Originally posted by Anchal:
**ahaan, so next time someone wears Sari that should be haraam
oo and whats with biryani korma waghera
hindu dishes haraam haraam

Oh God, I shouldnt be sleeping, hindus sleep too **

please dont exaggerate this issue..im sure u know perfectly well that sleeping and food are different from rituals like wearing bindi...they are natural things that all of us do..as for bindi and sindoor and stuff, thats all a part of "hindu" culture. Allah does not ask of His followers what doesnt come naturally to them. As for saris, if a woman is covered properly, her midriff's not showing and she's not wearing anything too tight or revealing, its not haraam..u know that already. There's no point in complicating an issue by bring a whole new and unrelated matter into it.
If Muslims arent allowed to imitate Jews and Christians and celebrate christmas or haloween, why would the rules be any different for hindus/polytheists?

u said "Slap on a hadith that says bindis and stuff is haraam and i will think bout it"
but ur response outright rejects the hadith..u wont find specifically the word 'bindi' in a hadith..is the word 'disbeliever' not enough for u?
tell me when u wear a bindi or sindoor, people wont assume ur a hindu if they dont know you? thats called 'imitating' them..

anyway, u asked for a hadith and i posted them, there's surahs in the Quran of the same nature...how u choose to act upon them is ur choice.

~~Sure.Fine.Whatever.~~

[This message has been edited by hk (edited March 22, 2001).]

hehehehehehe

Sheraz and anarkali.. I think you two have found your other halves... how about dinner just the two of you.. hehehehehehe
this was sooo cute...

HK you always come through babe... MUAH ! ! !

HK, u are right, i’m not v. pleased

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad2.gif

by this,

why did i ever post this pic? i think i’ve learned a lesson here, i will never post a pic againn with any muslim actoress wearing a bindi, SORRY

please can u continue this religous debate some where else coz i know anchal is not going to give in and aclopne is going to continue to debate and provide evidence to this, ACLOPNE i actually agree to what u are trying to convince to anchal.

PLEASE GO AND READ THE TOP OF THE FIRST PAGE AND TO THE VERY FIRST ENTRY OF THIS THREAD/TOPIC!!!

coolmunda, I can understand your frustration however I am not to blame

first they ask the significance of a bindi, then they jump right in to a religious debate

If my family practices such traditions then its their right and choice (again out of tradition rather then relgion)
I dont understand why its eating up Alcapone

who cares if someone is wearing a bindi as a fashion accessory, or if someone wants to wear kangans to signify their marriage,
or if one chooses to wear Sindoor

Who in the world gives anyone the right to classify them as 'Hindu Stuff' and then question the Imaan

Aray baba you dont wear it, lekin agar doosra admi bindi aur sindoor laga rahay hay to let 'em

There are many hindu-ana rasams that Muslims practice religously such as Mehndi, Ubtan, Mayoon
I can bet that everyone here who is trying to present a debate, have themselves attended many such rasams and events which if seen are totally Hindu-ana

But its more of a cultural thing then a Relgion thing, isnt it

Mithi paooo ji…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

yeah..the real challenge now is to find a picture where a half-naked woman is not clinging to him

this could take me a while

Sure.Fine.Whatever.

*Slap on a hadith that says bindis and stuff is haraam and i will think bout it

ANCHAL.....think before u write....r u a muslim or not....wht do u mean by the statement above!!!!! can u pls clearly explain......
watch wht ur writin.....coz no muslim takes **** like this ..GET IT!!!!!!!

If I had two lives....I would give one to you....and i would give the other one up for you

Originally posted by ~MuNiYa~:
**Not to tread from the topic.

But what makes an Indian an Indian and a Paki a Paki... Thier culture..
So by adapting the Indian culture what exactly are we?

