**Those were 2 words I had NEVER EVER heard in my entire life till I joined GS…I still am not clear what poondi means but it sounds horrible and I don’t think i’ll EVER use that word in a conversation…it just sounds WRONG !
What other slangs are out there in the “Desi urban dictionary” that you may have come across that had you going , , or
Where do these words originate from or how are they coined ?
Please try to keep it Clean …I’m asking nicely ! **
yeh I have never used Poondi word either. tharki i came to know from GS.
Another word which sounds very very uncomfortable to me, is not a slang but ppl use it generally is , Boti i.e. chicken/mutton piece. I know its commonly used and probably there is no other word for it in urdu n punjabi but it sounds gross
Tharki & Pooni
First time i’m reading these words. lets see who can elaborate these words nicely …
Another word is Haji Sannan Ullah and i really want to know the origin of this slang too ?
Phoondi is not gross. It is our national pastime. Etymology tell us that the word is derived from 'bhoond' meaning honey bee. Young guys are attracted towards fair sex as those bees attracted towards honey. Perfectly logical and natural given the social perimeters within which our youth has to behave.
Tharki is not a slang. It is a proper word in Hindi and Urdu, derived from Tharak; a natural instinct, intensity of which is found to be correlated with an average male's age.
If 'Boti' is gross, then on behalf of ahl-e-zuban, I declare the Urdu language full of filth.
Perhaps you guys would prefer something like what the gentleman Nawab asked a courtesan in classical Urdu;
"kya aap hamain apnay gulshan-e-ismat ki khosha cheeni ki ijazat marahamat farmain gi?"
Well heres what I know from where I come from… Northern Pakistan.
Phoond refers to Dung beetle Phoondi is the femminine term for it… I guess it’s a slang word also used to describe someone who delves in dirt… Now for heavens sake guys grow up!
As for Tharki as far as I know that refers to what many would call eagerness or persuit. When our elders used to say such and such a person is very “tharki” towards something it typically meant he was into something in particular for example a guy good be Tharki for Addiddas boots, or a new car or just about anything… another word you could use is Showkee. I guess in English we would have said someone is “keen” in sports for example.
Language and slang in particular is just so exploited!
Now run along children and stop calling each other dung beetles for you all play in it as much as I do!
I think each pakistani punjabi and urdu speaker knows pondi and tharki means. :@:
In Uk, I have seen punjabi , urdu, meerpuri people using this tharki word a lot. :D
Poondi is bunch of guys (usually) going out, driving around, having fun [BY HOVERING AROUND GIRLS AND CHASING THEM/FOLLOWING THEM WITHOUT PHYSICAL OBSTRUCTION]
There are various classifications of poonds and their poondi philosophy and practices…ranging from mild occasional stare to full creepy stalkers…but that discussion would derail the thread…i think kakaballi’s and my post make it clear
Used to refer sarcastically to a self righteous, holier than thou person. Like “Tu konsa koi bara Haji Sanaullah hai”, or “bari ayi Haji Sanaullah ki beti”. No origin that I know of, the term just caught on I guess.