Test opener for Indian tour

After the poor display (atleast in shot selection it was pathetic) of opening skills by Shoaib Malik against recently concluded England series the ever haunting question is erected once again.

Who will open with Salman Butt against the much anticipated Indian series?

I think three probables are:

Bazid Khan (technically sound and has lots of patient as well) I want him to be tried at the opening slot. Has he opened in domestic?

Yasir Hameed, could be good against Indians on our dead pitches.

Shoaib Malik, once more, as Bob might persist to give him another chance against Jaheer Bhai to hail as an opener on our pitches.

Any other prospects from domestic recently?

Re: Test opener for Indian tour

Yasir Hameed no dount and Imran Khan has also said yasir should b brought back to open!

www.dawn.com

HYDERABAD, Dec 26: Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan demanded a democratically elected cricket board established in the country on the pattern of Australia, England and India.

Imran criticised Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for putting the constitution on the back burner. He was speaking to Dawn on Sunday during a visit to Niaz Stadium.

“It is the board’s failure that it is being run on ad hoc basis which is absolutely wrong,” he said.

He said the absence of a constitution makes it easier to avoid accountability.

“The constitution ensures accountability for irregularities and transparency in affairs,” he stressed.

“There is one man show in the PCB. One man is taking all the decisions. By the way, what are the qualifications of present board officials who are working on ad hoc basis,” he asked.

The PCB would be powerful only when it had elected officials.

Imran underscored the need for a bowling coach and described Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Aaqib Javed as the best choices.

Pakistan also needed a strong opening pair and Yasir Hameed should be back in the team which was certain to run into problems during its England tour next year. He was, however, against frequent changes in the squad.

He saw Pakistan as favourites in the forthcoming home series against India provided there were no injuries and said the skipper Inzamamul Haq and Shoaib Akhtar were a match-winning pair.

Imran said the weather should favour fast bowlers in the forthcoming series. “The last time when India visited it was summer in April and now it is winter in January, which will benefit our bowlers,” he observed.

He said India must play in Karachi after the ODI against England proved that conditions were quite satisfactory in the city.

“Mohammad Sami is a world class bowler but he needs some guidance. I will guide him in the training camp in Lahore soon,” he said.

He deplored the condition of Niaz Stadium which was recently used as a marriage lawn for the wedding ceremony of daughter of senior health official Hadi Bux Jatoi and son of federal minister for water and power Liaquat Jatoi.

He backed the proposal that PCB should take over the stadium which was the cricket capital of interior Sindh. “The ground needs to be developed as a Test centre once again,” he said.

Before going into this discussion, there will be another dilemma. Abbul Razzaq. Where are we going to fit him?
Lets suppose we have Butt with another opener (XYZ), followed by Younis, Yousuf and Inzi. We would also have Shoaib Akhtar, Kaneria, Afridi,Kamran akmal in the side. This will leave only 2 spots in the side with plenty of contenders. Malik, Razzak and Rana/sami/Gul/Asif. Among these , Rana and Razzak are likely to be included in the final 11.
Now if chacha woolmer wants, he can either play malik as our XYZ opener and I will be really mad:mad: or play someone else and I will be happy:)
Now for your question Smooth bhai. I would like to see either Bazid Khan or faisal Iqbal along with Butt.

There is another player, I think he was included in probables list against England.... Rafatullah Mohmand (?), he has performed wonderfully in domestic, not for just one season, but many many seasons I blv, but then this is a "high profile" series, so a newbie may not get a chance unless we run into one more chance of 'experiment' like 5th ODI against Eng ;) . Has Afridi really turned out possibility of opening in Tests (i.e. what we heard when Pak toured Ind)?

Oh please, no Afridi at opening slot. May be in second innings in special conditions as there was this year in India. He is sort of a player who can be sent in at any number when you need quick damage (for either side :p) to be made. So keep it at No. 6, yes 6 not 7.

I will say it for the umpteenth time that Razzaq has no place in Test team. He should not be included in the probables even.

fkhan yeah Bazid and Faisal Iqbal (for my surprise) have been doing wonders on consistant basis in domestic lately. But as Khan Sahab’s vote has gone for Hameed, its probably be him then :konfused: wese he was not that bad when India toured Pak. But he pisses masses off by getting out in a similar fashion everytime. Atleast give a variety to the public you moron :stuck_out_tongue:

Rafatullah? Stats plz. Also does he has parchi or Woolmar brought him on nets in October?

For the bowling, I will play either Asif or Umer Gul for Razzaq.

Butt
Bazid
younis (I really like to see Malik on this spot)
Yousuf
Inzi
Afridi
Kamran
Akhtar
Sami ( I would drop him for any of Asif/Umer though)
Asif/Umer
Kaneria

And for god’s sake no Arshad Khan please!

*Kamran Akmal *! Why look else where when this young keeper has demoed all the panache' and elegance of a classic opener. I'm sure the coach & co. are working on his endurance and mental techniques for longer innings to be one of the most elegant and prolific opening batsman around.

