The Bhai Corner

Re: The Bhai Corner

Well I think girls use it out of respect , or if they are looking for same non-perverted attention . But again , it a smoke screen , can fade away anytime . I have seen girls calling someone a bahi , and later getting married to same person . :)

Wow. That be some *ed up * right there!

bhaii kehnay se koii mehrasm ban nahi jata and most of desi girls usually say it for respect like BBQ said.

CM baji, are u comfortable with me calling u my sister?

kiya mossbat hai yaar

A girl calling a guy 'bhai' is not as dangerous as Khumar said that there is always a possibility of things turning around to a non-bhai relationship.

What is dangerous: when a single guy starts calling a same age single girl, behen. That just means that the girl is too ugly.

I thought when they call her baji/behn its out of respect :hmmm:

TLK is right .... write it down girls ... those words are gold

Guys are stupid in this case, they lap up the attention!
Girls are users! Well some of them....

Its usually girly boys.....

I hate making raah chaltay bhai's jaisay lerkiyaan bunati haen

mera apnay do bhai he kaafi haen

na mein kisi ki behan bunti houn aur na he bhai bunati houn!!!!!

Contrary to the picture OP paints I always thought people play the brother/sister card when they do in fact fancy you but wouldn't admit to it.

Eg: One of my best mates reiterated time and again that I am just like a sister to him and insisted I think of him as a brother (though he behaved like anything but one). Several years later, he confessed he was in love with me but feared rejection so played the brother card to be safe in case i confronted him. That was one ****ed up thing to do.

subah ho ga'yee maamoon

THAT

It could also be that the girl likes some guy who is friends with the girl's elder brother or is a family friend or an elder cousin and she has no choice but to call him BHAI.

Err No. That is weird. Why would you call someone bhai out of no choice? I see what you mean with elder cousins though. I have been brought up to call all my cousin brothers as bhai and they are all elder to me too. But they are not 'just for the heck of it' bhais. I do consider them as brothers which is why the prospect of marrying one of em grossed me out.

Okay look. There is someone who is your mum's friend. Your mum and that aunty have been friends for years. The aunty has a son and because your mum is close to them, it's like family. The aunty tells you that her son is your bhai. :/

1. I don't deal with desi aunties.
  2. I don't know anyone (my mom's friends) or otherwise who has or would duly inform me that their gorgeous son is my bhai.

PS - i'm sorry if that happened to you.

I like people calling me by my name . Its much easier . You can actually carry a conversation without being under pressure of being a 'bahi' . It does not mean that I'll be thinking about hitting on her or something , its just that you can talk more like being in equal standing rather than acting like a relative . But again , sometime its part of a culture that you can't avoid .

THAT