
off topic
yes Japanese have curry lol
its runny and bland compared to indian/pakistani.
I prefer Japanese curry over desi because I can't for the life of me stand the spice although everybody else in my family can -.-