Telling Kids You Love Them

I always do that.
Yesterday after tucking in my older son in bed i said,

“Well, i wanted to tell ya somthing”

What?

“That i love you more than anything else in the world”

He just turned over and said, “Hunh, why are you always telling me that, Go and let me sleep”.

I guess i havta find a new way of doing this.

Re: Telling Kids You Love Them

awwww! No matter, he will remember how you told him this even when he is in his old age. Good for you and keep it up :)

^thats wat i was thinking

theyre gonna b like sweet memories for him..

awwwwww that's so sweet... btwhow old he is ??

aajkal ke bachey badtameez hain aur khuch nahi :vivo: amma abba ki qadar aa jaye gi inshallah eik din

Awww... so sweet. Is he about 6 or 7? My teenage son now has to be coerced into hugging me during daylight hours, so I stop by his room after he's in bed for a quick hug and kiss and an update about his day. I guess it's just part of growing up :-(

At young age (toddler) reminding them verbally that you love them is ok but as they grow up, you don't want to say it too often that it becomes a family cliche.

I remember the Eid hug from my Dad was worth the wait. Had he done it often, it wouldn't have meant much.

he is 6

aww lol funnie kid!

Aww.. :teary:

I remember my childhood days. When my mom told us that it was bed time, we would go to our rooms and sleep. Every night she and my dad would very quietly open the door just a little bit to check on us. I have always been a light sleeper so I would wake up instantly the light/sound hit me, but I would stay in my bed. I did hate that before and never knew why they had this urge to check on us every night. I understand now and it makes me wanna cry.. I miss those days..

Age is a factor as well as it would probly be different for a girl. But nevertheless, even though they take it for granted it means a lot. You're doing a great job.

I remember I used to pretend to fall asleep in the car when I was little just so that my dad could carry me home.

He appreciates it even though it might seem awkward or weird for him that you say it. He won't forget.

Better you tell him you love him than not at all. He's a lucky kid!

Show your ignorance to him for some time, let him realize what he did was wrong ... let him buy a candy for you :-)

I agree here. Sometimes things are more cherished when they are few and far between but are always understood as an unsaid thing.

Lucky him!!

^ :D

Kya hua :faizy:

cuz i know wat urr thinbking n u know wat im thinking :D

Huh :bummer: