Test cap has become cheap, says Intikhab

**Test cap has become cheap, says Intikhab **

By Our Special Correspondent

MULTAN, Sept 3: It seems that there is scant respect for the coveted national cap in Pakistan after three more players on Wednesday were bestowed the title of Test cricketers.

At least two of the selections took everyone by surprise when the team were named before the start of the third and final Test against Bangladesh.

Taufiq Umar was officially declared to be “unfit” with a knee injury the day before the match got under way to enable Salman Butt to access the now easily available Test cap.

The other major shock was the inclusion of relatively unknown Yasir Ali. Yasir who hails from the Hazro area of Attock in the NWFP, toured South Africa with the Pakistan Academy squad last month and picked up five wickets in the second four-day game at Centurion.

According to insiders, both Salman and Yasir owe their Test caps to some very influential personalities who clouted their influence to have them included in the team.

Gone are the days when the word “merit” was at least, given some priority. But now any Tom, Dick and Harry in this country with the right connections can don the green cap.

What was the justification of playing Yasir here when there are many more deserving pace bowlers who have performed with distinction at the domestic level. The likes of Jaffar Nazir, Fazle Akbar, Abdul Rauf, Najaf Shah, Zahid Saeed, Fahad Masood have been doing well in recent seasons.

The policy adopted by the current five-man selection committee, headed by Aamir Sohail, lacks consistency. One prime example of this inconsistency is despite being in the 15-man squad all throughout the series, left arm fast bowler Mohammad Khalil was overlooked. Nobody will be surprised if the young man is discarded by the selectors in favour of another “sifarishi” just to appease someone.

**Former Pakistan captain Intikhab Alam was critical of the PCB’s selection policy. “If Khalil is not worthy of being Test material then why was he retained in the squad in the first place,” he questioned. “These days the Pakistan cap has become cheap any anyone can get one without aspiring for it,” declared Intikhab. **

Intikhab further says: “In our time in the 1970s the cap was earned after years of performance but now you score a hundred and you are in the Test or one-day side.” But even then there’s seems to be no end to the menace of this culture of favouritism. It is quite apparent that Salman and Farhan Adil, the third debutant in the Multan Test, were played in a call of truce between certain individuals within the team setup.

Farhan, the 25-year-old right-handed batsman who had been with the squad since the first Test at Karachi, was elevated at the expense of Pakistan vice-captain Yousuf Youhana. Youhana thus missed out a last chance for a long innings that would have been an ideal preparation for the South African series.

Salman, the ex-junior Pakistan captain, may have scored runs aplenty against South Africa Academy, but there was no way he could have come in the Test XI in place of Taufiq Umar. Taufiq, one of the few finds in the last 24 months, needs much required practice ahead of the tough South Africa Tests.

A couple of days ago, Salman praised both PCB chief Lt Gen Tauqir Zia and Aamir Sohail in an interview. “I salute General Sahib for setting up the national academy which has made careers of players like me and I also salute Aamir Sohail for his backing.”

**Since the present setup took over the reins of PCB on Dec 15, 1999, 21 players have been awarded caps in 32 Tests. And of this lot, only pacer Mohammad Sami, batsmen Younis Khan and Taufiq Umer and leg-spinner Danish Kaneria have managed to make an impression. **

http://www.dawn.com/2003/09/04/spt6.htm

Although there are too many test caps given these days from Pakistan side but again Pakistan is in the process of rebuilding the team. Once the team has settled down there will be no (or very little) chance for the youngster to make their place in the team. Just like in early 90s there were very few caps given.

Whoever is out of the power criticize other ppl who is in the power and Intekhab Alam is no exception to this.

I think there is a very valid issue about Mohd Khalil and how Salman Butt and the othe guy where not even in the list and now are in the team.

This is the typical garbage that will always hold us back.

I'd tend to second the opinions in original post.

Frequent inclusion of unknown faces at the top most level of game means nepotism, inconsistent policies and poor planning.

Re: Test cap has become cheap, says Intikhab

What does this say about the selection process and the selectors and the performance of these selectors ?

What is the percentage of them getting it right ? Can I also be a selector ? I will make sure we have a player making a debut each test.

*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *
Although there are too many test caps given these days from Pakistan side but again Pakistan is in the process of rebuilding the team. Once the team has settled down there will be no (or very little) chance for the youngster to make their place in the team. Just like in early 90s there were very few caps given.

Whoever is out of the power criticize other ppl who is in the power and Intekhab Alam is no exception to this.

rebuilding process is nearing to an end. Is there any major find or any improvement. I don't see it. This "rebulding process" will go on for years!

Man..It's time to get reloaded and enough with cheap "talented" players..

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *

** Is there any major find or any improvement. I don't see it.**

I reckon atleast Yasir Hamid, Shabbir and Umer gul as major finds for pakistan, if You dont see THIS, i wonder you will ever notice some major changes.

He is same mister Intikhab alam who said that whole team needs to be changed immedaitely after the WC. What does HE want?? I bet he wont be happy if we stick to a player who doesnt perform.

Its time to stay quite and no need to show a live demonstration of 'sour grapes' idiom, Mr Inti.

*Originally posted by saby: *
He is same mister Intikhab alam who said that whole team needs to be changed immedaitely after the WC. What does HE want?? I bet he wont be happy if we stick to a player who doesnt perform.

