The Abdul Sattar Edhi Interview

Did anyone catch it on Atiqa’s program?

He’s such a nice person.
He talked bout a lot of stuff. He’s nice, I like him.

Why arent there more ppl like him around?

Here’s a bit i found on his website bout him

Abdul Sattar Edhi

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/edhi.jpg

Abdul Sattar Edhi was born in 1931 in a small village of Bantva near Jhoona garh, Gujrat (India). When Edhi was at the sensitive age of eleven, his mother became paralyzed and later got mentally ill. The battle against the disease finally resulted in a failure and her persistent sorrowful condition left a permanent impact on Edhi. His studies were also seriously affected and he could not complete his high school level.

Edhi’s mother died when he was 19. His personal experience made him think of thousands and millions, in misery like his mother. Even at this early age, he felt personally responsible for taking on the challenge of developing a system of services to reduce human miseries.

Edhi and his family migrated to Pakistan in 1947. After a couple of years, he became involved in the charity work. However, soon his personal vision of a growing and developing system of services made him decide to establish a welfare trust of his own and named it as “Edhi Trust”. He made an appeal to the public for funds and he was able to raise RS 2,00,000. The range and scope of work of Edhi trust expanded with remarkable speed under the driving spirit of the man behind it.

Abdul Sattar Edhi began his organization in 1948 by shifting injured people to hospitals, and has since then developed a service which attracts funds of $5 million per year , with no government assistance. His radio-linked network includes 500 ambulances throughout Pakistan, and he has also set up 300 relief centres, 3 air ambulances , 24 hospitals, 3 drug rehabilitation centres, women’s centres, free dispensaries, adoption programmes and soup kitchens that feed 100,000 people a month. he has paid for and supervised the training of 17,000 nurses. The ambulance service even picks up corpses, and the organization arranges Muslim burials.

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited July 18, 2002).]

Anchal

Good thread, but i don't think Shor Sharaba will do justice to it so i am going to pass it over to Thap/X 1 .

I have a great sense of admiration for Edhi! I have never heard anything else but 'good' about him. :~)

EDHI & Pakistan forever!

Excellent person I have ever seen and so as his wife Bilqees Eidhi. Their services are countless, worldwide and great. But unfortunately in our country he was also a controversial person some years ago.

thanksssssss Anchal a lot for the thread..its very nice to see him..whatever i say about him and bilqees aunty is less..in our school in karachi we always used to had tons of charity campaigns since kindergarten..

i remember one time when i was a kid i had to go to airport in karachi..and the people we went to pick had a late arrival..so i sat there and i saw him and aunty bilqees..they were wearing very simple clothes and looked so peaceful..they were sitting alone so after observing them for a while..i finally went to say salam to them..and i can't forget his shafqat wala haat on head and his wifey's hug..eventhough that this was like 15 years ago or something..but i can't forget the meet :)

Originally posted by Qrius:
**thanksssssss Anchal a lot for the thread..its very nice to see him..whatever i say about him and bilqees aunty is less..in our school in karachi we always used to had tons of charity campaigns since kindergarten..

i remember one time when i was a kid i had to go to airport in karachi..and the people we went to pick had a late arrival..so i sat there and i saw him and aunty bilqees..they were wearing very simple clothes and looked so peaceful..they were sitting alone so after observing them for a while..i finally went to say salam to them..and i can't forget his shafqat wala haat on head and his wifey's hug..eventhough that this was like 15 years ago or something..but i can't forget the meet :)**

yeah and I met them in our college on a seminar about drug control where they were cheif guest there and the they mingle among the students "us". And we found him so humble and nice person.

To learn more about the man go to http://www.paks.net/edhi-foundation/

“It was my mother’s teaching,” he recalls as he drives an ambulance van to Korangi, a north Karachi suburb where he runs a home for 250 boys. “When I used to go to school, she would give me two paise and tell me to spend one and give the other to the poor.” His mother, he quickly adds, gave him no religious instruction. Edhi says he is a Muslim-but adds that human rights is his real religion. And that has brought him, trouble from Karachi’s conservative clerics. Several denounced him and forbade people to give Islamic charity to him. “The mullahs don’t like me,” he says cheerfully. “Because I criticize anyone who doesn’t honor human rights. Although the religions say protect human rights, in practical terms they don’t do it. They don’t teach people to serve humanity.”

[This message has been edited by google (edited July 18, 2002).]

