Also Anahiem Lost... Oakland wins in bottom of 9th..AL West is now tied.It comes down to last 3 match between these 2 teams at Oakland.
Great day so far..I hope Giants wins it and makes it Perfect. :D
Also Anahiem Lost... Oakland wins in bottom of 9th..AL West is now tied.It comes down to last 3 match between these 2 teams at Oakland.
Great day so far..I hope Giants wins it and makes it Perfect. :D
Angels lost...aweee :( but Vlad was baddest as ever. Hopefully, they'll take care of A's depleted pen.
Another huge comeback by the Dodgers. What's like? 52 comeback wins of the season. Talk about toughness! They play defence(the Lakers need to learn from them).
So the Giants hafta win all three 3 games to win the division which is unlikely, eh. :D because Dodgers have freaking Gagne and when Beltre leans back, the ball goes outta park with MVP MVP chant which could be heard in the Bay Area, ain't that right?
GO ANGELS. GO DODGERS!
So, at the end of the day it has boiled down to Anaheim and A’s playing best of three in Oakland to decide whose season ends now, and who goes ahead. Wonderful. Couldn’t have asked for a better ending in AL West. :k:
NL West/wildcard is kinda similar. Giants are 3 games behind Dogers for NL West and tied with Astros for Wild Card. In my mind, it unlikely that either Giants or Dodgers will sweep the series. A 2-1 result either way would be a more reasonable guess. Dodgers need to win just one game to get the NL West. That leaves the Wild Card. Cubs play Braves and Astros play Rockies. Cubs are 1 game behind, so they need to sweep Braves. If Giants and Astros win 2-1, they will again be tied and there will be a play-off in San Fran.
On a more theoretical level, if Giants sweep Dodgers, then the resultant ties will be broken as follows (from MLB’s website).
**What happens if the Dodgers, Giants and Astros all finish the season with the same record, leaving the NL West and the NL Wild Card winners undecided? **
The Dodgers and Giants would have a one-game playoff in San Francisco to determine the West champion on Monday. The loser would play the Astros in a one-game playoff to determine the Wild Card winner on Tuesday. If the NL West runner-up is the Giants, the game would be played in San Francisco. If the NL West runner-up is the Dodgers, a coin flip will determine which team plays at home.
A Giants sweep this weekend over the Dodgers, combined with an Astros loss would give San Francisco the NL West title based on a 10-9 season record against Los Angeles. The Dodgers would be the Wild Card team in this scenario.
**If the Giants, Cubs and Astros finish tied for the NL Wild Card, how is the tie broken? **
A three-way playoff would take place.
The Giants went 4-2 against both Houston and Chicago in 2004, while the Cubs went 10-9 against the Astros. Based on these head-to-head records, San Francisco will have the first choice as to whether they want to be Club A, B or C in the following scenario, while Chicago will have the second choice.
Club B would visit Club A on Monday. The following day, the winner of that game would be the home club in a game against Club C. The winner of that game – between Club C and the winner of the Club A vs. Club B game – would be declared the Wild Card champ.
If San Francisco chose to be Club C, they would avoid playing an extra game, meaning the Cubs would host the Astros on Monday, and the winner of that game would host the Giants on Tuesday.
The Giants could also chose to be Club A, which would require them to win two games to clinch the Wild Card, but they would get to play both games at home.
**What happens if only two teams tie for the Wild Card? **
Major League Baseball has conducted a series of coin tosses to determine the sites for potential two-team tiebreakers that would clinch division and Wild Card playoff berths.
NL West:
Los Angeles at San Francisco
NL Wild Card:
Chicago at San Francisco
Houston at San Francisco
San Diego at San Francisco
Chicago at Houston
Chicago at San Diego
Houston at San Diego
It is worth noting that MLB did not toss coins for the Dodgers other than the NL West tiebreaker. They would need to conduct another one or more this week should LA fall into a Wild Card scenario.
Faisal Bhai
Dont worry.It wont come down to that.
Chicago wont win 3-0.
Braves will kick Astros ASS and win 2-1
Giant will defeat Dodgers 2-1
We will be happy come Sunday evening.
PS: You heard it here first.
