TEN US uncs for UNDERGRAD. REQUIRED.

papa mama are suddenly ready to send me abroad. well..inclined. i need names of US universities. Deadlines. time is short. I need to know what to do and how fast to do it. please post their sites. advice. preferably ones that i can apply online tho i doubt woh hen. KUCH karo! i hear most have deadlines in november. SAVE me

I need names of ten twenty unis i shud apply to. any information on their deadlines. whether i shud apply or not. im starting from scratch. HELP

Demesne,

some things first:

You haven't taken your SAT's yet and the SAT score is an important factor. Assuming you will get above 1400 on SAT 1 and above 700 in each SAT 2, and considering your O and A level results though, I think you should apply to the top unis with a couple of backups.

Do you have preferences about which state you want to apply to, or is your only criterion the academic ranking of the university?

Are you asking for financial aid or do you plan to pay the full fee? B/c if you are asking for financial aid, then:

Are you a Pakistani or a US citizen/ Canadian citizen/ green card holder?

B/c if you are a Pakistani citizen asking for financial aid, then some unis don't give financial aid to international students, and you'll have to look at that factor as well. If you're paying full, then you can apply anywhere though.

The top unis are:

Stanford
Harvard
Yale
Columbia
Princeton
Dartmouth
University of Pennsylvania [UPenn]
Cornell
Brown
MIT
Duke
Northwestern
University of California, Berkeley

Harvard to Brown in the list above [those 8 unis are the Ivy League btw]

You can see college rankings on usnews.com

Some good backups (places whose merit standards aren's that high) for international students asking for financial aid, in my days, used to be:

Ohio Wesleyan
University of Southern California
Brandeis

If you're not asking for aid then your backups can be more highly ranked unis.

Also, check with your counselor about your college list and ask her to recommend places to you.

As for info/deadlines, ye tum khud kar sakti ho. Go to www.google.com, put the names of the unis in search, go the uni websites, browse into their admissions page.

most of them are just www.[name of uni].edu

Look up the admission deadlines, and once you know what they are for all the unis, go to www.sat.org and look up info about registering for SAT's and do for a date which is in time for sending SAT scores to colleges.

And you were asking abt online applications, I think a lot of them have online applications now.

Another thing you want to do is contact your english teacher in A levels, and two three more teachers, let them know you're applying abroad and will need recommendations from them.

Lemi know if you have questions. Good luck :-)

oye haan, you'll also have to register for TOEFL

do that asap as well

www.toefl.org

its a very easy test, almost no preparation required, so take it as early as u can to get it out of the way

Thanks Irem U are such a jaan. Bus dua karo. abh today i went to the University of Eng and Tech. They conducted the MCAT which screwed my life. Found that they screwed me out of 72 marks too. Case pending..Woh ho jaye to meri sabh mushkilen asaan..

oh wow thas some great news, ho hi jayay ga ofcourse masla solve inshalah i mean they made a mistake im sure they'll make up for it...med colleges kee admission deadlines toh waise bhee abhee nai guzreen right so i think u shud be ok

Admission is becoming more unpredictable by the day, if I were you I would apply to universities you think you have a good chance to, instead of focusing on what’s top ten or what not. I have some friends who are Berkeley grads with honors and for graduate school some of them struggled to get in. It's becoming really competitive, esp. in California where the budget cut really changed the admission process.

belle..wow
that sucks
could you explain some more abt the budget cuts and how theyve affected the admission process? coz ima be applying to grad schools in cali..
abt ur friends, were they applying to uni of cali grad schools or others?

The budget cuts did some major damage. Financial aid used to be pretty much guaranteed for students who came from middle class families, now they give you the bare minimum which is for tuition. There are several universities that have cut programs all together. The compacted majors are a lot more competitive now than they were before.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t apply to California Universities but I think it’s something to keep in mind. I think its important to apply to universities that you feel you have the best chance to, not just aim for the name. Requirments for GPA and standardized scores have gone up as well. My friends from Berkeley applied to California schools as well as out of state. They all had to wait an average of a year before they were admitted. I would recommend State Universities , their pretty lenient with admission, than University of California Campuses.

hmm i c…
sigh
oh well…

thanks for the info tho :k:

:hula:

Re: TEN US uncs for UNDERGRAD. REQUIRED.

*Originally posted by Demesne: *
papa mama are suddenly ready to send me abroad. well..inclined. i need names of US universities. Deadlines. time is short. I need to know what to do and how fast to do it. please post their sites. advice. preferably ones that i can apply online tho i doubt woh hen. KUCH karo! i hear most have deadlines in november. SAVE me

I need names of ten twenty unis i shud apply to. any information on their deadlines. whether i shud apply or not. im starting from scratch. HELP

what do you want to study
what grades do you have, grades, toefl, SAT
how strong are your recommendation letters, are their any other extra curriculars that are worthwhile e.g. champion in tennis, president of student govt etc
how much can you spend out of pocket

The best university may not be the best university for your degree, and it may not also be the best university for your budget

I would like to cut and paste some top unis list as well, but lets customize it for your needs.

meanwhile here is something to give u a diff look
http://www.keepmedia.com/pubs/USNewsWorldReport/2000/09/18/225449?extID=10032&oliID=213

Demense, good to hear that you may have higher scores than what you got in your report. I am also happy to see that you are looking at comming to US. You havent given up. Mashallah.
Anyways answer the questions that Irem asked in her first post.
But just one recommendation. There are alot of undergrad universities that have med schools also. For example, I went to Loyola University in Chicago, and they have their own medical school. You can apply as a 7 year medical student in some of these universities. Once you get into this program, you need a good GPA and score above 27 in MCAT and you are secured a place in their medical school. If you chose not to go to their medical school, you can always apply at other places. Look into that also. But its not easy to get into those programs as everyone wants to get into it.

rav:..did i say that?..thinks

MF: Straight A student. Studied in GCE system tho. ie A and O levels. Major subjects were sciences. Math is strong. Gave SAT1. Got 710math/700 verbal. Pocket spending. Probably can afford whole thing. So major part of tuition, lekin would want to gun for scholarship or something. What I want to study..will probably try for finance or something related to sciences. Not medicine if I come to the US. Extra curricular: Was president of the environment and heritage society, part of the student council. in my last year raised money for converting a garbage dump into a park for poor kids in the area.

PP: bus pray for that stupid score thingie to change. this whole experience has so shattered my ..self confidence that im simply not upto more disappointments, or upto putting myself in that position again. bus dua karo bahut.

Inshallah you will do great. You are in my prayers are with you. Yaar mera step two ka result aanay walla hai, this week. Meray liye bhi dua karo.