Tendulkar ball-tampering decision on Tuesday

I have to agree with the Indians on this one. Firstly, picking the seam is not so easy. A replay of one incident cannot prove that the player was attempting to pick the seam, and even if he was, the seam cannot be altered unless you continue to mess with the ball over and over again. Trust me, it is simply not possible.

The same thing happened with Waqar in Sharjah. The ball gets roughed up and dirt sticks on the seam as a result players attempt to clear the dirt by running their fingernails over the seam. Running your fingernails across the seam cannot alter the state of the ball....that can only happen if the seam is dislodged.

All this has happened for years. Steve Waugh, the man with the big mouth, does this all the time. But no one gives a damn. Its only players from the sub-continent who have to put up with this crap.

Waqar, Mahmood, Razzaq have all been accused of exactly the same thing. On each occasion the match referee picks up a different set of rule books. One for the Asians and the other for the White brothas.

Those are simply the cold hard facts. Tendulkar did the same thing that every other player does in every game they play. That is why this is ridiculous. If he's supposedly cheating then so are Aussies, South Africans, Kiwis and the Poms. Why dont they nail Donald for the amount of times he runs his fingernails across the ball? Is the match referee sleeping when that happens?

Please....give me a break.

Believe In Angels.

Laterz,
ManiaX.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:

Obviously, they were once in a life time moments first when a Player instead of batting started jumping like a Monkey and then chased Dennis Liliee with his bat. Both the times it was Javed Bhai

he has been a great entertainer.

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited November 21, 2001).]

It's unfortunate the way South Afrikans have taken the revenge. Their best player was caught in India, They picked our best player to settle the score.

To all the pakistanis friends who are happy with this just because of their India Hatred, all I can say is WE DONT CARE. You have already seen our support for these guys despite them being a bunch of losers. I wish you, your media & your board had the guts to support your players & So-called winning Team like we have done.

I haven't seen the footage or the pictures of Tendulakar's alleged tampering, so, I can't say for sure if the punishment was justified or not. But the way the Indians are defending Tendulkar isn't very logical. So what if he is the best batsman in the world and if he has a good disciplinary record so far. None of the above points mean that he did not tamper with the ball.

However, I think that there definitely is a big problem with international cricket as far as racial discrimination is concerned. Something that really bothers me is that Akhtar who is as healthy as a horse runs in from the boundary to generate good pace. Mr. Lee has a smaller run-up and is not as big as Akhtar yet he generates the same pace. If Akhtar gets his pace from a suspect action, what about Lee. It can't be that Lee has discovered this wonderful action that generates amazing pace from a short run up but no other bowler for the last 100 years has thought about doing the same? I don't think so. By the way, I went back and saw the Pak vs. NZ semifinal and I thought his action was pretty messed up esp the yorker with which he clean bolwed Fleming. If there are biological reasons for his action though as the PCB claims, the ICC must exempt him like they did Murlitharan.

Well its not the ban but the manner in which Indian players have been banned has caused the reaction. I agree Tendulkar might have done it,he is a great player but no saint, but why others ?? Why no explanations ? It takes 24 hours for the refree to come up with a written explanation ? 6 Players ?? Tomorrow another racist comes and bans entire squad, hey if they can ban 6 they can ban 11 also.

Here is a article from Peter Roebuck :- http://www.smh.com.au/news/0111/22/sport/sport6.html

Another link from BBC with Picture of Tendulkar with BALL (see his nails, if you can)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/in_depth/2001/india_in_south_africa/newsid_1666000/1666534.stm

ZZ,

You just blew your cover .And all along i took you for a Pakistani .Nice camflouge as long it lasted while advicing what is good for pakistan.So i guess those were all WRONG advice RIGHT

aap se bhii khuubasuurat aapake a.ndaaz hai.n
aap kii aa.Nkho.n me.n kuchh mahake hue se raaz hai

Former India cricket players on Thursday joined a chorus of calls for India to think about pulling out of a test series against South Africa in protest over the handling of a ball-tampering controversy.

``It's a stand-off and we should not relent,'' former test medium-pacer Atul Wassan told Reuters.

Jagmohan Dalmiya, president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), said he would comment on the controversy at a news conference due in the eastern city of Calcutta at around 1600 (1030 GMT).

Dalmiya had asked the International Cricket Council (ICC) to replace Denness as referee for the third and final test, or have his decisions suspended until they were examined by the ICC, but the sport's governing body turned down the request on Wednesday.

The United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCBSA) has come out in support of the Indian board.

UCBSA chief executive Gerald Majola said: ``The UCBSA is extremely sympathetic to the position of the Indian board and their team on the harshness of the match referee's decisions.''

