Tendulkar - Enough already!

Tendulkar as a batsman, surely acceptable. Could arguably walk into any team’s final X1 in and around the world (as long as they have the status of either Associates or Affiliates). Tendulkar as a politician, yes, will take that, too. Who doesn’t push boundaries, in this day and age? Tendulkar, recently pictured as a vice-captain, reached beyond all limits. A vice-captain should be given to a person in grooming, someone who can take over the national reigns in the future; not to Tendulkar of all people. But would you have it; he has been named India’s captain against England A. As a captain over Yuvraj Singh, a crime in itself. Why, why would someone go to such lengths to appoint Tendulkar? It is the start of an eternity-long tour, and already politicians have overruled any kind of selection of notable worthy individuals. Perhaps Yuvraj Singh did not cross their mind at all. It is understandable, given the cockroach-type mentality BCCI possesses.

Re: Tendulkar - Enough already!

They Couldnt make Laxman captian--because he is not sure of his place in the team...
they couldnt make Yuvraj captain coz he is still in the grooming phase and they did not want to thrust the pressure of Captaincy on him....
They couldnt make Ganguly captain bcoz of all the politics involved...

So...I think it is more a case of "Aur koi nahin mila isliye Sachin ko temporary captain banaa diya" rather than any intelligent decision....

What do you mean...Yuvraj is in the grooming phase ? Yuvraj was Vice-captain of the team in the Pak tour (when Ganguly was not playing due to injury).

Now despite of being one of the few performers, he has been ignored for Vice-captaincy in favor of Dhoni.

Well u never know with these selectors...kabhi kuch karte hain kabhi kuch...but I think they are going to make Yuvraj captain one day or the other...just taking their time while the oldies phase out and at the same time tryin other people and also givin Yuvi more experience...just my thoughts..

kia baatayn kartay ho tum log yaar, samajh se bahir hay, mai to kehta hoon Tendulkar be captain for life!!!

Yuvi had some serious attitude problems and this was discussed at length when Chappel was around. This might be due to the fact that Chappel was a dicatator. He had his own issues.
But BCCI had given a lot of weightage to his views.

chup oiey, tendi kay chamchay. Zada tendi kee side nahin linay ka. Dhobi bhai naraz ho gie tu aglay haftay say aap kay ghar kay kapray saf anhin karein gay

I think probem with Yuvraj is that he doesnt have a secure place in test team. If you look at it there only 4 guys who are certainty in test team. They are Dravid, Sachin, Kumble and Zaheer. Therefore they went with Sachin.
But in ODI they should have made Yuvi Vice Captain. He deserves it. But he has hot head.. half sardar hai na .. ;)

^^ If Yuvraj place in the team is not secure then I dont think Dhoni's place in the side is secure either. Karthik's presence should have clearly put added pressure on Dhoni. Now Dhoni must perform as a batsman to prove his worth in the side otherwise another bettwen batmsan perhaps someone like Kaif can easily take his place in the side. Karthik can keep wickets plus he seems like a lot more accomplished batsman than Dhoni. Dhoni's place in the ODI might not be in danger as Karthik cant hit with the same flair but in tests if Dhoni doesnt show his worth with the bat I think he should be replaced with a batter batsman and throw the gloves to Karthik.

I think you mixed up ODI and Test issues here.

This is what I said...

In Test matches..Yuvraj's place is not secure..Agreed .. neither does Dhoni. That is the reason none of them are vice captain for test team. Tendulkar is the vice captain.

In ODI.... Yuvraj should have been the vice captain instead of Dhoni. Both have secured place in ODI but Yuvraj is much senior and more dependable.

Agreed. This decision probably will be made tomorrow depending upon how Jaffer, Yuvraj and Dhoni perform in tour game. Only 2 of these three can play. Jaffer already has an advantage of being specialist opener. So it may come down to either Yuvi or Dhoni sits out. My team for the first test would be this...

Karthik(WK)
Jaffer
Dravid(C)
Laxman
Tendulkar(VC)
Ganguly
Yuvraj
Kumble
Zaheer
Sreesanth
RP Singh

I am looking forward to see how Dhoni bats against Eng bolwers who are no Shoaib, Asif, Lee, Bond....this is one guy who i want to see getting exposed in tough conditions. Its about time the Over hype of this FTB+HTB comes to an end

Why Pakistanis have so much against Dhoni ? It is ur Shahid Afridi ''the most hyped '' cricketer ever Pakistan have produced .Dhoni has got some thing between his ears unlike Afridi.

We shouldn't be too critical of Tendulkar, he is still a gr8 batsman and showed against the lions his quality. Keep biting at him and he'll keep coming back at you.