Team India reveals secret behind their spectacular win!!!

It’s nothing but preparation and belief… Two of the key ingredients in professionalism.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket_worldcup2011/content/current/story/509298.html

Harbhajan Singh wept into the India flag, Yuvraj Singh couldn’t hold back tears either. Sachin Tendulkar, not used to having his feet off the ground, for a change felt comfortable on the shoulders of his team-mates as they took a lap of the Wankhede. He was being taken around a ground that had once booed him. All that didn’t matter today. A life-long dream had been achieved in a sixth attempt; in front of his home crowd, at a ground where he played most of his domestic cricket. MS Dhoni, Yuvraj, Zaheer Khan and Gautam Gambhir followed with their arms around each other’s shoulders. Virat Kohli, playing in his first World Cup and inconsolable when he had got out earlier, sang Chak de India to the crowd.

There was delight, there were tears of joy, there was contentment. There was relief after a campaign in which their every move was noticed, dissected and criticised or praised. It was a moment nobody could take away from the Indian team. They took their time as they celebrated. Slowly, savouring each moment. Months of tension, build-up, sleepless nights, inability to eat regularly, cramps, vomit, sweat, toil; all of it was over, and in their hands was the World Cup.

Gary Kirsten’s contribution was not forgotten. After Tendulkar had been around the ground on the strong and reliable shoulders of Yusuf Pathan, the team chaired Kirsten too, who was coaching India for one last time. An equally loud applause followed. Quietly, Paddy Upton, the mental conditioning coach, and Eric Simons, the bowling coach, watched. They watched men become kids, they watched and heard, 33,000 people’s gratitude.

“There have been some incredible moments in my involvement with sport, but this has got to be the highlight,” Upton told ESPNcricinfo.

Upton spoke of the year the team had been through: the anticipation, the preparation, the hard work. “We set on this a year ago. Gary and myself and Eric Simons asked the question, ‘Are we ready to win the World Cup?’ And we felt we had the team to win it, the skill and the talent, but mentally we possibly weren’t ready.”

That was in Dambulla where, as Virender Sehwag mentioned, they started visualising the World Cup final. “We had planned a year ago what we needed to do in order to set ourselves up to win the World Cup,” Upton said. “For a year we have been talking about when we play the final in Mumbai, and it was amazing yesterday [Friday] to reflect in the team meeting and say, ‘Guys we have been talking about exactly this for a year, and we have been preparing for it and we know we are ready.’ So while there were nerves, we went in with the confidence that we are better prepared than the opposition.”

Some of the players had been struggling to sleep properly, but Upton believed - as it now seems - in something preordained. “Strangely I slept quite comfortably, because the job was done, we just needed to go and act out the script that was already written.”

The nerves he felt towards the closing moments, despite himself being a mental conditioning coach, he said was a feeling like no other. “I get bloody nervous. Believe you me. It was magnificent.”

The greatest moment of his greatest achievement in sport was watching the players weep. And looking after the mental side of players who perhaps are under the most pressure in world cricket, he has seen them in tears of anguish too. “The greatest moment today was getting together with the team in the middle of the pitch; and just seeing the looks on the guys’ faces, and the tears running down their cheeks. Tears of joy and relief and ecstasy. It was a special moment.”

Re: Team India reveals secret behind their spectacular win!!!

Arey bas bhi kar oye. Our culture teaches us to be humble in our victory. Dont gloat.

And before you ask I am an Indian

^ Keep your `gyan=Knowledge' to yourself.

And the secret behind this success obviously is the teaching:
“Winning the world cup means India is the next super power of the world, much greater than USA and co., the timeless nation where rivers of milk and honey flow” :omg:

Good.You have noted it. :slight_smile: :k:

arli you disgust me

Given that all posters on this thread are of Indian origin, including myself, let me just say that guess what…everyone knows we won the tournament. Bhai log, let’s move on to bigger and better things. This is getting really old now…and frankly quite boring given that this is primarily a Pakistani forum. We appreciate that we’re welcome here and have the support of the admins and membership. We’ve always been welcome and enjoy much freedom. However it is only polite to understand what our limits should be. I’m not pointing fingers at anyone and I haven’t been paid by paklinks, but being on the membership here as well as the admin team, I am taking the liberty to share my sincerest views to you all. I know most of you are already in agreement.

:bb:

well.. i have always said this about arli, he is a shameless troll. he is forever posting stuff needling and baiting pakistanis. and then throwing them a bone once in a while making some cute smilies and calling them bhai this bhai that. most of us indians here see thru his shyte easily..

I second it.

Lagta hai u got hold of a lot of what the King of Liquor gifted away in Mumbai :smiley:

lol, this one time he started calling me 'jaan'...

Yaar, let the secret stay secret.

:smiley: Why are you so eager to reveal it here ?

Arlie it always looks good and proper once you have won something

I am not saying they are wrong but would the same cricketers and the media (you know the self-styled pundits and experts on cricket) be saying the same stuff or gloating like that had India lost the final (by 1 run or 1 wicket). I think not

“Oh before you even ask, though we lost the final we always had this tremendous self-belief and confidence that we can do it this time, infact we worked really hard for a whole 6 months before the tournament!! excitement mein naa khatey they, naa sotey they, bus uthtey bethtey, sotey jaagtey sirif World Cup hee sochtey rehtey they sab

Well,if he had lost the final there would not have been this thread. :cb:

So that our Pakistani friends can copy it and make it to win the next world cup. :)

I have no problem with Pakistani posters or Pro-Pakistani posters here.But this idiot queer is a creepy creature.I have been seeing him here for the lat 10 years and I have always discarded him from the very first day. He is just a squirt and nothing more than that.This nonsense knows only one thing ,to resort to personal attacks dodging behind a computer,like a rat.

thank you janab for not having problems "with pakistani posters or pro-pakistani posts" on a Pakistani Forum...

by the way what does "jay mata hinglaj ki" means? just curious & wan to learn something new...

However queer queer might be, you need to stop littering around.

Mere Pakistani bhai logon, our job is done here. We made them fight with each other.

Good job :lifey:

:jhanda:

Mother Goddess of Hinglaj. :)