Indian newspapers and some members of parliament have said India should consider pulling out of the South Africa series in protest at the referee's decision.

Former India captain and coach Ajit Wadekar said the players must have a right of appeal against a referee.

Even murderers have a right of appeal. If the ICC does not do anything, the Indian board must take legal action,'' he said.I don't see any harm in the team pulling out from the series as well, because it seems the ICC has dismissed our request outright.''

But former India skipper Bishan Singh Bedi, while condemning Denness's decision, said pulling out would be an overreaction.

We should just play on,'' he said.Just because Denness has made a bad decision on an off day, doesn't mean we make a bad decision also. Two wrongs don't make a right.''

Demonstrations continued in India for the second day as a few hundred protestors burnt effigies of Denness in New Delhi.

Carrying banners saying Sachin, Saurav -- the country is with you'' andWhy such injustice against India?,'' they marched towards the Indian parliament shouting slogans.

Similar demonstrations were held on Wednesday in Ganguly's home town Calcutta, a city known for its passion for cricket.

Indian captain Saurav Ganguly has hit back at comments made by his Australian counterpart Steve Waugh following Sachin Tendulkar's suspended one-match ban for ball tampering against South Africa.

``Steve Waugh needs to shut up and concentrate on Australia,'' an angry Ganguly said on Thursday.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited November 22, 2001).]

For once I completely agree with Surav.

Someone needs to shut that pompous bigot up.

--------Pakistani & Indian Supporter of Tendulkar

And for once im telling you Indian & Pakistani if you take the law into your hand as Pakistan did in 1948 with Kashmir thinking just like Tendulkar & Saurav,you have 54 yrs of curse of Kashmir bane on you like black spider widow.

And Indians for brutalizing Kashmiris since atleast 89 ,you will bleed yourself just as Shoib Akhtar &Azharuddin, surma bhopali think that they are celebrity star.It didnt take a day to shoot down Azharuddin like a flying duck & both India & pakistan can forget international cricket & be satisfied with each other if indeed Pakistani cricket team fels like Pristine raja Pakistani

Not to obey the authority doesnt take you long just ask Mullah Omer & osama .Keep your emotion under the cap in thses matters otherwise like Azhar,Shoib & many other before Saurav will be mithun Chakarvartys chamcha & Tendulker can bid good by to his dream of Don bradman
Doont forget your still coolies ,man,aapni aukaat mat bhoolo no matter how many Amitrabh movie you have seen
Iif its breaking the law of match fixing or ball tampering or throwing,the umpire is the police advocate & judge 3 roles rolled in one.
you break the law ,you cant defy it ,you may appeal it only

Australian PM blasts Indian, SA cricket officials

Australian Prime Minister John Howard and the Australian Cricket Board (ACB) condemned Indian and South African officials on Friday for challenging the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) authority to appoint independent match referees, Reuters reports.

Howard and ACB chairman Bob Merriman said they were concerned for the game’s future after Indian and South African officials ignored ICC regulations by sacking Mike Denness because of the fallout over his ruling that India’s star batsman Sachin Tendulkar was guilty of ball tampering.

The ICC responded to the former England captain’s unauthorised sacking by downgrading the third test between India and South Africa, scheduled to start in Centurion later on Friday, from a test to a first-class fixture.

Howard, a self-confessed cricket lover, said the teams’ disregard for the ICC’s authority was a “terrible development” for the sport.

“The authority of the ICC should not be challenged in this way,” Howard told a Sydney radio station. "It’s very, very bad that this kind of thing should occur but in the end you have to accept the umpire’s decision, so to speak. Merriman said the ACB was gravely concerned by the developments.

“The playing conditions and the regulations which bind us all together clearly give certain authority to the ICC president and chief executive to appoint referees,” Merriman said.

“No team has got the right to object to or try to select referees…and anything that goes against those regulations is of grave concern.”

Relations between the Indian and Australian cricket teams have been strained in recent years and there were reports of friction between the players during this year’s test series in India, won 2-1 by the home side.

Australian captain Steve Waugh was among the first to publicly support Denness for daring to fine Tendulkar, one of the world’s best players and a revered figure in his homeland.

Waugh said: “If he’s picked the seam, then he’s got to pay the penalty like everyone else…there shouldn’t be any favours just because of your reputation.”

But Waugh’s comments drew a sharp response from his Indian counterpart Saurav Ganguly who told the Australian captain to “shut up”.

aap se bhii khuubasuurat aapake a.ndaaz hai.n
aap kii aa.Nkho.n me.n kuchh mahake hue se raaz hai

It looks that poor steve is still mad about the beating he took from India, which is rare now days.

Thank you, come again