Texting

Re: Texting

story of my lyffff. I'll send a message and theyll see it but no reply. When i get messages i tend to reply straight away like i cannot be bothered to reply later. Thats effort to remember. Like whats so important that you cant reply there and then? (unless driving) but yeah itll just take a measly 2 secs. so annoyingggg! espeically the fact that nowadays, phones might as well be a part of the hand, because we always have them there.

Just because of such features, I only use the good old stock sms app. Whether I have read a text or not remains my own little secret.

^ You can always de-activate these features on these apps.

I never understood this.

Who cares if someone sees the last time you were on? Or if you’ve read their message or not?

Why does it matter?

Everyone has their own life. I’m sure even if this person isn’t working on the weekend they are doing things they can’t do during the week.

I often check messages sent just to clear the annoying notification. And when I have a second, I’ll go back and reply.

Also, if you’re getting to know someone or not. No one owes you anything. Just like they shouldn’t expect you to reply immediately, you shouldn’t do the same either. (I don’t mean just you PCG. More of a general statement)

Texting is much easier than talking on the phone simply because the sender can send a message at their convince. You don’t have to plan a set time for when a proper phone call would fit both schedules. :k:

That's the thing. Sometimes if I don't hear from a guy for 1-2 days, I'll send a hello how are you, how's your weekend going text message. Then nothing. I might even see they've read it but still nothing.

Comon man, if you're at a point where you're telling me you're 1) interested 2) told your family about me 3) showed them my pics and 4) you're trying to set up a meeting 5) you've already met me 6) you told me you want to move things forward, that you see something positive...

then you don't talk to me for 1-2 days, then I say hello, you take a look at your text and no response???

Oh em gee, then I'll ask them, hey so how was your weekend, what did you do? (because they certainly did not talk to me) - oh nothing special, same old, hung out with family (when you know when they're interested, even in family presense they will call/text).

I dunno, it's just frustrating. People can figure out you're actually not interested, when you aren't communicating. So stop the crap, and stop wasting time.

If you are not willing to give them benefit of doubt, look at it this way:

If you can figure out that they are not interested, why bother? why burn your blood, energy and spare thoughts for such people?

Pcg, it's better to find out that they're not interested in the beginning as it saves time. If the person goes MIA or cold after you've developed a friendship...it hurts more.

Hmmm...

Pcg....while saying, "Hello" and enquiring about his day is polite ...but polite is trite. It's a mundane text. It doesn't quite compel the other person to respond...other than out of courtesy. It doesn't make one think or wonder, it doesn't illicit a chuckle, it's not playful. It will either yield a courteous variation of "Fine. How are you?" or silence. And you don't need to actively seek the guy out...let him work for it too...cuz he should...and he would....if he cares enough.

Agreed. Fine and you? Is such a conversation killer. I dread phone calls and texts that have people on the other end who say they want to talk but leave the conversation direction upto me and I'm left wondering bhai call kyun kya, I was having more fun doing something else. Like I've had legit blank spaces in convo when people call up and keep asking how am I, what I did today and I literally can only think of saying aaj main nay fry ki jaga omelette khaya as the only notable thing. The person initiating contact really needs to be more proactive and make their convo less mundane idle chitchat. I only text when I remember something of their likes and dislikes like if I see their favourite book being adapted into a movie or had food they recommended or just to tell them that I was thinking of them (a better alternative to how are you though you can still word it better to make it less chummy chummy).

But then even fine. Shouldn't take time to text even if they take time to find something more wittier to say. Not replying at all is rude.

Ok let's not take it so far. After hi / wuts up, I am good at conversation. That's why they always get hooked and want to meet me. Carrying conversation is not a problem. even if I say something interesting or I ask they call me when they get a chance to discuss making plans to meet etc (they're the ones saying they want to meet and to let them know dates) I still get ignored over 3 days. I know the guy is not working and his weekend is off. Why not just text back and say sure we can talk x day x time?

One guy I asked what he was doing on the weekend he didn't reply to me. He says meditation.

What??

While weekend really?

one of my biggest pet peeves with replying to texts is when you are with that particular person who is always slow in replying, that person is constatnly checking/sendingmessages (to others) when they are with YOU, however when they are not with you, they ignore you.

clearly that means you aren’t that important like those others who get replies regularly. this has happened with friends, cousins, guys etc etc. yet when confronted you get the lame “oh I was busy” type excuse.

which brings me to the number one lamest excuse EVER. “I am busy” makes me want to :pullhair: and then :2guns:

you can be busy for a few minutes, a few hours.. but days on end?! um no. especailly when you don’t message/call/somehow contact me for example, 2 weeks, yet I KNOW FOR A FACT you have been on messaging apps talking to people and hanging out with others, yet finally afer that 2 week period you message me saying you were “oh so busy, sorry I didn’t talk to you”

pppppsssshhhhh

Doesn't sound uncommon. People have more free time on the weekend for exercise and meditation. They should text you back a time which is suitable for them.

You know what is worse than text messages for responses? As in for friendship or getting to know someone. Sending private messages in forums. Usually only 15-20% reply even when you wish them Eid Mubarak on awesome forums like GS few reply.

Aap ka kya khayal hai :)

I haven't done a comparison but i feel less people reply on forums to people than text messages. Even when you know they are online and posting threads. You may have sent them a private message saying Eid Mubarak or something else but they don't always reply. Even many months down the line. They may have even mentioned they received an Eid mubarak message from people yet for some reason they may never reply back to you.
I don't know. Maybe it's just me. But even if you don't know the person and they are an unknown internet stranger how long does it take to reciprocate a simple action? If you're not active and don't log in for 10 months fair enough. But if you actively post how long does it take to reply.

It is disappointing.

Meditation for a whole weekend? Ok good then you do that , when you are ready to be in an adult relationship which involves ongoing daily conversations then call me.

There is no way you can marry someone who contacts you every few days and ignores you on random weekends for whole weekends , reads your texts and forget delayed reply just doesn't even reply to any comment or question. What type of conversation will take place then after marriage?

^^How much of an emotional investment have you made in this guy? If you've developed several weeks or months worth of rapport or closeness to him then I can understand that you're hurt by his disappearance. After all, you got used to talking to him regularly and it is unsettling when he goes mute.

But if you "barely" even know this guy...if it's too soon to call him a fraaand....if he is currently just an acquaintance at best......to phir us ko seenay se lagaa k kyun apna sakoon barbaad kar rahi ho? Dafa karo usay and be grateful you recognized his flakiness much early on and before getting attached. Why insist on holding a stranger close to your heart? He can't be blamed for that...he can only be blamed for lack of courtesy.

Your recount has too many holes.

You say that you are good at conversation and after talking to you guys get hooked. You also say that after a good long discussion guys go cold.

Which one is it pcg? It sounds like guys meet you and initially they like you but then go cold. If this is a recurring pattern you may want to take special notice of how you approach these situations and maybe alter your mannerisms.

I dont want to sound mean but it sounds like you have a lot to complain about and if you carry out as much complaining with your potential suitors as you do on the forums, well theres really no mystery there..

Perhaps your message works as a trigger for him to start meditation :P

But seriously, I'd agree it is annoying when there is NO reply. At least let me know when to expect the reply!

Do you have data to back up your thesis.

I have seen your message. I would reply in about a decade.

Story of my life