'The ball must be bowled, not thrown' - Bobby Simpson

Okay First Bishen Singh Bedi, then Michael Holding,Adam gilchrist and now Bobby Simpson once again speaking out against CHUCKING.

Here is what Simpson has to say :-

*"I haven’t heard of any player with a physical deformity being allowed to play in any other sport. So why cricket? **And how can the same players who can’t straighten their arms throw the ball from the boundary, which is miles away, into the wicketkeeper’s gloves with a thud? **

Even javelin throwers and baseball pitchers straighten their arms. And now we have the javelin bowlers. The ICC has misunderstood the mechanics of chucking.

Bowlers who chuck have a huge advantage over bowlers who bowl legitimately. Umpires should call every time they think that the bowler has chucked. It is as unfair as a bowler overstepping.

The laws have to be abided by. One can’t set laws for one or two players. There are players going around who don’t conform to the laws and are yet generally accepted.

The danger is that there are youngsters watching them… and these players are heroes for them. Ten years from now we will be searching for a bowler. It is a dangerous proposition ."*
http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2002/jun/13inter.htm

What do you say ?

AK

Let him start by fixing Lee's action and then talk about Murli or Akhtar.

And you start by correcting Harbhajan's action before calling our Akhtar a chucker!

Originally posted by sambrialian:
Let him start by fixing Lee's action and then talk about Murli or Akhtar.

At least in Lee's case Australians are not taking refuge under physical deformity. If you didn't know He was cleared by the panel of Michael Holding,sunil Gavaskar,Dennnis Lilee and Someone called IMRAN KHAN. So can we talk about The thread now.

*And you start by correcting Harbhajan's action before calling our Akhtar a chucker! *

It has already been corrected and no one has called him for that. when he was reported for chucking he was dropped from the INDIAN TEAM.

Why are you trying to be so defensive, This thread is for every Chucker and Javeline thrower in Cricket and just Murali and Shoaib.

AK

Sambralian, ignore him, no need to argue with him... Shaoib was cleared by an Australian institute that said that this was a natural deformation... Who do we believe, one person or some qualified researchers from Australia... ALL THE PAKISTANI GUPPIES, PLZ IGNORE THIS THREAD, IT WILL DIE OUT...

At least in Lee's case Australians are not taking refuge under physical deformity. If you didn't know He was cleared by the panel of Michael Holding,sunil Gavaskar,Dennnis Lilee and Someone called IMRAN KHAN. So can we talk about The thread now.

Akhtar also has been cleared by the ICC, the organization that appointed the panel that cleared Lee. If he can be cleared and not questioned again then why not Murli and Akhtar?

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** It has already been corrected and no one has called him for that.

My friend many a people have questioned Singh's action. Now, you come here and post one article and think that you are an authority on the subject. If you care to remember, Harbhajan's action was questioned by none other than Bishen Singh Bedi. But you very conventiently forget that and post the opinions of this Australian bigot.

**Why are you trying to be so defensive, This thread is for every Chucker and Javeline thrower in Cricket and just Murali and Shoaib.

Because your opinion is oh so very important to me and I feel that I must win your approval about everything I do.

Originally posted by Spock:
Sambralian, ignore him, no need to argue with him... Shaoib was cleared by an Australian institute that said that this was a natural deformation... Who do we believe, one person or some qualified researchers from Australia... ALL THE PAKISTANI GUPPIES, PLZ IGNORE THIS THREAD, IT WILL DIE OUT...

Agree:

Hmm, I dont see how the deformity in his arm allows him to chuck? His action is just as natural as anyone else.

Originally posted by sambrialian:**
Akhtar also has been cleared by the ICC, the organization that appointed the panel that cleared Lee. If he can be cleared and not questioned again then why not Murli and Akhtar?

Akhtar has not been cleared by the ICC, Last I heard Michael Holding was appointed by ICC to work with him But Shoaib himself declared that there is nothing wrong with his action and it cant be modified.
http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/FEB/096913_PA K_13FEB2002.html

Oh now Bobby Simpson is a Bigot as well. If you read the first line of the first post in this thread you will notice first name taken by me was of Mr. Bishen singh Bedi. for your Satisfaction here are Mr. Bedi’s full comments about Harbhajan :-

Bedi was also critical of fellow countryman Harbhajan Singh’s action when he bowled his arm ball.

"In the good old days, it was called the floater. It was bowled using the shoulder, like an outswinger.

"You bowled it with the off-spinner’s action, but without imparting any spin. You rolled it, and put in a little extra shoulder, so the ball drifted away.

“Now they do it with their elbows and wrists. Anyone using the elbow to turn it the other way is doing it illegally,” he said.

Link :- http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/FEB/090370_SL_ 02FEB2002.html

Once you are done reading, Please tell me where he has said that ‘HARBHAJAN CHUCKS or THROWS’.

And If at all Harbhajan is called for chucking again, I am sure Indian Board will drop him again rather than seeking refuge in ‘PHYSICAL DEFORMITY’ of his arm.

AK

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 13, 2002).]

Originally posted by ammarr:
Hmm, I dont see how the deformity in his arm allows him to chuck? His action is just as natural as anyone else.

Exactly, Thats what I also wanna know.

AK

I think I will heed Spock and Question's advice, Asif yaar! We both know we're going in circles here. You have hashed, and rehashed the same arguments millions of times. So, unfortunately I will no longer participate in this discussion.

I see thats where you were the whole time, looking for a way to prove us wrong!
Keep dreaming

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Where ?? I am here only PAL, Only thing I wasn’t rubbing Salt on your wounds after your loss to Australia. I am not dreaming either, I was just showing you some more people speaking against ‘CHUCKERS’.

AK

From Bobby Simpson says:
** And how can the same players who can't straighten their arms throw the ball from the boundary, which is miles away, into the wicketkeeper's gloves with a thud? **

I am surprised that this so called legend of Australian cricket does not know the action that is used when throwing a ball rather than bowling? Is he expecting everyone to bowl over arms from the boundary? Does Bret Lee bowl over arms from the boundary?

[This message has been edited by 2bornot2b (edited June 14, 2002).]

Originally posted by Spock:

my arm is the samy way...and since my injury 6 months ago... i can't move my arm straight 90 degrees it dips to the right... and people here blame me of chucking also... makes me wanna kill those mofo's...

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Where ?? I am here only PAL, Only thing I wasn't rubbing Salt on your wounds after your loss to Australia. I am not dreaming either, I was just showing you some more people speaking against 'CHUCKERS'.

You know I crticized the Indian team so much just to reply to your hate mongering threads but when I think of it, those poor lads are not that bad, they don't deserve that kind of bashing. So now I'm going to bash you instead of your team, that will be fair.

Wait till the 2nd match Umair, If Pak lose he and others will come back to criticize but if Pak wins then they will wait for the 3rd one and the story goes on n on n on

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
** You know I crticized the Indian team so much just to reply to your hate mongering threads but when I think of it, those poor lads are not that bad, they don't deserve that kind of bashing. So now I'm going to bash you instead of your team, that will be fair.**

I am Singing - 'At Last.....'

Feel free to bash me, but be ready to take the sting from me as well.

AK

Go talk to someone who cares, matter of a fact talk to the hand

How are you going to sting back, by crying to the mods, or tell lies that he edited your message.

Goodluck ram ji

[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited June 15, 2002).]

Ok, you two why dont you kiss and make up

And let’s not spoil the thread.

What thread?
Same article with same info, no new information!

Sorry Ehsan bhai, I'll bail out this time.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 15, 2002).]