Problem is Braves have no incentive to kick anyone's arse! They are already through. That why we saw Astros making a monkey out of Cardinals. The teams who are on the borderline (Cubs, Astros) have more incentive to win compared to Cards or Braves. And Rockies are totally unreliable. The way they blew their leads in series against Dodgers is a clear indication, they don't have what it takes. Plus they are already dead and out of contention.
Giants have to rely on themselves.
It seems that the most likely possible 3 game sweep would be Astros over Rockies. It's really hard to see the Cubs sweeping the Braves or the Giants Sweeping the Dodgers.
Most likely, you get the Stros taking 2 of 3 from the Rockies which knocks the Cubbies out (they won't sweep). The Dodgers would like nothing better than to knock the Giants out of the playoffs. So, even if the Dodgers clinch by winning tonight's game, they will really go after the Giants to win 1 of the 2 remaining weekend games.
On paper, you've got to like the Astros chances. But they've broken hearts before.
Where did this Atlanta - Houston series come from f&b?
Sorry I got confused between
Cubs vs Braves
and
Rockies vs Astros
Braves defeated Cubs 5-4.Cubs are almost eliminated.
:bhangra:
*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Faisal Bhai
Dont worry.It wont come down to that.
Chicago wont win 3-0.
Braves will kick Astros ASS and win 2-1
Giant will defeat Dodgers 2-1
We will be happy come Sunday evening.
PS: You heard it here first.
FB, Braves will come and kick your arse because they dont play Astros in the regular season so, get your cream ready becasue they are coming to whoop your arse. At least try to look at the schedule before making such claims....:D
^ He already clarified, yaar. Tussi te peechay ee pay gayay o! :p
Anyway, coming back to my pet peeve... Giants need a power hitter AFTER Bonds. Clearly Snow ain't working. After they lost Kent, they are struggling in that area. They should have picked up Baltran or someone. Also, I think they should move Bonds back to #3. Common wisdom suggests that you should give your best hitter maximum AB's.
Faisal bhai, aap bhi un ki baaton mein agai theay.
“Braves have no incentive to kick anyone’s arse” ![]()
So anyways, suzuki is only one behind the 257 hits record set by george sisler in 1920. Today he can surpass that record at home in the opening game of the three games series against rangers. Go Ichiro:clap:
*Originally posted by I'm Kool: *
Faisal bhai, aap bhi un ki baaton mein agai theay.
"Braves have no incentive to kick anyone's arse"
Not really. I was talking about Cubs vs Braves. Thats why I mentioned Rockies (cz they are playing Astros).
Abe o Gyani Ram… Tu kabhi galti nahi karta hai kya !!!
We will see of Braves when it comes…Abhi to tu dekh kahin Colarado Astros ki na le le… !!!
man there are too many godo matches tonight..
LA vs SF
Oak vs ANA
and then I have to finish my school assignement too. ![]()
*sorry i dont read geeta
**by “we”, what team are u referring to?
*Originally posted by I'm Kool: *
**by "we", what team are u referring to?
Please dont post Under Influence.
One down - two to go. Giants win today against the Dodgers with a score of 4-2. Bad news, obviously, is that Astros won too (quite expected). Good news is that Dodgers are struggling with their starting pitchers and today was their best hope.
Lets see what happens tomorrow. I just can't bring myself to believe that Giants can sweep Dodgers to force a playoff for NL West.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Lets see what happens tomorrow. I just can't bring myself to believe that Giants can sweep Dodgers to force a playoff for NL West.
Wouldnot that be awsome. !!!!
but boy Astros are having dream run . How long can the continue?
Oakland ki pitching ko kya hua aaj..10-0 couldnot watch that game.
Angels whooped A's ass! :D It doesn't get better. Shutting out your opponent in their backyard. :D
But Dodgers fell to Giants..... aweee. :( Anyhow, my boys have to win one more game to secure the division, and today will be the day!
So A’s is gone.
And tomorrow Giants will go unless They win and Astors loses.
haha
How the West was won
Angels and Dodgers beat Oakland and SF in the span of less than 30 mints apart to win AL West and NL West respectively. The 9th inning come-from-behind and Finley's grand slam was play of the season for the Dodgers.
We will paint the streets in LA Dodger Blue :D