Teaching Quran with tajweed/talaffuz at home

AoA All,

My son is 4.5 years old and going to his nursery class in preschool where he has already finished with his alphabets in english and half of them in urdu. I am trying to teach him his quran/qaida at home daily but I think I am lacking somewhere. I have read quran with tajweed and am excellent with qirat and pronunciations (talaffuz) since school Alhamdulillah and I keep expecting my son to be good at it too :bummer:

For all who have kids at beginners stage of learning the quran, how do you teach them ? I can hire a maulvee to come over and teach him daily like most of the people around me but I feel I should give it a try myself at home (everyone knows the reputes of some maulvees here :ast: unless they are reliable). Maybe I dont know how to teach him ? We finished with the first page of alphabets but he still cannot recognise the alphabets if asked randomly and it’s second week of this problem :frowning: I cannot recall if the maulvee sahib who taught me had a special/different way ?

Re: Teaching Quran with tajweed/talaffuz at home

internet classes

Proto, I am a tajweed teacher and I can tell you that knowing the rules of tajweed is very important. Also, it is important to take it slow. A lot of parents these days are rushing their kids and as a result, the foundation is weak. There are books available on tajweed and even if your kid is learning online or from a teacher who comes home, you need to be sure that they are learning the actual rules.

My 5 year old daughter, who is also in my class, now knows what qalqala is, and what the heavy letters are, and what the huroof e halaqi are and which part of the throat they should come from, what ikhfaa is etc... There is a proper method of teaching is to children so it get engrained in their minds forever.

I remember how long my maulvee sahib took to teach qu-tu-bu-ja-d’ I learnt for qalqala and huroof-e-halqi,etc so I guess I learnt them at a later age than 4 yrs ofcourse..so I need to take it slow on him too :smack: you are right ! can you let me know of any good books as well so I can get help from those too ?

There's one called Easy Tajweed, and there's one from the Tasheel Ul Series called Tajweed.

^authors ?

The Tasheel Series one you can just ask for by the name of the series. Easy Tajweed, I gotta look it up.

Jazak Allah khair proto for putting this up.

Nikki please provide resources links if you find them, I know the rules while reading but were never taught the rules themselves and would like to learn so I can teach my child inshAllah. and to better myself.

Looking forward to it. Btw can I buy these online if I am in Canada ?

Yes these books are available at Al Balagh online.

If you ever need any help, please don't hesitate to ask me. :)

Sisters, please, don't just teach your children how to read Arabic. Try to find a method to actually make them understand the meaning, it will help tremendously in the future, esp. in learning the Qur'an. Many of us just learn to read and write, but have no idea what exactly is Allah saying to us.

^Bro that comes too and inshAllah one step at a time. I think I speak for a few here who would like their children to read Quran the way it is supposed to be read and then move on to the translation. Arabic is all about root words and once we know those Quran is very understandable alhamdulillah.

Jazak Allah khair Nikki I am looking at it right now. BTW did you have to get formal training to be able to teach kids. Did u get that training in N. America or as a kid/youngster?

Abbu n ammi taught me quran...i never learnt qalqala n huroof e halqi...never attended tajweed classes.
I learnt the correct pronounciation of arabic alphabets from mum...

Its great you're working with him already, but I think he is too young. 4.5 years is no age to get it all correct. I know in pakistan everyone has to start early and finish off early too, but I think you should take it slowly.

I learned tajweed at masjid. I use to attend it 5 days a week. It was a great learning experience with other kids, maybe you should consider sending him to masjid classes as well? and I was around 14 years when I finished it all up.

Yes I completed a program locally. I was tested by an expert and trained to teach kids tajweed.