How many Pakistani rituals or cutural symbols do we see Indians enjoying and praising?

well Pakistani culture somewhat inherits frm the indians culture, so thats y we have similarities, as we are frm the SUB-CONTINENT, and u go down east the tradition changes gradualllly!

well i dont think that Bindiyas wagera, balke Suhagan ki Nishani is an indian culture, well its adopted frm Hinduism, n as India is know as a Hindu country thats y its in the Indian culture, warna basicallly its Hindu!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

**In my family, Indian traditions are well preserved,
we use sindoors and kangans and bindyas and Red Bangles
all Suhagan ki Nishanis
All this is even practiced among the memebers of our family that migrated to Pakistan

well no personal offences, lekin the thing is that we keeeep folllowing what are ancestors did, and am not particularly pointin on some1, well its with my mum as well, that she thinks ke what her ancestors did were rite, well ab samjhane ke baaad shes forgotten doin it, so the riwaaaaaj of the sindooooor n verythin is not rite, as they were not with enough knowledge that y they used to practice it!

well now u got access to evrythin so find out whats rite and wrong, and ANCHAL u shouldnt have slappped on Alcapone's post regardin the Hadith!

waise this is the first time i am listening that a Muslim Paki doing these rituals, humare yahan aisa to nahin hota, balke i guesss kafi jaga nahin hota!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!

so true…
man HK your too cute..
you know what try a cut and paste job ..or email them to me and I can edit and paste if you dont have time.

MUAH

Salam-

I just want to support Anchal here, cuz I think she is being attacked by most of the stubborn fanatics who are screaming rhetorical slogans instead of actually reading what Anchal is saying. She wears Bindi- I dont see anything non-islamic about wearing a bindi. She wears sari-whats non-islamic about wearing a sari.

Do you people wear Shalwar Kameez everyday when you go to work at your corporate offices? NO right. So why blame her if she is going by her family traditions when she even clearly mentioned that she is from India, like many other Pakistani mohajir people.

Do you think just because European Muslims dont wear shalwar kameez they are not muslims? I am afraid you are wrong again.

This reminds of that one time when I was in Pakistan when at this mosque I used to go to for prayers and at one Zuhr prayer the Imam caught me after the prayers and told me to wear islamic attire while in the mosque ? So he expects me to wear say Kandoora and Shafia on my head?

You think people in Bosnia, Chechnya and other European countries are any less muslims than you are cuz their appearance is not like us- The so-called carriers of a green Islamic flag?
I dont think so.

Anyway try not to mix 'culture' with 'religion'. If my mother wears sari/bindi/bangles but prays all five times. I would call her religiously and culturally educated NOT unislamic and culturally disoriented.

Khuda Hafiz

well earlier she mentioned that all this stuff wasnt Hindu culture but was Indian Culture aur issi par hi baaat ho rahi thi!

hmmmmmmmmmm..
anchal…
wearing a bindi is like wearing a cross…
if its fine with u, good luck.
and wenenver i see any woman wearing a bindi, i austomatically know shes a hindu.
so if u do wear it, DONT, cos u dont wanna b known as a hindu, or do u??
laterz.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/soldier.gif

fly like a bee, sting a like a butterfly.

So walking around with Quran in my hand will make me Muslim, Kaka?

Or doing my grocery wearing shalwar Kameez will make me believe in the unity and oneness of Allah ?

Wearing bindi is unislamic ? Since when? Who said that?

Wearing a bindi is like wearing a cross? WHAT !!!

Next thing you are going to say is not wearing ‘namaaz ki topi’ makes you think the person is christian/jew/hindu/buddhist.

It doesnt matter what YOUR perception is about the appearance of people. And what would come to your mind when you see bindi on a girl. Allah is knowledgable and he is the true judge. You are NOT judge of one’s actions. You and I can only see what we are allowed to see.

A white person wearing suit would make you think he is christian, you think Allah is looking at his suit or the brand of his suit. No, no, no.. no.
" A person is judged by his intentions and not actions" and thats a hadith.

[This message has been edited by Ghoncho (edited March 25, 2001).]

This is getting to the point where nothing makes sense

I should be wearing a tasbeeh around my head, holding a janamaz and quran in one hand and chantting Allah Allah to prove that I am a muslim

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

if the criteria isnt met darn it, a stamp of hindu will be automatically considered by thy holy

Naa thanks, dont feel the need to wear, talk,or act in a cerain way to show off

hehheeh..thanx..i’ll try that

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pretty.gif

Sure.Fine.Whatever.

OK Ghoncho..., if wearing bindi, sari, manglsutar and sindoor is Islamic, then go ahead and wear them.....

Best of luck...

/* ^You mess wid me....I mess wid U^- AlCapone *\