The Aunty in each of us !

Re: The Aunty in each of us !

But I did not call you a male. Can you go back and read what I actually said :frowning:

you are scaring me. :frowning:

Oh yeah I just realized what you said. I'm sorry for showing you the mad face. Now you see why I said I have a tendency to become an aunty? :(

Jee :(

ummm......actually he might see it but I don't......kindly explain.
what does misreading have to do with becoming an aunty?

How about Aunty Hadeel?

Muzna: Because I jumped to conclusion without even realising what he was trying to say and then kinda became angry. :/

Sehrysh, you just HAD to say that didn't you? =p

It's actually not about the misreading.

When you feel afraid of the attitude, advices, etc. etc. of someone, then you know you have been facing an aunty. :(

Number 1 for me. I haven’t thought as far as the 30s, I suppose I’ll have to downgrade (or upgrade) them to baji.

This is it .. why not call them Chalako Massi rather then aunty? isnt Chalako masi term more appropriate?

Um, but isn't a massi also a term for aunty? I know the kaamwaali connotation of maasi, but in some dialects, a maasi is a khaala. So then we get back to changing a specific relationship into a derogatory term?

I'm not into labelling a group by one or several people's behavior, so I do it more on a case by case system. But yes, I do get your point that the word aunty, when used in a certain conditions, does carry a negative connotation.

well , even if its age related .. i believe we dont go about calling everyone an aunty, usually when someone is like close enough to our mothers age , we call them aunty out of respect ..

Like for example , for a 3 year old kid, someone in their early 20's will be an aunty coz they are close to their mom's age by a few years maybe ..

So in essence, we call someone an aunty when there is an age difference of a whole generation .. by that definition, I believe those people who think they are in their teens / 20's and start looking down upon older ladies just because of their age .. is an absolutely sad state , in my opinion.

I hereby hereto declare that any sanctimonious, piety pagent contestant who thinks they can never be wrong shall be christened an aunty regardless of the age, ethnicity, race, gender, sexual orientation.

My apologies, I really didnt have any idea that Massi means khala as well .. but now that you mentioned it , you are right, none of the relationship indicating words should be used to denote negativity ..

So what does the term “chalako masi” stand for? I have heard it many times, before this moment I thought it stood for a neighbour who goes about creating stories and gossiping in the neighbourhood :hmmm:

I think some of the "insult" part also comes from the "age" factor.
The younger generation tend to believe that those older than them will be offended if their age is called into public attention. Whether or not this is insulting to someone is a separate issue but it is definitely rude on the younger group's part.

I wonder if they even consider that they are slinging mud on themselves when they do this.....? ("Yes, I am uncouth, uncultured and a general idiot and I'm going to prove it by calling you an aunty....karlo jo kerna hai.")

um muzna, didn’t you call me an aunty in a post not too long ago? hmm? :chai:

yeah…probably did.
but that wasn’t cuz of your age na.
that was cuz you were being a chalako maasi

so it is ok to call chalako maasi’s aunty? c.biryaniji disagrees. :nono1:

Who said anything about looking down? If anything, I say aunty out of respect. I'm actually surprised that some people wield the term like an insult. I personally don't associate "aunty" with someone who gossips. Some aunties gossip, just like some teens gossip. What's the beef here?

no…now that we’ve had this discussion and we are now all on the same page it is not.
when I called you an aunty it was still an “acceptable” phrase.