The Agony and The Joy

http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/80000/80090.jpg

This image says it all. My team won and made myself and a billion of other Indians the happiest people in the world. But what must be going through Misbah’s mind and millions of other Pakistanis. As you can see in the image, the umpire must surely be feeling for Misbah, down on his knees thinking about what has he done. This image goes on to show what an India-pakistan cricket match means, especially when it’s the final of a world cup.

Long live the jazba and junoon of India Pakistan cricket :k:.

Re: The Agony and The Joy

Now that is a heartbreaking picture. Misbah :teary1:

Not from indian perspective though, yeah yeah congratulations.

Best picture of the tournament :k:

aww poor misbah....:(
it's nice to see the indian team winning though after that nightmare of a world cup this year in WI.

:nuch: :nuch:

The person on his knees (in the above picture) appears to be Asif and not Misbah. The first two letters on the back of his jersey seems to be "AS.."

Yes..it is Asif at Non-Striker end.
:nuch: :nuch:

chalo koi nahin yaar. winning-loosing is part of life..

i drove 80 miles(total) on saturday to play in a tournament and was bowled on the first ball. life sucks.....

Sreesanth is my man of the match for taking that catch.

I have seen easy catches being dropped in tense situations quite a few times.

The guy is emotional, but thankfully remained calm to normally take the catch.

Otherwise he could have "dropped the world cup".

Not related...but did anybody see Kamran Akmal dropping a laddu catch (skier) even with his wicket-keeping gloves on in the semi-final against New Zealand. That was horrifying.

^ and that too on the last ball of the NZ innings. that was really poor and an unbelievable miss. Heads will surely roll if he has another poor series against SA.

This actually is Misbah.

Look at the right hand glove, which is for the right handed batsman with thumb protected and first two fingers with extra protection.

Nevertheless, saddest picture ever...even more sad as seeing SA player cry in SCG dressing room balcony in 1992

Your observation skill is commendable. And the batsmen would have crossed over while the catch was taken.. but the apparent "AS.." on the back of jersey is confusing...anyways, not a big deal.

Awww...so sad, pehlay kheltay acha nahi baad mein dramay kartay hai faida?

Misbah still my man; well played bro :k: :jhanda:

As (the sole) member of the Sreesanth appreciation society, I acknowledge and applaud your sharp cricketing acumen in identifying this signature moment. May all your observations be as insightful.

It is Misbah, Asif was wearing full sleeve shirt.

^ So mystery solved......thanks.

Its a heartbreaking image. I haven't been able to take that image of Misbah out of my mind.

It just shows what it meant to him after giving it all and will languish with me forever. He is a true hero.

All this picture shows is that Yousif Pathan took 2 wickets, Robin Uthappa 2 wickets, and Harbhajan 1 wicket.

*Heartbreaking picture, but as I read on another forum:

Only heroes ever get to (gloriously) fail at the final hurdle - because they take up the challenge, and fight to the bitter end. Only cowards ever get to say they never failed - because they never tried in the first place, and instead just sit on the sidelines berating those who DID try.

"Glorious failure" is what would exactly describe Misbah's effort yesterday. *