Tere pyar mein

hmm

it wasnt had to get rid of them but it was hard to get rid of their relign

Alcapone, true but Culture, Surroundings and Society play an important role too

Suhagan ki Nishani is Indian culture not Hindu culture, I wasnt referring to Pakistani or Islamic culture

but answering to hk's query

In my family, Indian traditions are well preserved,
we use sindoors and kangans and bindyas and Red Bangles
all Suhagan ki Nishanis
All this is even practiced among the memebers of our family that migrated to Pakistan

Acha anchal so muslims do wear or can wear Sindoor??
I love the idea, the symobolising of a lady being a suhagan, I mean chooriya and kangan, bindiyas.. any woman can wear but I thought sindoor was strictly hindu like the mangalsutra?

Ok guys dont kill me on this one, there are some hindu traditions or customs that I like - I mean nice stuff like raakhi ( for brothers and sisters) and Holi the festival of colours...

Anchal so you wear sindoor everyday ?

Not to tread from the topic.

But what makes an Indian an Indian and a Paki a Paki... Thier culture..
So by adapting the Indian culture what exactly are we?

How many Pakistani rituals or cutural symbols do we see Indians enjoying and praising?

Im sorry but I agree with Capone Bhai.

lol Mem, I hardly wear the kangans and the red bangles and naak ki keel, that i should be wearing so sindoor is door ki baat
and we do have mangalsuttars too, but we dont call em mangalsuttars, just Haars

But when i attend functions, yes I do wear

I dont know if muslims should wear sindoors waghera,
In our family some ladies do, and its more of a tradition then a religion thing

Faisal's mother migrated a few years after partition, so she dropped the sindoor
but still believes strongly in kangans, bangles and 'haar' on day to day basis

but when I got married she did have 'Shugan ki Puria' during rasams and made faisal bhar my mang with the sindoor and afshaan

Muniya, in case you didnt know I am Indian

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited March 20, 2001).]

and how can one differ Indian and Pakistani culture

After partition, muslims from india came to pakistan
hence they brought along the culture that belonged to that part of the Indo subcontinent

and hindus migrated to India from pakistan
so they took a part of the culture which belonged to this part

If you take religion out, our cultures are almost the same

This hatred just because hindus live on the other side and muslims live on the other side is unwise and uncalled for

Nothing wrong with any religion or culture.
Lekin, I just dont want to loose my Pkai culture in any other… be is indian, american japanese or cantanese.

How lame would the world be if everyone was the same?

ok guys we are drifting off the topic here.

And Anchal Baji.. ur my baji even if your from Mars( dont think that I havent considered that you actually are from another planet)

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

[This message has been edited by ~MuNiYa~ (edited March 20, 2001).]

can you make it Venus

Originally posted by coolmunda_2000:
thanks for the replies guys so is the story like reugee, i want to watch it, has any1 in the uk watched this movie yet?

hmm..so far i havent heard anything about the storyline being like any indian movie's.
i guess no one here has watched the movie yet...i dont even know if its on video yet.
as for the bindi debate...we've already established that Zara's playing a sikh girl in the movie thats why she's wearing it. You might see Pakistani models wearing 'em sometimes but its not that common among average women.

~~Sure.Fine.Whatever.~~

[This message has been edited by hk (edited March 20, 2001).]

EXCUSE ME!!! BUT i only remember showing u this pic to share it with u and get some views on the film and the characters of the film
, i certainly did not start this topic to start a debate on bindis, or sindoors and the rest,u may continue in another forum,

i agree to the fact that she is playing a sikh girl and is wearing it to symbolise her character,

and i aren't bothered if anyone else being a muslim to wear or not it is their own choice but i believe that it is not right, it's just one of those things i don't believe in, remember that if u have "shak" on anything u must stop urself from doing,

thankyou for all ur comments,

coolmunda_2000

Just a minute coolmunda......

First of all their is no such thing as Pakistani culture.....Pakistan is only 50 years old......but the culture which exists in Pakistan is as diverse as anyother culture. This culture is known as Islamic culture.......

First of all getting things straight....Mem sahib.....manglesutar and sindoor...these are pure HINDU rituals, and muslim women should refrain from using them. Secondly bangles etc, are classified in jewellery and are allowed.....but specifing the importance of the color....for eg red signifies Suhagan ki Nishani, is not allowed.....sad really sad.....This means a widow cant wear them right......

All these acts are termed as additions in the religion...which was made perfect 1400 years ago. In Pakistan and India a lot of things are done.....which are not allowed...Anchal, you say, your mang was filled wid sindoor on your wedding.....is this the way of the Prophet.....was this his teaching????

Originally posted by Anchal:
If you take religion out, our cultures are almost the same

How can you take religion out...religion should be the core of our life...You take away religion....ur no longer a muslim...