Its time to stay quite and no need to show a live demonstration of 'sour grapes' idiom, Mr Inti.

Well I have to agree with Intikhab Alam.
When gaining test cap, you need to prove yourselve by doing well in other forms of cricket and you have to do it consistently.
I just can't stand the fact that just because Salman Butt scored 200 runs against a 3rd rate local side doesn't mean you should immediatley be brought into the test team.
What was wrong with Saeed Bin Nasir, he was on the sidelines for 1st 2 test and was dropped for 3rd test without any reasons.

*Originally posted by saby: *

I reckon atleast Yasir Hamid, Shabbir and Umer gul as major finds for pakistan, if You dont see THIS, i wonder you will ever notice some major changes.

Too right. Some people just want to moan for the sake of it. Pakistan is in the process of re-building, how the hell can you do that without trying new players?

Its too early to say that Yasir Hamid is a great find. No offense Saby but Yasir only played well in the first test. He didnt build on the confidense he got after the first test. He failed to score when it mattered in both the remaining tests. I am not saying we should right him off but he will have to work hard. We dont need players performing well once in a while. What we really need is consistency in peformance by our youngsters. The all too familiar batting collaspe need to come to an end. I agree it happens to every time when the whole batting collapses but its been happening to us with an alarming regularity.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

Well I have to agree with Intikhab Alam.
When gaining test cap, you need to prove yourselve by doing well in other forms of cricket and you have to do it consistently.
I just can't stand the fact that just because Salman Butt scored 200 runs against a 3rd rate local side doesn't mean you should immediatley be brought into the test team.
What was wrong with Saeed Bin Nasir, he was on the sidelines for 1st 2 test and was dropped for 3rd test without any reasons.

Saeed Bin Nasir is a middle order batsman and there is a diorect competition with Farhan Adil. With Younis khan coming back, one of them had to go. The only place where Saeed Bin Nasir could play is an opener and this management is making sure that every player plays at a position where he belongs. Unlike in the past when Shoab Malik and Razzaq used to float everywhere in the batting order. Now thats a sane move. I know Saeed bin Nasir is a deservign player and i hope to see him in the field but right now, middle order is full.

To my knowledge Nasir is a 1 down batsman and the difference between being an opener and 3rd batsman is not very much in the Pakistani team, though Yasir Hameed has done a decent job at #3 but Nasir could have opened along with Hafeez

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
Its too early to say that Yasir Hamid is a great find. No offense Saby but Yasir only played well in the first test. He didnt build on the confidense he got after the first test. He failed to score when it mattered in both the remaining tests. I am not saying we should right him off but he will have to work hard. We dont need players performing well once in a while. What we really need is consistency in peformance by our youngsters. The all too familiar batting collaspe need to come to an end. I agree it happens to every time when the whole batting collapses but its been happening to us with an alarming regularity.

i m dubbing Yasir Hameed as a great find just on the attitude he shows towards his batting i.e positive footwork, aggressive intent. His shot slection will improve with time insha'allah. Yes he has to bluild on it and i have mentioned that in Series thread. But atleast he has the attitude right.

Yes i long to see the day when there arent this frequent batting collapses. aur ahi baat consitency ki , aapke seniors abhi tuk consistent nai hain aur aap aik series main juniors se expect ker rahay ho ke woh consistent ho jaayain.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
To my knowledge Nasir is a 1 down batsman and the difference between being an opener and 3rd batsman is not very much in the Pakistani team, though Yasir Hameed has done a decent job at #3 but Nasir could have opened along with Hafeez

PCB must get their act together and come up with a more competitive team. Domestic Cricket so far hasn’t been able to produce a solid batsman, and those who really deserve to me in the National Squad are being over looked by PCB. Saeed bin Nazir is the most consistent player in domestic cricket and he deserves to be in the team.
Why Hasan Raza & Saeed bin Nazir has been ignored? In recent tournaments Misbah was part of the squad but was not given a chance to play.

Yasir is a great find, he has shown from this initial performance that he deserves to be in the team. He is a raw talent and will learn from his mistakes. I think he may be the piece of the puzzle missing from Pakistani team.

I would like to see Yasir play @ #2 and Saeed bin Nazir @ #3

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

Too right. Some people just want to moan for the sake of it. Pakistan is in the process of re-building, how the hell can you do that without trying new players?

Ahem..It's okay I wont eat ya...you can take my name..

Umer gul abd Shabbir a mojor find? What happened to our standard..It's getting lower and lower..Allah rahem karay to our future..It will be very interesting to see how Umer gul and shabbir fare against better oppositions..ekka dukka wicket leynay say woh bhi bungladesh kay khilaf is no biggy..

As far is Yasir Hameeed is concerned it is too early to say but he is the only one that come realy close to a major find..

Rebulding process doesnt mean you just flock the whole team with newbies and crash against a team like Bungaldesh. Oh no..This is not acceptable at all.Remmebr what happened in Sharjah?.Not only it's embarrassing but it is also destroying the confidence of the whole team in perspective..

Umar Gul and Shabbir are two fine prospects. Both get the ball to lift and seam, both can make it go both ways. They will complement the sheer firepower of Sami and Gul very well. Who would you bowl in their place Sherry? Do you have anyone in mind?

i don't think many batsman will relish the thought of facing Gul and Shabbir as first change after Shoaib and Sami.