Ladies and gents , Gina , whose answer was classed the best answer by Sehrysh last week , will now be asking us a question and we shall endeavour to find answers .. End of the week she will choose the best answer
She will come here any minute and post her question , so watch this space:lifey:
My question is about lace curtains, my curtains have a lace-lining. I have had them dry-cleaned once but they're not the same color they used to be. They're very delicate and i'm scared of damaging them.
Please suggest ways I can clean them and possibly regain their color back.
Gina , about color regain , dont thnk thats a possibility … however for future cleaning how about steam cleaning them… For delicate lining cloths usually even dry cleaning can be quite harsh
again steam cleaning is the most best option or cleaning such delicate items by hanwash u can do the following
take the curtains of their rods and put them on a clean surface
Fill a bucket with warm water and add a mild laundry detergent to it along with a spoonful of ammonia. Mix it well to create a foamy lather.
Put the curtains into the bucket, allowing them to soak into the foamy mixture completely. Leave in the bucket for 10 to 15 minutes.
Remove and rinse under running water for several minutes. Do not wring them since it could cause a tear. Place the lace curtains between 2 towels and press gently to remove excess water.
Hang the curtains on a clothesline to dry in the sun.
as for discolouring im not so sure but my mum used to do this
No chemicals or bleach involved in steam cleaning…its the bestest (I realize its not a word) way to clean lace and even some of our super delicate desi clothes.
Gina , I guess thats the maximum answers we could collect for your question ... its time now that you let us know whose answer you found to be the best one.
on a sunny morning, use your mulayam haath along with a gentle jhaag-wala saabun like lifebuoy to coyly squeeze the dirt and grime out of the lacy curtains. hang it in your aangan to dry in the afternoon sun, waving at your paRosan in the hawa.
steam is hot. kya aap apney bachchey ko steam karogi? nahi na? :cobra: