Teaching Driving.

This thread inspired by learning driving thread.

My son got his learner’s license. Mashallah. He cannot wait to drive. He is so enthusiastic about it. He even wanted to drive us to NJ. But I took a pass on it.
The learner’s license has a restriction that when he drives A person with valid driver’s license has to sit with him in the car and obviously that would be me.
He has completed his 6 hours behind the wheels training from his school. He tells me that his instructor let him drive everywhere and covered every kind of driving conditions . But my rebuttal is that yes that instructor had dual control on the brake I don’t. So I let him drive to shorter distances and he so disappointed with that. He is not scared at all but I am . My wife refused to sit in the car while he is driving because it scares her to death.
I am not new to teaching driving I taught my wife but when I did that we were newly married, all I had was love at that time , I did not have any kind of fear at that time. But it is history now.
Any tips by moms and dads or anybody who had to go through similar experience ?

Re: Teaching Driving.

thats precisely y i hate driving with my dad. he freaks out...freaks me out and then it all ends in yells and tears. :( perhaps u could get him some more professional lessons and watch him while he shows u arnd his skills in a small parking lot or something.

Go to some secluded areas and let him drive as much as he wants!

yea..country side would be best.

oh and u can also glue ur hand to the handbreak lol.

I do not freak out , no yelling and screaming. He is a very cool kid and I am a very cool dad of this kid. We watch American Idol together and pass comments , and are basing Simon all the time. What can be cooler that that ?All the desi kids tell my kids they wish they had a father like me.
But still inside I freak out but do not show it to him. My heart pounds at 1 million beats a second when he is behind the wheels and I am sitting with him.

Driving in the secluded places will not help get over the fear I have. I remember while I was learning to drive back home in Pakistan. While I was driving on the empty roads and the instructor was sitting with me I was very confident but when I would come on the roads with traffic on them I was scared. But gradually I got over it. May be that is the only way out of it.

We live in country side. There are lots of ranches and pastures all around us and our subdivision is in the middle of all that still it drives the daylights out of me when he drives and I am sitting with him.

And yes I am reading all the suras and ayats I have memorized while he is driving and we start our driving with the dua a safar and so many more duas.

ohh hw cool. u really are a cool dad!well professional lessons r best then.

I hate simon, simon fuller isn't it??

LOL , I do that , my hand is on hand break the whole time he is driving. He does not like that as it shows that I do not have confidence in him I tell him: "Beta I do have confidence in you but I do not have cofidene in the car it has a mind of its own. " He smiled and said it is a good answer and he is going to use it on others.

He is a typical Brit Snob and full of air. He is so blunt I wish his comments were a bit tricky. He makes people feel like ____. you know I cannot use that word.

ahaha we have an australian version of him..called Kyle..just as bad. and yeah simon's accent makes him sound even more snobbish than he really is :p.

1. Patience Patience Patience
  2. Try to boost up his confidence as much as you can
  3. See if you can give him a chance to drive alone, in some safe zone
  4. Long distance driving is good. It will build his confidence.
  5. Its all about practice.

start with parking lots:D

how old is your kid? wish had a dad like you haha, watching american idol together LOL.. replace that with sa re gama..

but chill out bhai! you being stressed out for nothing, you know better, he will not do something stupid just remember your first time. so stop worrying.