The Baseball Comment Thread (merged)

Damn. That was tough. Angels made the comeback on Vlad’s Granny and they lost on one pitch by Washburn. Why on earth Mike Scioscia brought him into the game instead of Troy? :mad: That was the question puzzled among Angels fan…

It’s another Red Sox and Yankees ALCS on the cards.

It’s Lima Time today. I know I know it’s tough for Dodgers to make a comeback in the series but It’s Lima Time people. Anything can happen. :smiley:

:dhimpak: Lima Lima :dhimpak:

[thumb=H]lima10122_5232149.JPG[/thumb]

Believe it!

What a game he pitched. The Cardinals offensive line had only 5 hits against Lima and Dodgers. EXCELLENT performance with a shutout and complete game for him. The best game of his life. 57 K+ crowd gave him standing ovation. He became easily my favorite baseball personality since I started to learn more about this game. :smiley:

No matter how tough times are, always play your heart out. That’s Dodger Blue Motto! Go DODGERS…get’em!

Yeah.. well, Dodgers are knocked out … so its Lima time till Spring Training :dhimpak:

And how Astros blew it after Clemens, was a sight. Alhamdollilah. So now the “Killer Bees” have to win one on the road and that too against the best offense in NL.

Any bets on BoSox vs Yankees? On the face of it, BoSox seem stronger, but they somehow manage to self-destruct. And on the flip side, Yankees somehow always manage to win.. so it will be an interesting series.

Faisal, does Finley’s Grand Slam still pains ya? :smiley:

Great sportmanship shown by both sides. FOX analyst were saying baseball has never that spirit before in the history of the game..and Dodgers made that happen. So big ups for my boys…:dhimpak:

[thumb=H]dodger10122_9830810.JPG[/thumb]

This is what Albert Pujols had to say:

"That’s the first time I’ve seen a team doing that to the other ballclub when they were the losing ballclub, and I think that was very special.

Jeff Suppan:

"I think it was good sportsmanship, and I was glad to be a part of it. It’s great for the game,‘’

…and Dodgers manager on shake-hand event

“I think it was a professional show of class between two very classy organizations. To play this series the way it was played with the intensity it was played.”

Yea yea yea... and you lost. Good bye! :p

Nahi yaar.. dil pe na le. Hota hai. Dodgers is a good team. Khel mein haar jeet tau hoti rehti hai. Koi baat nahi. Iss saal nahi tau aglay saal sahi (not if we can help it, ofcourse ;) )

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Yea yea yea... and you lost. Good bye! :p

Nahi yaar.. dil pe na le. Hota hai. Dodgers is a good team. Khel mein haar jeet tau hoti rehti hai. Koi baat nahi. Iss saal nahi tau aglay saal sahi (not if we can help it, ofcourse ;) )

Rbbing on the Zakham ;)

:rotfl: Braves and best offense in NL? where have you been? have you checked out BA of Drew, Jones, Giles in this series? the best offense line in NL and majors have been Cardinals all year along…followed closely by Yankees…

Astros blew another chance of clinching the division - hahah who’s a choker now… i think Garner made the mistake of taking down Lidge - he was due in the 8th - and he took him out of the game for Pinch hit - it’s always a toss up situation.. however credit to Braves..

Yankees - but I want Boston to win - lesser of two evils - however i wouldn’t be surprised at all if they lose..

Red Sox have Schilling for game 1, 4, and 7(if necessary) - Pedro for game 2 and 6 - Arroyo has pitched well lately but please Franconna don’t send Tim Wakefield and Derek Lowe to the mount - Yankees don’t have strength at pitching..but they do have sluggers…so i think despite of how Kevin Brown and Mike Mussina have pitched…Boston should be able to handle it…

Ofcourse Yankees just now moved to NL. ;)

Anyway, good luck to Astros. They will need it. Better them than Braves. Right? :)

Waisay maaro goli, I was thinking of Cardinals when I wrote that, but, ofcourse, Cards have already wiped Dodgers and cleaned their nose, so its all good. :k:

:smack: when i said Yankees i meant them to be the best in majors behinds Cards in offense.

not sure how Roy Oswalt gonna respond on 3-day rest with a broken rib.. i like the chances of Braves tonight better than Astros..John Wright is a starter for tonight.. haven’t seen him pitched lately..but the bullpen of Braves with Smoltz have been good for last 2 games.

California ballclubs will be fine next season - i see all of them in the hunt for postseason birth - all of them need 2-3 major calibre starters..Giants definitely need to find a closer..(hey why did you send Joe Nathan to Minnesota? :frowning: ) with some help on pitching staff behind Jason.

Not surprisingly, after his groin injury, Schmidt was not the same even this year. Luckily we had Lowry and Tomko as good starters. And even Jerome Williams was good when he returned towards the end of the season. However, in the last phase of regular season, the Bullpen was too tired.

I think Giants main problem is the lack of a good power-hitter behind Bonds. And to some extent, Prezynski (too many double plays). We'll see next year how they resort their line up.

BoSox have a really good chance of beating them yankees this time around. Why you say??? First of all, we have schilling this year. Then an improved defense (orlando and doug have done a great job lately).
and last but not least, the yanks don't have giambi this time :D. Anyone remember his homer last time??? People say switching to bull pen might have helped but the lacklustre bullpen wud certainly have gotten a worse beating than pedro.

and speaking of bullpen, check out cardinals. What an awesome bullpen.

i can't wait for this series...lets go red sox!!!!

Astros vs Braves
Game 5

2 homerun in last 9 pitches :(
come on Astros!

Astros rout Braves to book their Post Season encounter with SL Cardinals. Absolutely tasty stuff.

And tomorrow the BoSox-Yankees series starting up. Perhaps the best post-season in a while.

Man, Astros kicked butt in last couple of innings.
Astros and Yankees in World Series :dhimpak:

Of course the real post season begins tonight.

We will win, as we have Jesus on our side!

go sox!

[thumb=H]Johnny%20Damon7573_6469331.JPG[/thumb]

How come we don't have any Astros fans here, clapping with joy. This should be a big story for them, since Astros have not been in post-season for a while. Where's Kaleem and mv?

American League Championship Series

[thumb=H]redsox10122_3303717.JPG[/thumb]

At

[thumb=H]yankees310122_3303717.JPG[/thumb]

***** 7-game series. New York has home field advantage.

National League Championship Series

[thumb=H]astros10122_5155278.JPG[/thumb]

At

[thumb=H]cards10122_2355245.JPG[/thumb]

***** 7-game series. St. Louis had home field advantage.

^^
Absolutely sheer dilerium. I still can't believe we actually got by the Braves. When we gave up the 5 to 2 lead in Game 4, I thought it was all over. After the Braves got to Roy last night with the 2 HRs to cut the lead to one run, I wasn't feeling too good.

In a way, it's OK to have Clemens and O wait to pitch in Games 3 and 4 in Houston against the Cards number 3 and 4 starters. The road team always hopes to win only one of 2 in the home field park in Games 1 and 2 anyway. If we steal one of those 2 games and then get Clemons and O starting at home, we might just be able to sniff the World Serious.