Re: The “bad” Madrassa Myth
Jigger (that is actually a 1 1/2ounce in english) as the name implies “afridi” it is a pashtun name. I agree with you regarding arab bravery. These piss ants dont fight at night (this gives the israeli’s the advantage).
Re: The "bad" Madrassa Myth
My father once discussed the madrassah issue with Shaikh Yusuf Talal DeLorenzo, a scholar who is an American revert to Islam who spent many years studying Islam in Pakistan after accepting Islam.
Shaikh DeLorenzo pointed out that of the many many madrassahs in Pakistan, only an insignificant minority teach a form of Islam that directly leads to people killing other people.
Rather, the problem is that the madrassah educated students are generally not equipped with the skills and knowledge to gain admittance to universities for humanities, commercial, technical and medical further education - and so they get excluded from the sectors of Pakistan's economy that are growing and well-paying.
Instead, they are supremely well qualified for taking up courses leading to religious scholarship and being imams in mosques. There are not sufficient jobs in this field, however, meaning many madrassah graduates end up literate but unable to find additional opportunities in life.
The resulting unemployment tends to make many unhappy and vulnerable to elements who give them scapegoats and questionable beliefs to direct their frustration and hate into.
I agree with Shiekh DeLorenzo Sahib. Maddy, the traditional Maddrassas were a place for Islamic scholarship. Jamia Naeemia, in Lahore e.g., and a University modeled after al-Azahr set up by Pir Karam Shah. The Madrassas we are talking about are the ones funded by Saudis all along the border with Afghanistan that were set up to train the army of Mujahideen to fight the Russians. These Maddrassas were set up under Zia, with money from Saudi Arabia overseen by the CIA. They were places of brainwashing.
kewl…clap clap…phir toa…jaaiy rihaaish bhi ho gi wahan? ![]()
agar nahin hai, toa phir plz shoo away from speaking on karachiites…k?..shoo shoo…![]()
^^ a karachiite namoona. As I mentioned I have been to karachi a few times but only at the airport for a connecting flt. Aaab ammmaa ammaa kar key shoo of.
bolnai kaa nahin tha na…yehi bola tha..![]()
He was referring to the rural ones in the far north as well. As I mentioned, his first-hand experience was that only a minority were directly funneling their students into violent activities.
The majority were simply producing students who finished their education with no more prospects than when they started - they end up doing the same kind of low paying menial work as their compatriots who don’t get educated. This makes them frustrated and vulnerable.
Of course, I am referring to those amongst the militants in Pakistan who make up just the numbers in militant groups. The really dangerous tend to be the ones who’ve been in the mainstream educational curriculum and studies secular subjects at university, because they know enough to be dangerous.
Very good to know that you read Ha’aretz, the newspaper that condoned and lauded the killing of a paraplegic man…
You know little, and whetever you do know is tainted with hate…But don’t feel bad, you are neither the first nor the last of your kind…
I read all jung,dawn,britishtimes, christian science, jew science, hindu science, even aljazeera science everything my brother. Like the balanced view, you know.
BTW does the reading of a jewish newspaper make me a kafir? What does the manual say?
^ Hitler was purportedly very well read... i'd hardly say he had a "balanced view" of things
aww do you think I have hitler like qualities?
Hitler’s hate was born of ages, something he ingrained in himself after years and years of study and he ingrained it in others as well…
You on the other hand hate because you are told to…
You would be more akin to a regular German guy in the Nazi era…
Tell us, why do you hate? Is it because of your professed enlightenment? What position would you hold in the Hitler era? Would you have written the books Hitler studied?
That would entirely depend upon where my hate was sensed...Where?
From your posts on gupshup obviously.
Its better that u change ur religion if u dont like Hijabs and Beards, but certainly these things can never be eliminated.
There is no compulsion in Islam ( to be muslim and once u r a muslim u have to be a complete muslim and not christian or jew muslim )
or a qadiyani for that matter [trying to be politically correct
]
Not that its a matter of pride to me (u seem to contradict your self by proclaining the same), but for your general knowledge, there were many Mohajir boys who went to Afghanistan for Jihad during the Russian invasion and the Taliban era. At the same time, there were millions of Afghanis who migrated to the safe areas of Pakistan rather than go and fight for their country. Does it mean all those Afghanis were bhagora’s? I do not share that opinion, but wanted to show u how easy it is to generalize.
Verizon,
U seem to know abt events which never happened, that nice to know. We sud start calling u Pir Verizon, right or ST Verizon.
Since u hv a story to narrate heres one from Karachi. Guys from St Verizon town cry and squeel like eunuchs when confronted by those nasty lookin bad dudes from Karachi. I ve seen these guys bend over and offer their only orific, old habits or tribal customs not sure but certainly very big hole in their offers…
3 significant flaws render this article marginal.
a. why generalize? some madarassas have had a history of raising extreme passion and others don't.
b. in general, the complaint is against the mind-set that is cultivated there; not whether they provide explosives training
c. attending 'college' doesn't mean one is educated. For every desi 'educated' graduate, I can think of a dozen that have degrees and yet cannot be called educated by any definition.