Team Australia:Do they cheat?

***I have another very contravertial question for you folks.I have always heard that people say that Australians use unfair means when they play.(for eg. they are HARSH sledgers.)Mc Grath once said “I love when my bouncer HIT the batsmen.It is a good feeling when you send the batsmen out of the park by hitting him!” .

Do you guys feel these things help Australians Win matches.Here is another news from CRICINFO that pointing uses some different kind of bat which helps him in his stroke play.***

Are Australians cheaters?

*** One more thing, even sub-continent people and ex -cricketers (like ranatunga) said that the UMPIRES from Australia cheat.He said that*** “WHY ONLY BOWLERS FROM SUB CONTINENT (Like Shoaib Malik,Shoaib Akhtar,Bhajji,Murali) QUESTIONED FOR THEIR BOWLING ACTION?.WHY NOW BRETT LEE??

[Read This Story](http://content.cricinfo.com/australia/content/story/207140.html)

Re: Team Australia:Do they cheat?

Its historical with Aussies (memory lock for names) fast bowlers in early 50's introduced these tactical bowling of Beamers,Bouncers & rib-cage deliveries.
They are also the pioneers of obscene and abusive language with visiting teams.

Ashes story documentary should be a good reference watch for you,,, :D

Raindear, body line was done by the English, not Aussies. As a matter of fact, Aussies were at the receiving end of it.

Aussies sledge, yes, but to put bodyline in their *khaata *is wrong. Here is a brief tutorial on Bodyline bowling from Answers.com

Bodyline

[thumb=H]bodyline12052_6717631.JPG[/thumb]
Australian cricketbatsman Jack Fingleton faces a Bodyline field in the 4th Test match in Brisbane, 1933. Harold Larwood is bowling. Note the mass of fielders on the leg side, designed to catch the ball if the batsman defends his body with his bat, and deflects the ball in the air.

Before the 1932-3 tour to Australia, England had become used to the prolific run-scoring of Don Bradman. The England captain, Surrey’s Douglas Jardine chose to develop the already existing leg theory as a tactic to stop Bradman. Leg theory involved bowling fast balls directly at the batsman’s body, and Jardine had two very fast accurate bowlers, Harold Larwood and Bill Voce to bowl them. The batsman would need to defend himself, and if he touched the ball with the bat, he could be caught by one of a large number of fielders placed on the leg side.

England won the series and the Ashes 4-1. But complaints about the Bodyline tactic caused crowd disruption on the tour, and threats of diplomatic action from the Australian Cricket Board, which during the tour sent the following cable to the Marylebone Cricket Club in London:

*Bodyline bowling assumed such proportions as to menace best interests of game, making protection of body by batsmen the main consideration. Causing intensely bitter feeling between players as well as injury. In our opinion is unsportsmanlike. Unless stopped at once likely to upset friendly relations existing between Australia and England. *

Later, Jardine was removed from the captaincy and the laws of cricket changed so that fast balls aimed at the body, and having more than two fielders behind square leg were banned.

I don't think they cheat, they are just too good to be true.

Yaar Rainy is not cricket historian, he is not that old to witness 1933 Ashes. He just tried a wild guess, which is caught in air in the middle. But yes we are accused of not providing enough evidence of Akhtar's clubbing, partying, drinking and jet skiing, despite of the newspaper pictures and correspondant's reports. Sorry, Rainy thats a fact sheet for you and I had to say it since you completely deny of well known sources and this was long due.

Coming back to the topic. Yes, England used it first to counter Bradman and other Aussies batsmen's mountains of runs against them. But later on This was well picked by Aussies themselves and West Indies took it to the apex.

Now its all norm, everyone does it, even Irfan the banaspati pathan. So there is nothing to whine about, 2Ws and Akhtar used it to from time to time. Thats considered as fast bowlers weapon lately not a disgrace to them.

Umpiring and sledging have definetly been serious issues.

absolutley!!.. I just got it the otherway round,

smoothie,dont be so harsh yara,

-------------x-------------
Thanks Faisal , “Bodyline” it was , I use to watch it on and off, The theme was gripping but ITV had it on at odd times for me, :smiley: ,
What a thriller,
collectable,I can say

^^ yaar badla chuka raha tha :) i hope you won't ask evidance from the poor guppies. They rely on authentic media news and pictures. Unless ehsan bhai decides to have GS's own correspondants to cover Pak cricket tours to provide us first hand off the field reports ;)

--------------x-----------
Konsa evidance ,array kai kay leye,evidance mian,cough cough , “Usko” khilana hai to khilaooo,werna roz roz uski maa behen ko email to na kero na bhai,bas enni see baat hai,meri, cough cough :smiley: