Don’t you people agree that one of the greatest things about both spoken and written urdu is the wonderful beauty of the language? I mean hearing two people speak in pure Urdu is a pleasure haina! Urdu is so refined hasoosan classiqui urdu jis mein sha’iraana ilfaaz bahut istimaal hote hai aur farsiyyat ka rang tapakta hai…eg anyone who has heard the dialogues from mughal-e-azam will agree ke the sweetness of the words is just wonderful and a testament to the beauty of Urdu…
And there is so much melody and rhyme within the language too–this is a feature of Urdu not found in English; in Farsi it is even more pronounced than in Urdu (!) --from european languages French has some beauty to the way it sounds too
Who else agrees–perhaps this is becoz it was initially spoken by the aristocratic Muslim ruling classes…
..I mean take a paragraph of Urdu writing (by a person with a good vocab.) and even if the meaning of the paragraph is not too great, the sound made by the combination of words is still wonderful don’t you think?
here is a paragraph from a book I currently have in my bag :
note: Hazrat in the above refers to Our Holy Prophet sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam.
(If you dont get the meaning of the abov dont worry, it is the beauty of the language I am referring to here (ofcourse the content here is beautiful Sufi teaching too :))
Asif...
We have to learn to appreciate things , and there is so much out there that its impossible for us to do Insaaf with everything...
Yeh Tamheed is liyyay bandhee kay , no doubt urdu is a very rich language , but I am sure there are many others that we will never know about...( Not as well as Our madree language anyway)i.e Spanish and French are supposed to be very rich in their expression of human emotions and subtleties of interaction and behaviours.
I am indebted for ever to my 10th grade urdu teacher ( Mrs Khan), who taught us urdu and taught us to love urdu.
Urdu is very good in expressing emotionsn stuff , but not that great in technical stuff, ( cause it hasnt been used for that )But thats OK..we can use english for that and keep urdu for more artistic expressions..
YES OFCOURSE URDU IS ONE OF HE GREATEST LANGUAGE AND ONE OF THE RICHEST.
And why that is can be understood by just going through the history of its birth.
AS it was made by sort of mixing many rich languages.as Farsi,Arabic,Turkish,and many local languages which themselves were very rich so thats why urdu is the richest of all.
All of you would have observed that the expressions in urdu are just great.Maybe thats why many of us use urdu words here so much.There is maasomiyat and much more in urdy and above all it is a very mohazzab zuban
Asif Bhai you sure did touch something sensitive :
I left Pakistan 7 years old and was able to read a little bit. After this i had to focus on Dutch and my education here. I am not able to read urdu and i regret i very much every day. I also feel handicapped when i am in Pakistan.