Telephone etiquettes

Re: Telephone etiquettes

1. How do you handle people who call you repeatedly and don't leave messages?
*well it wont bother me.....perhaps i will call back thinking something is important thats why there are too many missed calls (bande pe depend karta hai)....nahi chorte msg to sabar karna pare ga jab tak main phone answer na ker loon. what annoying will be is leaving too many messages but then they will be doing it since i am not replying back. *

2. Do you think it is OK to eat when talking on the phone?
hmmm nor really. chappar chappar ki awaz kafi annoying hoti hai. ar khaate hue baat bhi clearly nahi hoti. i sometimes eat but i make sure that there is no chappar chappar sound.

3. Do you ask your friends and family if it's a good time to talk before you begin your conversation?
no.....but if i am really busy or about to go somewhere then i politely say i'll ring you back or can you call me tommorow etc....but before i say this i do a bit of conversation and then say it

Worst:

Someone would call at 4 AM, and Say:

Did I wake you up?

No, I was up, eagerly waiting for you to call! :smack:

How is having a dinner conversation in person different from eating and talking on phone?

1. How do you handle people who call you repeatedly and don't leave messages?

I call them back to see if there is an emergency. I don't think many desis are into leaving messages.

1. Do you think it is OK to eat when talking on the phone?

Yeah, doesn't bother me. And when someone calls me and I am already eating, I will continue to eat while I talk. Otherwise if I haven't started yet, then I will start once I am done with the conversation.

1. Do you ask your friends and family if it's a good time to talk before you begin your conversation?

No I don't. But yeah if they are busy they will let me know and I will call them back later (or have them call me later, depending on who it is) when they are free.

I dont like to leave messages because I hate voicemail. Like hate it. I would much rather get a text than vm. Every time I check my vm, I have about 30 messages because thats how rarely I check it. So, if people call and dont leave a message, fine by me.

I do not like making eating noises on the phone so I would much rather eat and then call back. Sipping something is not a big deal...slurping IS.

I always ask if this is a good time to talk...regardless of who it is.