Being a new comer himself, not only did he avail all opportunities thrown at him
But he actually struck hard and deep in every ones mind both locally and abroad.

He's the man for opening spot, One should worry about the other end though.

I would give Yasir another chance. He is a complete batsman...mostly gets out on fancy shots. I agree Malik should play instead of Younis.

Bowling wins matches...I hope Pakistan doesn't fall for allrounders in the test matches. From bowling perspective, Afridi, Razzaq and Shoaib malik are not going to make any impact on this series. Rana, Akhtar, Kaneria and Sami should play all matches...plus a fifth bowler (Umer / Asif).

I would say give another chance to Shoaib Malik, hold on to your daggers for a minute. All the openers tried in the past were good, with the exception of Afridi (pakka pathan hai woh :smack2:) The problem is that they were not given a long run; atleast 10-15 test or more in one go. and therefore they couldn’t get one partnership of opening pair.

Right now we only have one opener (Riffat-ullah) but I dont think so Inzi like to draw fresh blood in such a pressure series. If Shoaib is not given a chance then I think Yasir Hameed is the closest contender for the task.

we need an opener who can play at home and play well away as well, traditionally Pakistani openers dont do well away. but there is nothing traditional about this team. :k:

bottom line is who ever is picked should be given a proper chance. regardless of pressure series playing @ home or away.

^^ Raniy bhai we are talking about test, nikkay ki jaan lay ga kiya :stuck_out_tongue: His first job is to stay fit behind the wickets, as a wicket keeper :k:

Chacha Woolmer, plz plz plz no malik in the squad and keep afridi in the late middle order.
I don't think Kamran Akmal as an opener is a bad idea. Infact this will allow Pakistan to put an extra allrounder or bowler in the squad

This team could be an interesting and I think a balance combination.

Butt
Kamran
Younis
Yousuf
Inzi
Afridi
Razzak
Akhtar
Naveed
Gul
kaneria

If Kamran cant open than I guess its about time that Younis should be tried as an opener.

You want to kick out Younis Khan out of our test side Fayz bhai, am I reading this right!? And fkhan2, your problem of fitting Razzaq into the team won’t apply because Afridi has stolen his position from the test side. Quite frankly, Razzaq does not deserve to be in the test side.

yea amazing, how after 1 series where younis didnt get a century people want him outta team, like i said b4 and am saying again, he will shut u peoples mouth again! and yes razzaq will/should handle 12th man duties since afridi has taken over his spot in tets! also razzaqs bowling isnt as penetrative for test matches!

________cvabn_____

Exactly fkhan2!

Acrobi123,, Bhai ,, We have to think outside the 'bun' for a minute. The injuries are always a possibility but should not be taken as deterrent to an opportunity.
Aussies certainly don't think on those lines with Gilchrist.

Truly! If Kamran can work on his endurance and techniques,,, He would be a force to reckon with.
I guarantee it,,,!

Gosh! Kamran played every shot in the book with ease and grace (except for few hiccups and who don't get those?) I enjoyed his batting & keeping tremendously.

On the contrary Pak should avoid Afridi for test matches and should scout for another all rounder at spot 4 or 5

--------------cvabn-------------

Good thing you did’nt use the ‘Q’ word or ‘F’ or ‘P’ for that matter, Other wise smoothy bhai would again point his speed gun at any bowling suggestions, :smiley:

wats ur official sig. for coming series.:smiley: and wat sud be mine:blush:

Give your 11 member team and than we will discuss on that:D
In my opinion you have used strong words by saying that he doesn’t deserve to be in the test side considering that we have seen shoaib malik as part of the squad lately. And what about Mohammad sami???

There is no consistent opening player available and Malik must play as opener in Tests. If we need a chage (from available options) then Yasser is a better choice. Imran Farhat is past and he can be brouht against teams like Zimbabwe (if it is necessary). Baazid Khan makes it to the team on behalf of his father, otherwise Yasser Hameed is much better player than him.

There is a good combination of Boys and that must go on. Changing Malik is as stupid as adding a new opener instead of Younis Khan and sending Malik at no.3 (in Tests).

*My side:

Shoaib Malik/Yasir Hameed
Salman Butt
Younis Khan
Yousuf
Inzamam
Shahid Afridi
Kamran Akmal
Rana Naved-ul-Hassan
Shoaib Akhtar
Sami/Gul/Any seamer
Kaneria

Malik was chosen for his batting, not for his pie throwing in Razzaq style! Afridi has been a wicket taker in tests recently, and thus Razzaq cannot replace him either.*

Nothing wrong in this side except that shoaib malik has no spot in the test squad. Plus I think they are still not ready to drop razzak, but its my opinion, you never know with PCB.
As far as razzak replacing afridi, I don't think there is any player currently who can replace afridi in the ODI or test side. I have said that before as well and will say it again. Shahid Afridi has been Pakistan's cricketer of the year 2005 along with inzamam. It was a big mistake dropping him from the side in the 1st test against England. I don't know what PCB was smoking when they made that decision.

…and including Hasan Raza (a constant failure at international level) in place of Asim Kamal.