The AMAZING Race 6

Yes, Phil Keogan and Jerry Bruckheimer are back again with yet another full of adventures series(6th) of The AMAZING Race, and this time, they were quick. :slight_smile:

From the official website:

[thumb=H]main10122_3219273.JPG[/thumb]

11 teams of 2

[thumb=H]philkeoghan10122_3219273.JPG[/thumb]

Host, Phil Keoghan

On November 16, eleven Teams of two people, each with a pre-existing relationship, will set out on THE AMAZING RACE around the world to compete for one million dollars. They’ll never know where they’re going next or what they’ll have to do once there. Each pair’s relationship will be forever changed by their experience in this once-in-a-lifetime adventure.

Go on to the website, meet the teams, and let’s get it on for yet another ride.

yaaaaaay, I love this show :rotato:

:hula:

Right on!
ooo! I see some senioritas in there...should be fun!

Can’t wait till it starts! :hula:

I have been told that last season they must have been able to include Russia with pre-obtained visas on special documents.

I guess, if they tried, Pakistan embassy would be cooperative to allow a Karachi stop-over. If India is included third time in a row, the producers are going to get a nasty letter from me.

Here is a site TAR fans are sure to enjoy.

[thumb=H]airporthotel0_9110300.JPG[/thumb]

watched the 1st episode today
it was pretty good, although that one couple, the one where the husband was wearing the yellow shirt and he kept abusing his wife with insults, that guy deserves a kick in the arse
 what a loser and why’s he always yelling and whooing wherever he goes
 and those two jewish buddies were the first to go, i guess yahoods arent as clever as we all think they are :nahnah: i was glad to see them go anyways they were annoying
 and that motha kala uncle, if that guy is really in the CIA and if i was american, i would serisously be afraid if that was my country’s intelligence

[thumb=H]avijoe10122_5028174.JPG[/thumb]

1st team to go

The 6th series of the AMAZING Race began in downtown Chicago. Man, it brought so many good memories. I used to go there for work or fun or both. Since I moved to the West Coast, I’ve never gone there. I called up some of friends last night, and for’em.. it was like Who?..Hello Stranger Time flies so fast.

Back to Reality, ICELAND
woo. Where did that come from? Spending a night on a glacier. Teams traveled from Chicago to Reykjavic, Iceland where they did Detour of two tasks - Ice Climb or Ice Search. Only Avi & Joe(Best Buddies), Gus & Hera(Father/Daughter) chose to do the Ice Search task which was dumb

Once they did Detour, teams travelled to the pitstop(Grindavik, Iceland), driving some odd 2 hours.

Lori and Bolo weren’t on the same page. They actually decided to follow Hayden and Aaron but the team of Dating Actors proved to be superior in intelligence. Result, Bolo didn’t have the map to the pitstop, gave Lori wrong navigations, and thus, ugh.. both couple barked all the way to the pitstop.

Jonathan was annoying as hell. He said in the intro he’s like a dictator. Well, the race is a team work not a one man show. Look for’em to be boot out soon. I actually liked the fact that Victoria called him an “idiot”. This couple remined me Collin and Christie of the last series. :hehe:

Adam and Rebecca made it to the pitstop despite they had trouble at the pump. How dumb can it get that they couldn’t read the sign of fuel which was Diesel?

In the Sisters team, Lena is Liberal, Kristy is Conservative. This is going to be intersting. :smiley: Somehow, I know Kris. I may have seen her in UCLA or some party that I have gone to. searches telephone diary

At the end of the day, it was the team of Best Jewish Friends from Brooklyn(Avi and Joe) that got the boot. Pretty shocking when they heard the elimination from Phil. Had they chose to do the Ice Climb instead of Ice Search, they could have finish among top 3 teams.

I missed it. When will it be repeated?

^ Last time they repeated the show on Saturdays..not sure about this time. They are covering the show on this website CBS Shows - Popular Primetime, Daytime, Late Night & Classics
You can even subscribe to their weekly emails/reports.

The wrestler couple is funny and so are Jonathan/Victoria. The more fights the better I guess :smiley:
The team who lost started off very cocky :hehe: he goes we are a unique pair..one of us is logical thinker and the other one is creative
no wonder they were shocked at their elimination.
Iceland looked pretty bland..I’ll probably get bored there

*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
I missed it. When will it be repeated?

