The Bride's Bag...

Re: The Bride’s Bag…

aapka kaam ho gya niksik, he needs to be punished for slacking though :hoonh:

when did this trend of brides giving a guy a gift start? its so diffuclt to find something for guys. After giving a lot of useless presents to my brothers for a long time I now stick to cash.

this thread by the way has some info that has freaked me out. like totally :mudhosh:

lol yes this thread’s pretty diverted :p:
anyways meh its soo hard to get anything for a guy!!! ok perfume it is :@:
i’ve already told him that’s his biggest gift is “ME” :smiley:

Re: The Bride's Bag...

ok so i'll bring up the topic about jahez jorays........how many did you guys have? or are planning to have? and how many were unstitched or did you only have stitched jorays?

im planning on havin around 25-30 joras (15 heavy party, about 15 semi party) and then 15-30 casual ones...stiched and unstiched both....is it better to hire a one specific person to do the joras for jahez or just bought them ourselves?

boutiques?
30 sound reasonable plus we dont even wear shalwar kameez as much here :@:
i dunno about getting them stitched from one person since i was just thinking of buying them already stitched.....but i dunno if thats a good idea :@:

If you plan on buying a lot, it's probably a best idea to not get so many stitched at once, for several reasons. One, that your size will definitely fluctuate after shadi, especially if you have kids. Another is that when you put them away....and then feel like having a new jora, al you gotta do is open up the suitcase, and voila! New clothes! Oh and hten u can have them stithced according to a new style..

^yes i knew this aunty who had practically all of her jahez clothes stitched and she kind of gained too much weight right after her shaadi and didn't get to wear them .....i felt so bad for her :(

i get mine made as i need them...since i keep admiring new things...sooo im not getting alot made...5---2 saris,1 gharara, 2 lehngas...party wear styles change...and i am always looking at new designs to get made...

^don't you want at least 2 party wear shalwar kameezes for those after shaadi dawats ;)

u r right chanda that the style changes...but i would recomment u to atleast make around 10 joras for the post marriage dinners, parties, etc. so that u would have nice ones handy!

i have..already.... :) a churidar pajama kurta....a shalwar kamize.. :) and a sari...all qualify as party wear....

the best bet to have urself an outfit that no one else would be wearin in a party except for u!!! is to use ur own creativity n make an outfit of ur own choice..ur choice of color combos, fabric, the sort of kaam u want on it!

well..the only thing is that..we are not expecting tooo many 'dawats'..since most of the guests will be out-of-towners...and i dont wear a lot of desi wear here...

yeah they are very heavy...and 'dulhan wale'..! and i am sure they will all be expecting me to wear such stuff...

in that case i guess its alright.........i love saris though :D

the problem is that when you have all those dawats post marriage, and particularly in our family… they dont just invite you; the invite the entire khaandaan… so u may get like 5 dawats on youe dadehaal side and all of the same ppl are present, then you count the nanehaal, then you consider your husband’s nanehaal, his dadehaal… u need a few clothes ready to not be looking the same infront of the same ppl…

oh… and i hope everyone gifts me a sari… i soooo luv 'em :jano:

^ goodness!! :)

oh hun u have no idea!!!! they would always want u to dress up like a bride!

but for that you need a lot of time and a good darzi plus you need to be creative lol
i'm too impatient :(
but designing your own sounds nice

^ I know… sooch sooch ke dimagh ghoom ja ta hai :bummer: