Test your knowledge!

Re: Test your knowledge!

2A) Imran (AS) (Joachim) as opposed to Imran (Amram) the Levite married Hannah (Anne) both from the family of Amram. Joachim and Anne are the parents of Mary (AS).

So Imran is Arabic name of both the father and the ancestor of Mary (AS).

By the way Zachariah (AS) who took care of Mary (AS) was married to Alishba (Elizabeth) who was the sister of Anne, making Yahya (AS) and Isa (AS) second cousins, Yahya (AS) being a very junior first cousin of Maryam (AS).

A point to note that I am not clear on is whether Al-e-Imran refers to Amram the ancestor of Mary (AS) as opposed to her father.

Mashallah excellent fayax. But iam not going to consider the fifth answer since it was from google. :D

As far as i know for 12Q it is only Prophet Loot. I never heard about Prophet Noah's wife.

Yes sister fairytale you have passed but in supplementary ;) so you will be detained to next level inshallah i.e from 13Q...lol

Well, right now i don't have any questions in my brain, now its your turn try to post the toughest questions.

Psyah one more doubt regarding Bibi Maryam. I think this verse is some where around 20's. When Bibi Maryan returns home with the Infant(Jesus) then they say Oh sister of Aaron neither your father was bad nor your mother was unchast................

Aaron is Haroon. I know only one Haroon i.e brother of Prophet Moosa. After Prophet Moosa Allah send Prophet Isa. so does this verse speaks about some generations or there is one more Haroon.

Mashallah excellent fayax. But iam not going to consider the fifth answer since it was from google. :smiley: Naqal chor :snooty:

As far as i know for 12Q it is only Prophet Loot. I never heard about Prophet Noah’s wife. Yes you are right samara, so this ll be considered as wrong. as he was not sure abt the answer :snooty:

Yes sister fairytale you have passed but in supplementary :wink: so you will be detained to next level inshallah i.e from 13Q…lol .. no worries I ll beat him this time :smiley: or beat him up anytime :wink:

Well, right now i don’t have any questions in my brain, now its your turn try to post the toughest questions.

hmmmm… lets see who posts the next test :slight_smile:

Wait wait…so both of you dont know anything about prophet Nooh’s wife?

Well, lets resolve that one before we go forward.

Peace samara

Okay this is not doubtful it is quite clear. There was an ancient Mary also ... in the Bible her name is Miriam sister of Moses and Aaron. She overlooked the boy Moses when he was put in the water in the reed basket. Now all three of these siblings were believe it or not children of Amram who is Imran.

So this ancient Miriam is a daughter of Imran and the more recent Miriam is also a daughter of Imran, so out of jest the Jews call the more recent Miriam "sister of Aaron" because of her name sake. If you notice Allah (SWT) is only quoting the Jews, so Mary being sister of Aaron should not be taken literally as true, because Allah (SWT) is quoting the false jest of the Jews, which is not really false. They were using it as a means to remind Mary of her noble lineage, that by saying "O Sister of Aaron" being something similar to meaning "O you of noble descent"

Now in semetic languages we can call the direct father or the ancestor the father in the same tongue. So I'm not sure who the Qur'an is referring to when it says daughter of Imran, the father or the ancestor. It could be applicable to both.

So since there is some relations mentioned which do not mean literally the exact relation as we think of them now..there might be some contention regarding the name of her father also. Maybe?

^ Precisely !

According to what I feel is that the title Aal-e-Imran refers to the Family of Amram and Zakariyyah (AS) was also part of it. But if Imran refers to only Maryam(AS)'s father then he would not even be directly related to Zakariyyah (AS).

For this reason I am 50:50 about the name of Maryam (AS)'s actual father, because the designation in the Qur'an could be referring to her ancestor.

The name of Mary's father actually can't even be found in the current accepted Bible, but in the Bible Zakariyyah (AS) was a Levite and it can be seen from apocrapha books such as Gospel of James that Mary's father was named Joachim and he was noted as a saint a very pious man from the house of Amram. People used to associate his piety and the prophethood of Zakariyyah (AS) as to the house of Amram and under the tribe of Levi in general, who were known as the tribe of the priesthood, because most Jewish priests came from that tribe.

According to us however we refer to both the ancestor and the father of Maryam (AS) as Imran, but I think that might be out of convenience rather than anything else. It could well be that the father is really Joachim or may be still that Joachim had another name which was Imran/Amram, Allahu'alim.

^ Also remember that the family of Abu Talib can also be refered to as Aal-Imran since his real name was Imran.

Not sure about the details there.

Jazakallah psyah. It was all because of the confusion between verses 33 and 35.

Verse 33: Allah preferred Adam, Noah, and the descendents of Abraham and Imran to everybody in this world.

verse 35: Once Imran's wife said.......

I checked it out in one english Quraan and it is given in a note that Imran which is mentioned in verse 33 was the father of Moses and the one mentioned in verse no 35 is father of Mary.

So since we are 50:50 about Mary's father name, we can cancel that question. Which makes me fully PASSED in the test :D congrats to me ...thank you thank you :D

I will post the next test. Be ready students :)

edited

All right its all about Quran :

Q1 - What is meaning of word Quran?

Q2 - Where was the Quran revealed first?

Q3 - What are the other names of Quran according to Quran itself?

Q4 - How many Ayaats are there in Quran? 7776, 6676, 6666, 5556

Q5 - How many times the name of the last Prophet of Allah PBUH mentioned in Quran?

Q6 - What is the other name of Prophet Mohammed PBUH mentioned in Quran and how many times?

Q7 - On whose order the first Quran was completely compiled in one book?

Q8 - Besides the body of Pharaoh, what is that thing that is kept as an admonishing exmaple for future generations to come?

Q9 - How many years did it take for the complete revelation of Quran?

Q10 - Where was the first Surah revealed?

Q11 - What is the reason of keeping Surah Fatihah in the begining of Quran?

Q12- In which Surah of Quran Bismillah is repeated twice ?

Best of luck :)

A1 - Words of Allah

Answers to some. :(

Q1 - What is meaning of word Quran? The recitation.

Q2 - Where was the Quran revealed first? Ghaar-e-Hira

Q3 - What are the other names of Quran according to Quran itself? :(

Q4 - How many Ayaats are there in Quran? 7776, 6676, 6666, 5556
*6666 according to somewhere I read. *

Q5 - How many times the name of the last Prophet of Allah PBUH mentioned in Quran? Twice (Not sure)

Q6 - What is the other name of Prophet Mohammed PBUH mentioned in Quran and how many times? :(

Q7 - On whose order the first Quran was completely compiled in one book?** Uthman ibn Affan(R.A.). But the original order came from Hazrat Abu Bakr(R.A.) while he was khalifa on the behest of Hazrat Umer (R.A.)**

Q8 - Besides the body of Pharaoh, what is that thing that is kept as an admonishing exmaple for future generations to come? :( (I would like to know)

Q9 - How many years did it take for the complete revelation of Quran? 23 years

Q10 - Where was the first Surah revealed? Because it was the first surah revealed in its entirety first.

Q11 - What is the reason of keeping Surah Fatihah in the begining of Quran? Cause it is in every rakaat of every Salat. And also because it was the first surah revealed completely.

Q12- In which Surah of Quran Bismillah is repeated twice? An-Naml - Ant

Did I pass?

Answers to some that Fayax missed

Q6 - What is the other name of Prophet Mohammed PBUH mentioned in Quran and how many times? :( :(

Is it Ahmad (PBUH)?

^^ I answered part of that up there

Got it. JazakAllah.

You are asking me or telling me ? If you are not sure about the answer I will take it as wrong. (you know i am a strict teacher :snooty: )