Tea Ceremony in Culture Class

We have culture class once a week learning about Japanese culture and last week we did tea ceremony! Normally we put on yukatas (casual style kimonos) but this week I didnt feel like putting it on so Im not looking very traditional. Enjoy the photos!

[thumb=H]val-32855_6531679.JPG[/thumb]

My friend Valeria and the teachers showing them what to do.

[thumb=H]val2855_4746711.JPG[/thumb]

Drinking the tea.

[thumb=H]val-22855_3091980.JPG[/thumb]

Saying JazakAllah for the tea. hehe

Me trying to make tea! (It requires very specific actions and in slow motion, tea ceremony is supposed to be very tranquil and peaceful, so you have to do it the proper way!)

[thumb=H]me-tea22855_8256369.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]leo2855_8113311.JPG[/thumb]

Cuban gangster Leo making tea...hehe

[thumb=H]mike-22855_6968261.JPG[/thumb]

My partner in crime here, my only connection to home!

[thumb=H]mike2855_7426055.JPG[/thumb]

Guys should not be performing tea ceremony!!!

The tea was lovely! Excuse my hulya.

[thumb=H]group^tea2855_2934404.JPG[/thumb]

pooora din chaaye banatay banatay guzaar diya?! :hoonh:

lol this was Friday afternoon kakey. The tea was so bitter. You have to eat okashi, a sweet before you drink the tea.

zabardast yar :k: :k:

shukran :)

bloody hell, and u call this studying?! pretending to be all studious n stuff!

maybe i shud come do my masters in tea making too! :p

lol this isnt a part of my masters :smack: I took a year off remember. dont be jealous now kakey, you can come to Japan too you know, not too far from aussie land anyway.

Very interesting, catty. Can you tell us more about tea ceremonies and their significance?

I am also wondering if you can open a thread about women in the Japanese culture and their role in society, from what you have experienced/seen in Japan. If you can do a comparison of Japanese vs. Pakistani women, that would be neat too. If not, theek hai. hehe. smile

nice pix catty, why don’t you hoook one of these girls with kaka …beechara barra akela hain :teary1:

:stupid:

tumhe mera barra khayaal hay! :hoonh:

lo, bhalayei kurney ka bhi koyee zammanna nahi :snooty:

so the tea ceremony is an exercise in tranquility? Like tai chi or something along those lines?

Munni, thanks. Okay Ill try to do that one of these days, even though my knowledge is a bit limited, but I can tell you what Ive seen and heard.
Rukhsarbibi, yes its supposed to be practised in tranquility, usually done in tea gardens, but I dont know if Id compare it to tai-chi!

Hey catty, Lot of hassle just to make tea?? whoaa!

Bet you are learning quite new things every day. And THEN you say that you envy me :hoonh:

hehe haan naa…these Japs waste so much time doing useless things :hehe:

niiiice :slight_smile:

i miss my college :crying:

Nice… :flower1: