Mattar ki daal-
Ingredients- Dried mattar (peas) split 1 cup
Ginger- crushed 1 tsp
Green Chillies- Crushed 1 tbsp
Salt to taste
Ginger- Julliened/slivered 1 inch piece
Hing- 1/4th tsp
Add 5-6 cups water to one cup daal, add the crushed ginger, green chillies and salt and cook till the daal is soft but not too mushy (dont make it a puree, let the danas be seperate yet soft).
Heat some desi ghee or butter and add the slivered ginger, as it turns golden brown add the hing and immediately top the daal with it.
Yummmmy!
I like to mix 2-3 different kinds of Dahl, like Mung ki dahl, Channe ki dahl, Toor ki dahl...boil it in plenty of water, add a chopped tomato/tomatopaste, some garlic, ginger, garam masala, chili powder, (6-8) black peppers, (2-3) cloves and salt to taste. When it's almost ready I heat some oil, add finely chopped garlic (or slivered as Sooraj-Mukhi puts it) and zeera and top the dahl with it!
Trust me, it tastes great!
Ohw yeah...I almost forgot, top with some fresh coriander
I got this recipe from a friend, it's different and really good.
In a pressure cooker, boil half a cup of toor dal and channa dal until it's boiled but not too soft. That's about 2-3 whistles.
Grind together 2 onions, 3 cloves of garlic, a small piece of ginger, 1 bunch of fresh green dhania, 2 medium tomatoes, 1 tsp zeera, 2 tsp dhania powder, lal mirch to taste.
Slice another onion, fry it in oil. When it turns brown, add the green masala and fry for about 15 minutes until all the water has evaporated.
Add the boiled dal to the pan. Boil it till you get the right consistency.
Kaisi bee amma ho tum, codey??? Her cheez ki khabar rakhte ho aur yeh nahi maloom ke toor daal is totally different from masoor ki daal. Chalo jaaO…get your daals in order:p
Prepare the gosht as usual with the regular spices and mix it will until meat is tender
Separately boil about 1 cup chanay ki daal. When meat is mixed, add daal with its water and let cook for few minutes. Eat with rice
i luv channay ki daal...i make this garlic flavored channa daal....its really good.
2 1/2 cups channa daal
1 onion chopped
salt 2 teaspoons
one teaspoon(or less) red chilli powder
one teaspoon of turmeric (haldi) powder
1 1/2 tsp zeera (cumin)
5 cloves of garlic chopped
half a tomato chopped
4-5 tablespoons of olive oil
wash the daal in several changes of water and then boil in water twice its amount with the salt, chilli powder, and turmeric. chop the onion and and add half of it to the daal while its boiling, also add the half tomato to the daal while boiling. let it all boil till the daal is thick and done.check the salt and add more if needed. remove daal from flame and set aside.
in a separate fry pan heat oil, add cumin seeds and when they begin to crackle add the leftover onions and chopped garlic....let it fry till onions are golden brown and pour the "tarka" over the daal and mix.
I make Mong Masoor (Patli Daal, Bihari style) with a bit of alterations.
Fry diced onion and garlic for a minute.
Add namak, mirch and haldi.
Add daal and water, let it cook till almost done.
Add diced tomatoes, mushrooms, green chillies and dhania.
Give pyaaz and lehsan ka tarka
I like all the daals including sukhi mash ki daal, puchrangi daal, chanay ki daal, kali daal (sorry i am good with names..i call them mostly with colours). My ammi makes one daal that i don't like and its daal with baRiyan..i don't like the baRiyan part.
After eating daal makhani at an indian punjabi restaurant a while ago, I am in love with that too.
After going over many recipes from the internet, this is my favourite one (tried and tested many times):
Ingredients:
Black grams 1 cup
Bengal grams 1/2 cup
Kidney beans 1/4 cup
Ginger 1 inch
Green chilli 2-3
Thoroughly wash black grams, bengal grams and kidney beans. Then soak it in water (2 glasses) for about 7-8 hours .
Add ginger and garlic to the above. Pressure cook for about 10 minutes (3-4 whistles). Then reduce the heat to 'medium' and cook for about 15 minutes. Remove ginger-garlic from the cooked grams and make a paste.
Heat 2 tbsp. of butter in a pan.
Fry asafoetida and cumin seeds in it. Add thinly sliced green chilli. Heat till it gets slight brown in color.
Add ginger-garlic paste and finely chopped onions. Fry until golden brown.
Add chilli powder, finely chopped tomatoes and salt. Cook until the mixture thickens into pulpy sauce (about 3 mins).
Then add cooked grams and kidney beans to the mixture. Heat for 4-5 minutes. You can add a little water if you find it too thick.
Add the remaining butter and cook for 2 minutes.
Dal Makhni is ready to serve. Decorate with cream.