Saturday. 8/7 eastern time zone. Not sure what would that be in Canada. Is the Canadian Standard Time same as the Eastern Time in the U.S.? If so, turn your TV set at 8 pm.

Almost all the teams fight so much! :eek:

I don’t think I’ve ever seen an Amazing Race where so many teams would be fighting from the beginning of the race.

[thumb=H]passport10122_7328551.JPG[/thumb]

2nd team to go

Teams traveled from Iceland to Oslo, Norway. Tension remained between Jonathan and Victoria. The guy just can’t shut up for once and listen to Victoria. Rebecca and Adam fought over the lost of Adam’s sun glasses. Abbay, you’re in a race for million bucks!

Kris and Jon raced to the Pitstop, finished 1st. Kris(majoring in Geography), knows where to correct herself and Jon when they messed up. UCLA walonn ki tou baat he kuch aur hai. :wink:

The funniest part of the episode: Maria couldn’t stick it. :hehe: I had the same experience when I learned how to drive the manual car. It’s hard to adjust yourself but in the end, is really easy. I actually like to drive a manual than automatic any day.

Anyway, as the team reached Oslo, they were given a roadblock of Ski Jump at Holmenkollen. In previous races, Teams chose without restriction which member would complete the Roadblock. Now, the rules have changed. **One team member can only perform 6 roadblocks. **

Lena and Kristy were benefitted by a local who helped them navigating to Holmenkollen. Once, the teams were done with Ski Jump, they drove over 50 miles to the village of Brandbu. There, they found a traditional Viking village for their next Route Marker. In the clue, it was stated all teams to spend the night in the village.

Next morning, the 10 Teams were split into two larger teams of their own choice. Both teams race Viking ships across a fjord to a marked dock, where the next clue awaited for them.

The first Viking boat had Lori & Bolo, Adam & Rebecca, Hayden & Aaron, Kris & Jon and Lena & Kristy. The second boat held Gus & Hera, Jonathan & Victoria, Meredith & Maria, Freddy & Kendra and Don & Mary Jean.

The lack of teamwork, commitment from second boat, left Don with saying “the worst rowing crew in the history of rowing.” Things got nasty when Jonathan started yelling at an emotional Meredith, caused the second boat to fall further behind.

Once, the teams reached to dock, they opened the clue and found that they had to drive 200 miles to the town of Voss. Once there, they had to drive five miles to a marked bridge, where they would find their next clue. Freddy & Kendra panicked for a moment when they lost their clue, but after searching in vain, they opted to grab a duplicate one from the cluebox.

Meanwhile, Maria struggled once again with the stick while Lena and Kristy led the way to the marked bridge. Once the clue opened, they discovered Detour, a task of two choices(Endurance and Accuracy)

Endurance: Teams must roller ski through a one and three-quarter mile course to receive their next clue.

Accuracy: Teams must successfully complete three games traditionally played by the Vikings. In Kubb, teammates had to work together throwing sticks to knock over a circle of eight logs called Kubbs before finally knocking over the King in the center. Then, one Team member must throw an axe into a tree trunk target. Once the axe stuck, the other Team member had to shoot an arrow into a target 30 feet away to earn the next clue.

Quote of the night goes to Lori when she said “Accuracy means you have to be accurate.” Seeing Aaron struggled, Adam and Rebecca opted for Accuracy but then finally went for Endurance task. While, it was difficult to ski specially with raining atmosphere, most of the teams found themselves in trouble with Accuracy task as well. Fresh of their ski task, Adam and Rebecca discovered their car have been stolen. Once, Don and Mary Jean realized their mistake, they went back to the Detour where Adam and Rebecca waited for their car. On the way to the Pitstop, Lena and Kristy goof’d up and forgot to take the left road. Freddy & Kendra reached the Pitstop as a 6th team but Phil informed them about the rule they’ve broken of taking another clue. 30 minutes penalty was applied on them and they crumbled down to the 8th spot.

Meredith & Maria, Lena & Kristy were fighting for the 9th place, which was eventually won by the Sisters Team. Funny enough, on the clue of Pitstop, it read “the last team to check in maybe eliminated”. For a sec, I thought, “so early?” but it never happened.

