Test captain Afridi: Imran, Akram, Sarfraz & Qadir endorse; Zaheer & Aamir disapprove

Nice to know that..

okay, so maybe Zaheer was better than Yousuf and Inzi. waleedhbk and I will give you that one.

but Afridi is better than Zaheer, Yousuf and Inzi combined. and that is a fact!!! chew on that you haters.

this thread can be closed now.

re: Test captain Afridi: Imran, Akram, Sarfraz & Qadir endorse; Zaheer & Aamir disapprove

when did i say Afridi is better than zaheer n others

re: Test captain Afridi: Imran, Akram, Sarfraz & Qadir endorse; Zaheer & Aamir disapprove

Sarfaraz Nawaz has endorsed Afridi :dhimpak:

completely agree with you. this really is an all-time low for Pakistan. I thought the matchfixing scandal was bad. but this is equally bad if not worse.

sad but have to agree with everything that you said....I have been saying this for a while…… Pakistani cricket is nothing but crap consisted of idiots....players, administrators, coaches sub kay sub jahil hain…. ijaz butt is now hugging younis and saying great things abt him....well why the hell you guys banned him 2 month ago Mr. Chairman?……what an idiot....

i agree 100% that cricinfo should have an entertainment section where paki news should be posted…no one shd take Pakistani cricket serious anymore...a good performance here and there does not matter because the fact of the matter is that Pakistani team/administration is bringing bad name to the cricket and the whole cricket fraternity need to look at it…

from match fixing to underperforming deliberately to legal battles to public feuds..and the list simply goes on… specially “underperforming deliberately” is a very serious issue because by doing so, the Pakistani team is essentially jeopardizing the opponent team’s performance record as well and that is not fair...ICC should do somehting about it now that some of our players have admitted underperforming on purpose..

And don't be too surprised if the same Ijaz 'BUTT' publicly criticises Afridi after yet another test debacle (as is widely expected)

PCB administration is a complete farce. And I have never known a Pakistani team so unprofessional as the current one?

one more thing....this whole age saga is also little frustrating and shows our character….afridi has publically admitted that he is 3-4 years older…he also said “sub kartay hain”…..lanat ha….why do you have this beard then?….not so long ago our great skipper younis khan ended up revealing his real age while announcing his retirement from T-20…to everyone’s astonishment, khan sahib said in the press conference that it is hard to play T20 at age of 34/35 …..what? khan sahib forgot that his cricinfo profile indicated his age to be 30!!! And this new londa Mohammad Aamir who claims to be 18 is at least 22 par his mohallay-daars…and janab abdul razaq is only 30!!!…………who knows how old malulana yousaf sahib is???

Afridi says won’t tolerate politics in team :dhimpak:

Captain Shahid Afridi said that politics in the team would not be tolerated and those making dressing room atmosphere dirty would be kicked out.

In an exclusive interview with Geo News, Shahid Afridi said that he cannot forcibly bring Mohammad Yousuf into the cricket ground but the team badly needs him.

Regarding Younis Khan, the captain said that his presence on the tour of England may be useful.

Replying to former cricketers’ criticism on him, Afridi said that the former cricketers are good persons and it would be better if they encourage the players rather than criticize them.

Geo News: Latest News Breaking, Live Videos, World, Entertainment, Royal

lol this is funny coming from Afridi since he himself has been known to harbour captaincy ambitions for sometime. Shahid Afridi was very much part of groupbaazi against Younus Khan in the past. He is as guilty as the other seven players who revolted against Younus

Osman Samiuddin:
“Under Younis, up to eight players met to take an oath of allegiance to not play under Younis. Nothing better captures the stench of these men than this, a quasi-official act of loyalty in the ultimate cause of disloyalty”

courtesy Captain1

laughable. Afridi talking about not tolerating conspiracies. kiss my chaddis. Shahid Bradman Afridi is THE biggest politician and conspirator in the team. he plays games with everyone.

he couldn't shut up about wanting the captaincy after the 2007 world cup. it went to Malik. he still wouldn't shut up. then he said okay fine... make Malik the captain but the vice captain should be a senior aka me me me... denied again. Asif/Misbah, etc were made vice captain. he continued his public campaign to become captain. then, he and several others underperformed to a degree that put immense pressure on Malik and then refused to play under him (Aamir Sohail was part of the meeting where the PCB officials said that 5-6 players had rebelled against Malik) leading to Malik's removal. then, Younis becomes captain and Afridi vice captain. of course, another rebellion follows. Younis resigns, comes back and does a press conference with Afridi in which they said they've talked through their issues (there were issues?), buried the hatchet (there was a hatchet?) and all is well (why wasn't it well to begin with). eventually Younis quits again. news comes out that several players swore to remove Younis from captaincy. Afridi was one of them. Yousuf becomes captain. sits out or is made to sit out the last ODI match. Afridi captains and gets banned for trying to eat the ball. recommends that Malik captain in his absence. in front of the committee, he goes and says that Yousuf is a weak captain who cannot make decisions and says Malik is two-faced and he's told him that he will drop him from the team. got it. so, Malik was good enough to captain the team while he was out but otherwise he should be dropped. did I understand that one?

is there any head or tail to this man's two-faced verbal diarrhea? he is after Sarfraz Nawaz and Saleem Malik the worst thing to have happened to Pak cricket.

welcome to the dark side.

fanboys, now you can attack him as well for disrespecting your idol - the great Shahid Bradman Afridi.

