Tell us about a book!!!

Re: tell us about a book!

Packaged Composite Applications - Dan Woods

*Amazon says:

Today’s corporate computing environment is too often characterized by silos of data in enterprise applications like ERP, CRM, and supply chain management. Integrating these applications involves hardwiring connections between them, often resulting in a rigid and inefficient IT infrastructure. Packaged Composite Applications (PCAs) are an innovative answer to this dysfunctional scenario. Originated by SAP, one of the worlds foremost technology companies, PCAs represent a new architectural paradigm for enterprise computing. But is this new model right for your business? That’s where this book comes in. Packaged Composite Applications is the result of a systematic search through the brain trust of SAP for all of the relevant arguments, examples, concepts, and analogies related to Packaged Composite Applications.*

:sleep:

Good thread :k:

I was reading this book a while ago

[thumb=H]DSCF130216977_9015164.JPG[/thumb]

looked interested but never finished, was reading many other books lately.

So, is it worth finishing ?

The World’s Greatest Spies & Spymasters.

By: Roger Boar & Nigel Blundell.

*Spies & spymasters have had crucial role to play ever since man first learned to wage war.

Roger Boar and Nigel Blundell look at the incredible exploits of these real-life adventurers, exploding many myths in the process. They examine the long and chequered history of spying techniques, bringing us right up to the present day*

:bravo:

Sounds interesting…would love to read it..
U might like Spy Catcher by Peter Wright (if u havent already read it)…its good

Riding The Dolphin by Amanda Thomas. Written from the point of view of a schizophrenic woman, its kind of like a warped, contemporary version of The Sound and the Fury. Picked it up because i was bored but ended up liking it.

I just finished reading 'The Notebook' by Nicholas Sparks, it's really romantic and I literally cried during the end. Oh the book is so much better than the movie, in fact don't even watch the movie! Unless you want to see some frontal nudity, on second thought just rent porn!

parrhi to bohut hain naam yaad nahi, aik jo nahi parrhi uss ka naam hay

'Tis By frank Mc Court

gift karnay walay ka khena hay achi book hay.

oh acha du or bhi hain
1. Professional ASP.net
2. Windows server 2003 Active directory.

bohut achi hain parrhne ka socho to neend aa jati hay

Currently reading 'The Peshawar Lancers' by S.M. Stirling - An alternate history science fiction.

Premise:
In 1878, huge meteor showers cause mass destruction on earth starting a short cold age that lasts for a century. Story begins around early twenty first century where the British Raj still exists and prospers. With their capital now in Delhi and Oxford University in Kashmir, this empire rules half the world. A Czar of Russia and his cannibalistic devil worshipping followers dominate rest of the world. There is also a radical Caliph in Damascus who rules from Hungary to the Baluchi frontier.

Fun fact: They have Shalwar Kameez and Saris as top fashion trends set out by royalty.

hey i liked da vinci code, but i wanna see the movie.
but rite now im readin grapes of wrath for school it sucks!!
but some of the best books ive read.
- of mice and men
- uncle tom's cabin ( yah so my teacher read it to us, its the same)
- to kill a mockingbird
i dont read alot but i read those in school and after 11 years of reading **** in school i found 3 things i like.

Re: Suggest any good book to read !!!

A numberof people recommended the book and I finally got to it. I liked the book. It touched on politics less than I had expected but overall a good read.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I think this one's his best. Just wish i had the time to read more than two pages per night :(

Re: Suggest any good book to read !!!

Ive read all the harry potter books too, love to read any thing by Road Dahl.

life of Pi is fantastic and memoir s of a Geisha give an insite to a time gone by.

Another set of kids books which are also an interesting and thought provoking read for adults are the "HIS DARK MATERIALS " trilogy by Phillip Pullman.
its about a boy and girl who live on this planet in different dimensions.... lots to do with different worlds, faith/belief, humanity.

If you want something different try "The lovely bones" by Ann Sebold.
its about a young girl who is attacked and murdered, and it is written from her point of view.........what goes on whilst she watches.... what happens to her family, her murderer, her friends.

its depressing and also a little disturbing, but also interesting because it is different.

^^^ yep, great book........ i didnt like the ending thoughthe character was killed off tooo soon!

One book that I thought good at the time was

Flowers for algernon by daniel keyes

read it years ago but it stands out because it was written in diary form by a chap who was mentally retarded who undergoes a scientific experiment which has worked in making mice extraordinarily clever.
anyway he goes through this procedure and as his mental age increases and he becomes more intelligent hs writing changes, you can see the way he understands concepts that were not clear to him before..... and then he finds out...that the mice that underwent this procedure.... went back to there original state.

its a great book, very thought provoking.

I've just finished reading Salt and Saffron. I didn't like it at first and stopped reading it altogether. Forced myself to pick it up again and I'm glad I did cause it's a good story. Seemed to make wealthy Karachiites seem like stuck up, materialistic snobs ....

Prior to this, I read Life isn't all Ha Ha Hee Hee, The Curios Dog ... and Life of Pi. All fantastic books. I've just ordered Anita and Me, Babyji and Little White Lies: A Novel of Love and Good Intentions.

I've also ordered, Mirror Mirror, Wicked and Confessions of an Ugly Step Sister, all by Gregory Macguire. All three are based on famous fairy tales (Snow White, Wizard of Oz and Cinderella) but told from the point of view of other characters ... apparently, they all really good. Wicked has also been turned into a broadway musical.

[quote=“lazy_daisy”]
^^^ yep, great book… i didnt like the ending thoughthe character was killed off tooo soon!

I haven’t reached the end yet. You spoiled the ending for me :frowning:

The Hitchhickers guide to the galaxy by douglas adams.

very funny book. different then ordinay novels etc.

^^^ ive got that but didnt didnt have the patience to read more than a few pages

re: Tell us about a book!!!

okee, people, I’ve merged the two books-threads and cleaned up the chit-chat

do continue with your great suggestions:k:

re: Tell us about a book!!!

hmm two books lately.
One is "Every Man a Tiger" by some USAF general who commanded the Air wing during the First Gulf War.
its about the USAF changed from vietnam era to a super air force. etc etc.
and second one is "Main nay dhaka dubtay dekhaa" by Brig. Siddique Salik
Ex. ISPR person from Pak Army on his version of 1971 episode of fall of dhaka purely from the perspective of an Army person in the field at that moment.