Team to give hundred per cent in World Cup: Waqar

Link

LAHORE: Pakistan captain Waqar Younis on Thursday assured the nation to that his team will play high level cricket with a positive frame of mind in the forthcoming World Cup in South Africa.

Addressing a crowded press conference at the Gaddafi Stadium, waqar said that the boys will play for the country and the incentives like Rs 10 million for winning the World Cup come much later.

The Pakistan captain, however, appealed the nation to forget team’s bad performance in recent international engagements. "We fully understand that the whole nation is quite disturbed over our bad show in Tangiers, ICC Trophy and in Test series against Australia and South Africa in the recent past. But at the same time we do feel the nation is behind the us and is constantly praying for team’s success in the World Cup. * YEPPPPPPPPP*

“The boys have forgotten all their past differences and are geared up for the mega event,” he said. Hope its true :jhanda:

When asked how he felt about Pakistan’s first match with the invincible Australians as many feel that the result of the match will determine the chances of Pakistan team for their next matches, the captain said: "We will not allow any team to just snatch the match from us. The World Cup will be a different game all together. We just need a good start. I assure the nation that the team will give their hundred per cent. It will not be the end of the world if we lose the first match against Australia." * Better Not be :hehe: *

When asked what he expected of the team in match against India on March 1, Waqar promised to show greater determination against their arch rivals.** “Every player is looking forward to meet India in the World Cup. It is about time that we should turn tables on India,” he said.** It may be mentioned here that Pakistan have never won a World Cup match against India.

Waqar did not agree when pointed out that Shahid Afridi’s performance declined because of continuous reshuffling in batting order. “Shahid Afridi will not decide on which number he will play in the World Cup. His batting order in the tournament matches will be decided after taking into account the pitch condition and teams,” the captain said in a firm tone. Captain sounds seriuos m eh?:hehe:

He also said nobody is scared of batting at number three position. "We have also discussed this issue in our recent meeting. Inzamam will be tried at one down position in selective matches during the World Cup," Waqar said. This would be a very wise move :k:

About Saeed Anwar, Waqar said: "We have high hopes from him. *Yeah, whole Pakistan does * He is a great player who just needs to come into his rhythm. He is a batsman with strong nerves and can cope with any situation in the middle. To a question that if he will follow Imran Khan’s style of motivating the team in 1992 World Cup, Waqar said: “I have got my own style of motivating the team. I am going to the World Cup with a positive frame of mind and to bring good results,” he added. Waqar was diplomatic when asked about his retirement plans after the World Cup. "I am just concentrating on the World Cup which is more important for me and which needs my full attention.

Team manager Shehryar Khan also spoke on the occasion and said though the batting lacked consistency in the recent series in SA, Pakistan was capable of beating the best teams in the world.

“Our recent performance is not good, indeed. But don’t forget, we beat Australia on their home grounds and we can do it again in the World Cup.”

The manager termed extensive travelling and fatigue as main reasons of team’s bad performance in recent international events.

Shehryar said his job was to maintain team spirit and inculcate a sense of national pride among the boys. The manager was also optimistic about his new job and responsibility and said it was not new to him. "We visited India amidst life threats from Shiv Sena who even dug up the pitch at the Feroze Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi. yet we played there and won. The behaviour of the boys was excellent on that tour.

“I enjoy a cordial relations with the majority of the boys who were also on the Indian tour and being the over all incharge of the team I will do my job most effectively during the World Cup,” he said.

Vice-captain Inzamamul Haq said all the boys wanted to forget everything that happened in the past and were looking ahead to win the World Cup.

“We have to look ahead. We don’t want to see Pakistan losing any match. The hard matches in the beginning of the World Cup will be good for us. If we play tough cricket in the beginning we will feel easy in the middle and at the end,” he said. :jhanda:

When asked about their round match against India, Inzamam said: “We will change the history this time.” Inzamam was quite optimistic about the overall fitness of the team: "I have not seen a fitter team than the present one in my whole 11-year career.’ Yeah right, Inzi bhai kya ho gaya haim jokes achay kar lete ho aap

He was also optimistic about the recovery of his heel injury. “I am not feeling any pain. However, during the World Cup I will control the problem with injections, if required, which is allowed to me by the ICC,” he said. To another question, Inzamam said he was prepared to lead the team in emergency during the World Cup. He admitted that he had been asked of captaincy by the Board but he thought Waqar best for the job.

“I am not scared of captaincy. After all I have performed the job in at least two one day matches and my record is 100 per cent,” he added.

Good attitude :k: :k:

When Pakistan gives 100% on the field, it is impossible to beat them.

With this kind of attitude Pakistan will inshallah win this world cup. PAKISTAN RULEZ.

i thought i heard him say the team will give 110% in the world cup… :hoonh:

P.S. he made this statement during the farewell ceremony…