9 Teams remain
who will be eliminated Next?

Watched it last night. Wow, I cannot believe how biitchy the majority of the teams are.

Jonathan and Victoria ... can't believe they are married.

Adam needs therapy.

These two men are so flamboyant. It's hard to believe they are straight.

I agree :hehe: I enjoy the wrestlers the most

Just caught the last part of the show
Norway looks nice..very much like Scotland
 I don’t mind rainy weather.

AR6 has a promising start.

Although, last week I never wished last for the jewish cousins, I was like, how many times will we have to hear the Moses in the desert analogy each week.

It was funny the way Jonathan called himself a superhero.

Iceland Air has to be worst cross-Atlantic airline. They make coach passengers pay for soft drinks.

Iceland on the other hand, is a must-visit once in life. Reykjavik is quite cosmopolitan actually. There is this curry restaurant Shalimar in downtown, with an aroma radius of 2 blocks.

An interesting fact for history buffs, Icelandic is the original form of Norwegian. Once the early vikings were isolated on the island, the language in the east kept evolving. Anyone notice the Icelandic horses.

*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
Watched it last night. Wow, I cannot believe how biitchy the majority of the teams are.

Jonathan and Victoria ... can't believe they are married.

Adam needs therapy.

These two men are so flamboyant. It's hard to believe they are straight.

Exactly! Most of the teams suffer from anger management problems.

Also, the entrepreneur guy (hubby) is the RUDEST! I can't believe he's an entrepreneur. I truly feel sorry for his wife. I don't see how she puts up with such a jerk who knows nothing, but to lose temper and humiliate her.

Lena & Kristy got eliminated. :s

Overall, they were doing pretty good. Just the 'Roadblock' messed'em up.

Oh well... :(

yeah..what a heart breaking loss...the girl was really sweet.

[thumb=H]passport10122_7974124.JPG[/thumb]

3rd team to go

This is just painful to write. :teary3:

Dating Actors Hayden and Aaron captured the first place for the second time in the race when teams made their way from Voss, Norway to Stockholm, Sweden(the Pit-stop for the 3rd leg).

Arriving by bus, Teams ran through the streets of Stockholm searching for the Ice Bar. Only Gus & Hera remained lost in the streets of Stockholm for few minutes.

When teams found the Nordic Sea Hotel, they opened their clues, which instructed them to don parkas to enter the nightclub made entirely of ice. Once inside, they had to slide a shot glass along the bar to hit a target. Only one member of the Team would have to hit the target to receive their next clue. If they miss, they would go to the end of the line. Even though, Gus & Hera were last to arrived at Nordic Sea Hotel, they managed to pass Freddy and Kendra. But this wasn’t the problem since the IKEA store didn’t open until 10 am the next morning. All teams camp at the IKEA store.

Next day, teams searched the massive store for the clue box. Adam & Rebecca and Lori & Bolo found the Cluebox first to discover a Detour.

**Detour: ** Teams had to choose between ‘Count It or Build It.’ Teams choosing ‘Count It’ must choose a series of three bins and count every pot, pan and stuffed animal inside them for a total of 2,304 items. Once they finish, they must tell the assigned supervisor their count. If correct, they receive their next clue. Otherwise, they must begin counting again.

On the other hand, Teams choosing ‘Build It’ must build a desk correctly, using every single part given to them. If they make a mistake, they must fix it or, in the worst case scenario, start the construction over.

The ‘Count It’ task was just awful. Who’s got the time to count every damn pot, pan? ‘Build It’ task was quite easy. Just read the manual and there you go. Hayden & Aaron, initially opting for ‘Count It’, immediately changed their minds when they saw the large bins filled with inventory. Lena & Kristy and Freddie & Kendra quickly became frustrated counting the items. Kris and Jon finished first, receiving their clue that instructed them to travel 18 miles by train to Haggvik. Once there, they had to drive a tandem bike two miles to a farm and the next Route Marker. Soon, Hayden & Aaron and Gus & Hera joined Kris & Jon traveling to Haggvik.