The man has strong, unbending personal beliefs. He feels deeply and is often hurt. He has a sense of duty. But everything about Abdul Sattar Edhi falls into place with a single, overwhelming characteristic: he is a man of action. "Words mean nothing, nor do impressive titles, plush offices, flashy cars. To serve is what matters, "he says in a husky voice that would be rasping if it weren't so sincere and rich. "I worship God by serving His people, that's all." Which is why, after toiling at the grassroots of charity for 40 years, he has managed to create the Abdul Sattar Edhi Foundation and welfare Trust-the largest, most efficient, most well-endowed private charitable network in Pakistan. Possibly one of the largest in the entire sub-continent. Under the direct and daily management of the Maulana, his wife Bilquis, their daughter Khadija and several responsible senior workers, the Edhi foundation runs a humanitarian service that receives donations of approximately Rs 3 crores($.7m) every year. The network is, to put it mildly, impressive. In sheer numbers (see box page 11) the extent of the Edhi structure is overwhelming As are the instances of courage, the missions of mercy he mounts at tines of great need. Flash floods, riots, bomb blasts, hijacking...the Maulana and his forces are always the first to arrive and the only ones to keep coming back for more. Indeed, above the odour of recurring civil disturbances that still hangs heavily in Pakistan and particularly in Karachi, the memory of Maulana Edhi's unflinching service provides a single, refreshing message of hope. "I tell them we must keep trying," he says, referring to an incident when he, personally, was stopped, searched and manhandled by riot police. "They may be suspicious of us at first but eventually, they too will let us pass." As indeed, they did. And will continue to do in a country where most people stand humbled at the mere mention of his name. For behind the statistics and the scenes of drama lies a pulsating and angry world of daily pain, suffering, decay and death. And it is this monstrous world that Edhi breaches in a private war for humanity, touching as he does so, every level and strata of society. The Edhi arms strikes deep into the very core of existence, aiding the minuscule individual trapped in old age, mental disease, unemployment or poverty, protecting the young woman shunned by society, educating the orphan, the illegitimate child, feeding the starving infant, the crippled leper, the terminally ill and burying the thousands who are unwanted even in death. "They send their dead to me," he explains as suddenly a commotion outside attracts our attention. A young worker rushes in, hands him a slip of paper. He rushes out into the narrow, crowded lane.

There bodies, mutilated and shrunk, lie at the back of an Edhi ambulance. It is difficult not to peer and not to recoil in horror. The Maulana works with the men, swiftly, as each is covered in a white shroud brought from within the center (miles of white cloth stand stacked in a small room, awaiting the average 6-8 bodies the Edhi Trust will provide with a free burial daily), and is then stored in a chilled room before being sent to the Edhi Trust Burial Site for the abandoned. "We have abandoned ourselves, no one has done this to us," the Maulana continues when we are seated again. "These bodies were people. Drowned, they say. No one to claim them, so the police call us, send them to us." He is not complaining, merely telling it like it is. "You know, I started off by driving around, picking up dead bodies. I still do, "he says. "In fact, if you want to know what I'm really qualified to do, " he adds with a hint of a smile, "it is to drive an ambulance. I will always go anywhere, at any time to help a person in distress, " he continues seriously, "because I , personally, am committed to two acts of service. I will aid the needy, I will bathe and bury the dead, the 'lawaris' for whom there is no one in this world, no one ready to perform the final act of humanity." If his voice cracks slightly with emotion as he recites his personal creed, it is probably because the young Abdul Sattar Edhi grew up with suffering around him. " In our village, Batva, when I was very young, there were old people, ill and infirm. I used to shun my playmates, they made fun of me but I couldn't help myself, to get medicine and food for these people. And my mother died, a patient of paralysis," he recalls.

Wah! You r very lucky. He is really jem of a person.

Originally posted by Qrius:
**thanksssssss Anchal a lot for the thread..its very nice to see him..whatever i say about him and bilqees aunty is less..in our school in karachi we always used to had tons of charity campaigns since kindergarten..

i remember one time when i was a kid i had to go to airport in karachi..and the people we went to pick had a late arrival..so i sat there and i saw him and aunty bilqees..they were wearing very simple clothes and looked so peaceful..they were sitting alone so after observing them for a while..i finally went to say salam to them..and i can't forget his shafqat wala haat on head and his wifey's hug..eventhough that this was like 15 years ago or something..but i can't forget the meet :)**

The Future Just Happened!

A great personality indeed

“meRe SoOnE kE joOtE naHi." – ShiNoO© …
“yoUr comManD iS mY wiSH.” – ShiNoO© …
“mE tO hooN hI BurRA.” – Ali_R 'n SHuJ©

Great man!

Allah bless him.

He is absolutely the wonderful person on the face of this earth. Usually you hear some falana rich person visiting famines of Ethopia or the land mine victims of Cambodia and donating money. But him, he isnt rich, he isnt famous yet he is so devoted to his work.

However none of you saw his interview on Indus? That was very moving. I was hoping someone would post the entire interview here.

Allah Edhi saab ko un kee khidmaat ka sila day…he is one of the best people in this world

Edhi's a great man, he has some flaws like every human being, but he is one of the very few Muslims out there who deserve something like the Nobel Peace prize, I would recommend you read Tehmina Durranis book about him, any purchase goes to the edhi foundation so it's a added incentive..