The Prophet (SAS) has been granted the Nahr-e-Kausar in the Janat.....anbd we will all, inshallah, have the privelege of drinking from it, but....it is specified, that those people who bring in changes in the religion and changes in the type of life we are asked to lead....will not be allowed to come near the Nahr.

We people fail to lives according to the teachings of the Prophet(SAS)...how many of us pray five times a day...very few. Yet we bring in, and engage in other activities. How many of us realize the importance of the spreading of Islam....how many of us realize that this mission has been bestowed upon us....almost none....but we proudly bring in rituals from other religions and cultures....shame..

May Allah guide us all on the right path...Ameen.

/* ^You mess wid me....I mess wid U^- AlCapone *\

ALcapone....

I hear ya...........
thats why I was surprised that Anchal wore sindoor and mangalsutra coz I thought it was purely hindu traditions, I wanted to know if muslims were allowed to do it too - which you say they arent ... so I wont be doing it - I might like the stuff and like the symbol it holds but its hindu and I wont be doing it - coz Im a muslim...

I don't think even Sikhs wear bindis. I know that they are not opposed to it but I have never seen Sikh women wearing bindis.

i don’t watch indian moviez to i dunno wht was the story of solder…
however the story of this movie goes like this…

girl and dad livez in punjab[indian side], her dad wantz to vidit pakistan to c holy placez and shrinez…after long struggle they get the visa and they leave 4 pakistan…there girlz father decidez to c the place where they used to live b4 partition…place [hawaili] is still in good condition and there now livez the family of shan…they stay with the family and there girl fallz in love with shan, however he knowz on the day she goez bk to punjab…
he then later triez to go to india but his effortz are to no avail, finally he getz the visa and our hero is off 2 india, there to his bad luck, he is arrested as a pakistani spy and they try their best to involve him in everything they can…

rest u can figure out by watching the movie ..

Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti…Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya…Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]…

Alcapone,
but those are your veiw points, Not mine
and those are your thoughts, Not mine

if wearing bindis makes ones Imaan, weak then I suggest you definitely not wear them
and if wearing Sindoor will somehow weaken your relationship with Allah then I again suggest you defintelely not wear it

you dived into making a long speech bout muslims and Prophet, but failed to see where i wrote that its not a religous but a cultural thing

and lets not talk bout history if we dont know a jack bout it
Muslim brides are supposed to wear white, but do they in Pakistan?
Nope, where is this mehndi, ubtan, mayoon rasams coming from?
Is that according to muslim religion?
No its a cultural thing ..a tradition that is carried from generation to generation

Its sad to see you still shouting hindu hindu, muslim muslim
when there is no such thing as hindu muslim jew christain
they are just humans who chose to live their life according to their wishes

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

Anchal you is confusing me day by day!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

Now I thought muslims associated White with DEATH ? So how come muslim brides are meant to wear white and if so where did red come from???

No Muslims associate black with death, so do the Christians
Hindus associate white with death

I am pretty sure that among Muslims (that is the arabs), White is the color of the bride,
maybe I am wrong

again its a cultural and regional thing
In egypt, syria and arab countries brides are seen wearing white,

However in places such as pakistan, india, even china brides wear red

Another interesting thing bout my Saas
she doesnt allow her bahus to wear white or black because they are the color of death
and she was very annoyed to see black jooray in the jahaiz

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited March 21, 2001).]

Wrote quite a lengthy post....dont want to repeat the same things again.......

Anchal..why do I get the feeling that u are givin me the same sort of reply, the Mushriqein gave to the Prophet when he preached Islam.....'cause our forefathers did so.....Dont you have a mind of ur own...cant you think what is right and what is wrong.....

Originally posted by Anchal:
*Muslim brides are supposed to wear white, *

Who told you that.....just because the Arabs do that, does'nt mean Muslims brides are supposed to do that....the white is adapted from the west, just as we have adapted so many things from the Hindus.

Alcapone, its not a matter of *'my forefathers did it, so i am gonna do it' *
I happen to like all these colorful traditions

Nowhere in my posts have i given you a religious argument, you keep bringing it up

I am talking bout culture, traditions and society

Arab brides wear White. I know.
Assuming Muslims follow The Prophet, His daughter wore white when she got married to Hazrat Ali

and if white isnt the color, then what is?

and who decides on the color, or if one should wear bindi, or sindoor is hindu?

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited March 21, 2001).]

Assuming Muslims follow The Prophet, His daughter wore white when she got married to Hazrat Ali

She must have....but I dont think that it has any religious significance....Can you come up with a hadith which shows it's significance....

I happen to like all these colorful traditions

So ur gonna continue doin it...even if their wrong, and not allowed by our religion....huh?

[This message has been edited by AlCapone (edited March 21, 2001).]