Tax Rebate Check (US Guppies)

Re: Tax Rebate Check (US Guppies)

Kramer: Nobody carries wallets anymore. I mean, they went out with powdered wigs. Yeah, see here’s what you need. Just a couple of cards and your bankroll.
See, keep the big bills on the outside.

Jerry: That’s a five.

Fraudia…me, you, pimp out donk with spinners, our rebate checks, and a video camera on a road trip across America. That’s Hollywood baby, throw Gamma in the back seat to gay it up so we can win an emmy.

U just want them to say, “is it a roll of dollar bills or are u happy to see me?”, don u?

can we put him in the car trunk instead?

dude..u are losing the picture, u hafta carry the roll in your hand
on a ghetto scale fo 1-10
you are a -2

promotion nahi.... 2 jobs :D

:( That's all I get?

okay okay how about a zero?

Broke Back Trunk staring Gamma

Why don't u rate on a sleeze scale too, maybe i'll do better :p

i m making 155,000 so no luck for me… such a waste. :mad:

Okay, so it is gonna be prebate rather than a rebate (think more of your 2008 income tax withheld on your paychex rather than 2007 tax refund).

Economically, it is just a trick to hand out some “unexpected” extra money to the citizens so that they will spend like crazy in buying more stuff… in return, it is anticipated (again think of 2001 tax rebates and its after effects), our otherwise falling apart economy will boost up. hmmmmmmmm..

Now who is gonna get what… A single head of the household will get $600, working (now thats catchy) couples will get $1200, if they made <$3000 but >$75000 ($150,000 for couples)…, + $300 will add up for each child…

People falling below or above the income caps will also get their share of the dynamite cake, but then it would be lesser depending on their income. Infact, above $75,000 ($150,000 for couples), the rebates will begin to phase out $50 for every $1,000 in AGI.

we are a ghareeb family of five and the chunk of money i am looking at is anywhere between $1500 to $ 2100. Allah miyaN please let this happen.. please please please… pretty please… with this loan without interest money i can get ten thousand heavenly things for myself…
or maybe one.

i wonder how many votes republicans will get due to this tax rebate plan. vote buy karnay ka iss se acha tareeka aur koi nahe ho sakta.

^ nah the best way to get their things done is to make the ordinary people and the businesses happy... and when everyone is happy the Republicans are happy (atleast in the election years) and they are so good at doing that.

As i can recall, such thing is happening third time under Bushy administration.

Its gonna go straight into the pockets of fat arse rich oil heiffers. That dough is paying all the extra money I am needlessly paying for my gas.

Question for Faisal, X2 or anyone else in the know:

If it is not your year to claim your child then does the other parent receive the credit even if the child did not live with the other parent? A court order had been appointed stating that the parents alternate years.

Its premature to answer this question because the whole Economic Bill that was passed by US House of Representatives is going to get a little bit bogged down in Senate, and no one really knows which form of rebate/prebate will be the final bill that comes to the President to sign.

Having said that, if it turns out to be a rebate, after all, then the critical question will be whether AGI (Adjusted Gross Income) to be used is for which year (2007 or 2008). Once that is clear, then the logical answer is that if a child alternates between parents (I am assuming its a case of divorce) and in any given year, only one parent claims the child as dependent, then only that parent can claim the child rebate for the year that is selected. If the child is claimed as dependent by Parent A in 2007, and the new law uses 2007 AGI for rebate purposes, than Parent A will get the rebate, and not Parent B. Doesn't matter who has the physical custody of the child now or who is claiming the child as dependent in 2008.

In 2001, tax payers did not had to apply for the rebate. The checks just came in. IRS came up with checks based on the tax returns that were filed. Lets see how the process works this time.

2 Likes

hskhan’s post above reminds me I had only one kid on last year’s tax return. :bummer:

so it will be around $900 for me regardless of what year they pick :hinna:

So they are going to base the rebates on this year’s filing :bummer:

In 2002, it was estimated that about 25% people used the rebate check to immediately buy a big ticket item from the retailers. Thats a pretty big boost to the economy. Lets see what the impact is this year. Some Wall Street smartalecks claim we are already in a recession.

That's why it dwindles down after the $150k cap. People with higher incomes are not going to spend it, instead its going to just get dropped into their savings. I read a survey today where most people said that they would be paying off their debt. Compared to the 2002 cheque there's a lot more debt today so the impact of spending is not going to be as much.