Do you celebrate Thanksgiving? If so, what do you do? and most importantly…what do you cook? ![]()
Re: Thanksgiving
it is more like family gathering and good meal but not turkey. :@:
Its a fun meal and a day off for everyone. I LOVE Thanksgiving dinners!!!
I don't think any of us really like turkey so we don't make it. We roast whole chickens instead.
What we do make is everything else...
Stuffing (I am looking for a new recipe this year)
Roasted/mashed potatoes
Veggies like corn/asparagus/peas
Cornbread
Dessert (varies from year to year)
Nope, don't celebrate it at all.
I love Thanksgiving Sales lol…i celebrate thanksgiving by pampering myself with shopping ![]()
I think it was only once we roasted a turkey.....I don't like it as I find it saltier and drier than chicken.
Usually we make baked chicken or some other dish (biryani or nihari, etc).....but it's not because we're celebrating Thanksgiving....but rather because my dad usually enjoys cooking on breaks and weekends.
Im sad the UK doesnt have thanks giving!
I think it was only once we roasted a turkey.....I don't like it as I find it saltier and drier than chicken.
Usually we make baked chicken or some other dish (biryani or nihari, etc).....but it's not because we're celebrating Thanksgiving....but rather because my dad usually enjoys cooking on breaks and weekends.
Turkey is hard to make RV...it just doesn't taste right unless you really know what you're doing. And let's face it, desi people don't cook turkey.
u bhi hamari hi category ki ho. ![]()
Im sad the UK doesnt have thanks giving!
thanksgiving is one word :@:
pata nahi ager app logon nay celebrate karna shor kardi to turkey kay bajye mughi rakhain gain. :@:
j/k
Turkey is hard to make RV...it just doesn't taste right unless you really know what you're doing. And let's face it, desi people don't cook turkey.
I've had non-desi turkey too. Just not a fan of turkey. It's not horrible...I just like the texture and taste of chicken better.
well i plan on having a nice "traditional" thanksgivnig dinner, I won't be making turkeY (hubby hates it and although I like eating it I don't want to make it either) so im thinking a whole roast chicken (recipes if anyhone has any) mash potatoes, gravy, stuffing, and something else... any recipes for roast chicken are welcome!
pleej invite me, i like roast chicken. :@:
Actually STA at christmas time here the whole country eats turkey!
Also according to many sources Thanksgiving is a european tradition bought over to the states and just discovered its our harvest festival, although we dont get a holiday ![]()
Thanksgiving (Canada) - Wikipedia - celebrates and englishman arriving in canada
Thanksgiving (United States) - Wikipedia - european harvest festival traditions etc
Also according to many sources Thanksgiving is a european tradition bought over to the states and just discovered its our harvest festival, although we dont get a holiday :(
i know it, but we american are crazy to celebrate each and every European tradition. :@:
I should move to the states. you guys seem to have a holiday every other weeknd
you are most welcome.
Thanksgiving is HUGE in my family!! It’s all about food & football!!! We do the whole spread: turkey & roast chickens…mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, mac 'n cheese, stuffing, salads (this year im introducing a warm wild rice salad i got off of foodnetwork.com) dinner rolls, and 3-4 different pies..and the number one rule is that for this particular day of the year, no desi khaana!!! It’s planned, orchestrated, set up and cooked by us ABCD’s ![]()