After starting the count over yet again, Rebecca was quoted as “I think I’m losing my mind.” Bolo struggled to add numbers in his mind. Why not use a paper to write the numbers? :smack: Kristy told Lena: “We need to zone everybody out and be very careful with these.” As soon as they did this, the came up with the correct total(2,304) which put’em in the fourth place. Jonathan & Victoria followed’em. Kris was quoted on the station “Did you see Jonathan shouting at Victoria?” FLASH FLASH

Only Lori & Bolo and Don & Mary Jean remained at the Ikea store approx. 5 hours. Don commented, “I was absolutely out of my mind with fatigue. It’s not rocket science to count bears, but I thought I couldn’t do it.” Eventually, both Teams wisely threw in the towel on ‘Count It’ and began to build the desks. Don & Mery fell into the last place.

Arriving at Haggvik, teams discovered ‘Yield’. This was first of the Three Yields of the AMAZING Race. No team decided to Yield anyone. Both Hayden & Aaron and Kris & Jon who arrived at Haggvik chose not to use their Yield and opened their clue to discover a Roadblock.

Roadblock: This Roadblock required one Team member to unroll bales of hay until they found a clue hidden inside. Out of 270 hay bales, only 20 had clues

Jon found a clue first while Kris cheered in support. Shortly after, Aaron discovered the clue as well. On the clue, it stated teams to return to Stockholm and find the af Chapman, a well-known ship and the Pit Stop for the leg of the Race. Lena opted to perform the Roadblock for her Team. Hay fever became a problem for the sneezing Victoria, but she managed to find a clue, followed closely by Gus. Also struggling with hay fever, Lena began to feel the physical toll of the task, and her hands became raw and cut up from the hay. Kristy encouraged her sister, who was now joined in the field by Adam and Freddy. Seeing other teams finding thei clues, Lena & Kristy’s spirit was in
:teary3: Seeing her sister on hay, Kristy commented, “I don’t think there’s one other girl on this Race that could be doing this. She’s a trouper.” True that.

Arriving in Stockholm together, Hayden & Aaron and Kris & Jon jogged along the city’s shoreline until they came to the dock where Phil Keoghan stood next to the af Chapman. Stepping onto the mat in first place were Hayden & Aaron while Kris & Jon settled for second place.

Lori & Bolo and Don & Mary Jean arrived at the farm, as Lena continued to struggle in her quest to find a clue in one of the bales. A stunned Mary Jean said, “I can’t believe there is another Team here with us.” When Lena finally took a break from the unrolling for a drink of water, Bolo found a clue, and the wrestlers hurried back to Stockholm. Soon after, Don pulled the clue while a stunned Lena said, “I can’t believe this.” Lena was hoping that it could be non-elimination leg of the race, spend 8 hours at hay but it wasn’t the non-elimniation leg as Phil arrived at the farm to informed’em. He told them that Lena had unroll 100 bales of hay to be approx. Phil asked Lena “What made her to go that long”? On her sister Lena said, “I knew this was a big deal for her and I didn’t want to be the one to ruin that.” A tearful Kristy replied, “You didn’t”

This was definitely saddest episode not only of the race but of the series since it began.

8 Teams remain
who will be eliminated NEXT?

First of Non-elimination Legs - Don and Mary Jean are still in the AMAZING Race

In the 4th episode, the teams departed from Sweden for Dakar, Senegal. But for that, teams traveled half mile to the City Hall in Stockholm where they found their route marker in the Town Hall Tower. Kris & Jon, Hayden & Aaron were told by the local hotel employee that the Town Hall Tower won’t open until 10 in the morning. The info was wrong. When the Tower opened at 7, Adam & Rebecca and engaged models Freddy & Kendra were waiting at the door, wondering what happened to the four Teams ahead of them. Both teams opened their clue to find they must must fly over 3,500 miles to Africa’s westernmost country, Senegal. Upon reaching there, they will find their next clue outside the airport. Hayden & Aaron and Kris & Jon time was wasted but they were able to caught up with other teams, and everyone flew together to Senegal via Paris.

When teams reached Senegal, they found a poem entitled “La Femme Noir”. Their next clue was waiting at the poet’s grave. An influential writer and former President of Senegal, who was buried 10 miles away at Bel Aire Cemetery. While Don & Mary, Bolo & Lori found their clues, the Taxi driver for Kris & Jon took them to the wrong cemetry. Most of the teams couldn’t handle the enivornment of the Senegal. Kendra remarked, “We’re in ghetto Africa” while Kris said “It’s Enlighten.” Once, all teams reached the cemetry one after the another, the learned it won’t be open before 6 in the morning. All teams found accomodation for the evening.