Both YK and Yu will play and Pakistan will save a test or two in coming tours. Don't have any hopes of winning on seaming wickets with the likes of flop Misbahs and jaldbaaz Umar Akmal in the middle order.

I never thought that Pakistan Cricket Team will be in such a crisis :nahi:

very strict management is required for these un controlled politician cricketers.

Samb: Their is consensus amongst former and current cricketers that the worst politician in the team is/was Malik the great. So please do not let your hate for Afridi and love for Malik cloud your judgement.

Having said that, I cant deny either that Afridi was part of the losers who took oath on Quran to unite against then captain. That was probably the lowest thing I have read about our cricketers. I have heard justifications from Malik that the oath was taken to unite 'if a player is dropped without reasons'. How can you do that either.

Every player harbors hopes of captaining their country. And this is not a crime

I hope that last few months have taught Pakistani players a lesson that no one is bigger than the game.

I appreciate Afridi's efforts to bring Shoaib Akhtar, MoYo and YK back in the fold for the good of the team. It can be argued that a better performance from all these players will earn his captaincy plaudits and ensure a longer stay in hot seat.... but Shoaib Malik could have done the same when he was made captain but he did not do that either.

I do not hope a miracle in England. What I hope for is a unified effort, resilience and fight from our team.

Give Afridi time, says Imran Khan](http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/461198.html)

**Former Pakistan captain Imran Khan has come out in support of Shahid Afridi, saying the allrounder should be given a long run as captain to avoid the destabilising effect of frequent changes at the top. **
“Since I retired in 1992, Australia has had only three captains while Pakistan has had more than two dozen and that is why there is a big difference between Pakistan and Australia,” Imran told AFP.
According to Imran, Afridi was the logical choice to lead Pakistan as he is already the Twenty20 captain. **“Who else if not Afridi?” Imran said. “I think if they had made anyone else captain, problems would surely have persisted, so I think Afridi was the best choice available.” **
Imran said Afridi has to be given time if he is to develop into a good leader. "Afridi has been leading the team well in the Twenty20 format. A good captain should be brave, can handle pressure and should have the respect of the team, so let us give Afridi some time to settle and then judge him.
“You can never predict about him as a Test player and a captain until you give him a chance. If he was not playing Tests and now he intends to play, then maybe with responsibility he performs better.”
Pakistan’s current captaincy crisis was precipitated by Younis Khan’s resignation and the sacking of Mohammad Yousuf. The PCB then appointed Afridi to lead the team during the World Twenty20 and earlier this week made him captain for the Asia Cup next month and the subsequent tour to England.
Khan also said he is in favour of having having one captain for all formats of the game. “Cricket is the only sport where you need able leadership and if a captain is successful in one format he could be successful in all three.”

Although I still have reservations about Afridi as test captain, this statement of Imran’s should help silence his critics (notably Sarfraz) who have often accused Imran of being anti everything in the past

‘PCB has no choice’ - Former players’ reaction](http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/460991.html)

“I feel Afridi is the right choice for Pakistan. Although he is fit to lead in one-dayers and T20s, I have my doubts in Tests. But right now, PCB has no choice. They are short on options.”
Wasim Akram says the appointment makes sense in a who-is-the-alternative kind of way

“Afridi has the quality to unite the team. But he will have to work for it.”
Iqbal Qasim, who stepped down as Pakistan’s chief selector after the disastrous tour of Australia, thinks Afridi is the right man

“I think the board should have done this much earlier. I don’t know why they delayed it. I would also urge the PCB to name Salman Butt as vice-captain for the Asia Cup and England tour.”
Afridi gets support from former legspinner Abdul Qadir, a man who was Pakistan’s chief selector less than a year ago

“I think Afridi can follow in the footsteps of Imran Khan, who not only united the team in the 1980s and 90s but also won a lot of matches for the country.”
Yet another former chief selector, Salahuddin Ahmed, is even more enthusiastic about the selection

“It is a strange decision and one that could badly backfire because Afridi has not been a regular Test player and his last Test was in 2006. So how can the board give him the captaincy for two very tough series against Australia and England.”
Former captain Zaheer Abbas is among the minority questioning the elevation of Afridi

“The board has taken its decision but it is a debatable one. It is a big gamble. I think Shahid will be really tested in England as he has been out of the Test side for four years now.”
Aamer Sohail is another of the sceptics

I think Afirdi will be removed or will transfer his captaincy to Younis in the middle of England tour. He just does not have the intellect or temperament to go face to face with Ricky Pointing.

We were told of the same "may be with responsibility he will perform better" before the T20 World Cup, we all know what happened. And now we have same "may be" for upcoming Test series. Umeed pe dunya qaim hay.

pe-wasta rah shajar se umeed-e-bahaar rakh

jab ye shajar (Afridi) hi saraa howa ho to kia karayn?