The following morning, the Teams entered the Bel Aire Cemetery and searched for the grave of Leopold Sedar Senghor. Lori & Bolo discovered the clue first. Clue stated they must travel 35 miles to the small fishing village of Kayar. Once there, they must search storefronts for a carpenter’s shop that contained their next clue. Arriving at the carpenter’s shop in first place, Jonathan & Victoria opened the clue to find a "Detour.’ For this Detour, Teams had to choose between Stack 'Em Up and Pull 'Em Up

• Stacke 'Em Up: Teams must walk to a fish-stacking area and carry enough baskets of fish to the work area to properly cover a drying table. Once they stacked the fish properly, the fisherwoman would hand them the next clue.

• Pull 'Em Up: Teams must take a fishing boat out to a fertile fishing area and use traditional lines to catch four fish. Once they caught the fish, they had to bring the bounty to a man onshore, who would hand them the next clue.

Gus & Hera and Don & Mary Jean chose to do Pull 'Em which proved to be the tough challenge. It takes time to catch fish. Gus said “She will never go to fishing.” Don puked most of the time while Mary Jean continued to do the task.

Lori & Bolo bickered (as always :hehe: ), which put them behind, while Jonathan & Victoria battled Kris & Jon for the lead. Eventually the married entrepreneurs completed the fish stacking first to earn the next clue, which instructed them to travel 20 miles to a pink lake known as Lac Rose where the next Route Marker waited next to the salt dunes. Soon, Hayden & Aaron, Freddy & Kendra and Kris & Jon headed to the lake.

Arriving at the shores of Lac Rose, Jonathan & Victoria opened their clue to find a Roadblock.

• Roadblock: one Team member had to wade into the pink lake and, using the traditional tools provided, harvest enough salt to fill a 25-gallon basket onshore. Once the Team member had completely filled the basket, a supervisor would hand the Team their next clue.

Jonathan began strongly for his team, while Kendra and Freddy argued. With Adam, Lori and Kris joining in, the six Racers lugged the heavy salt to shore, slowly filling their baskets. Jonathan held his lead throughout the task and was one the first person to received the clue. I have to admit, Jonathan does know how to play the game. All he needs to do is to listen Victoria once in a while. Jonathan & Victoria learned they must travel 30 miles to Dakar and take a ferry to Ile de Gorée, a former slave prison island and Pit Stop for 4th leg of the Race.

[thumb=H]ep04_1810122_5932550.JPG[/thumb]

Rebecca and the wussy-boy

Adam found himself in difficulty at the Roadblock as every woman there, Hayden, Lori and Kris, filled their baskets before him. A stunned Rebecca remarked, *“Unbelievable! He’s a girl.” * :rotfl: Adam made light of his shortcomings, saying, “I’m physically weak, apparently.” In response, Rebecca quipped, *“Well, stop being a wussy-boy and maybe no one would say that.” * :hehe: :k:

Hayden was surprised how quickly Kris filled up her basket with salt. To which Aaron replied, “She kicked your butt.” With wet tanktop, Kris looked damn HOOOTTTTTT droools

With the help of a great cab driver, Kris & Jon snagged the first ferry to Ile de GorĂ©e, while Jonathan & Victoria missed the boat by seconds. This forced the upset Jonathan & Victoria to share the second ferry with Lori & Bolo, Freddy & Kendra and Hayden & Aaron, along with Adam & Rebecca. Rebecca, feeling differently about her behavior, sniped back, “Adam, I don’t have time to babysit my girlfriend anymore.” A frustrated Adam replied, “Do you want me to jump off the boat?” to which Rebecca replied with a smile, *“That would be awesome.” *

and that’s the end of marriage. :smiley:

The race to avoid last place came down to the cab ride to the ferry station. Gus & Hera snagged tickets on the third ferry, but Don & Mary Jean arrived too late, forced to take the next one to Ile de Goree. Grandparents couldn’t make the difference, however, Phil informed them, it was the first(or several) non-elimination leg of the race. Like previous series, Phil collected all the money Don and Mary Jean had. This didn’t worry Don, who said, *“We’ve had a great run on this thing. We’re the oldest couple ever to get this far. We make such an unbelievable Team together in basically everything that we do.” *