Tawwas

How many of you use the real heavy iron tawwa in your homes? Those of you who do not use tawwas what do you use and how do your rotees and more specifically parathas turn out… ???

Re: Tawwas

i use tawwa. not the very big n heavy one but the normal size.

Tawa is a must in a desi home .. specially if you like to make rotis and paratha's ...

I have got two , one from pakistan ... but its really heavy so i dont use it .. I got another one from Dubai and its really light and roti's come out nice.

I have seen people use pizza pans to make roti's when they dont have tawa's ..

to get a great tawa made roti u have to have a gas stove. tawa was not bulit for electric stoves... we used to make rotis on the tawa but then moved to using tfal nonstick fryign pans

i get an awesome result. phulkay phulkay ban thay hain...

I'm using a pan made for pancakes from I think either Jamie Oliver serie or something else.. Its like a tawa but for electric stove .. Great work indeed!

Yeah I agree with Khwateen ... tawa's work best on gas stoves and the rotis turn out totally fantastic on them..:@:

@khawa, so you are recommending non stick frying pan for electric stove top? coz I will be having an electric stove top...so instead of buying a tawa I should just stick to non stick frying pan.

I use a tawa not heavy but a light one.

Its true that for electric stoves, tawwas don't work as well and the non stick frying pan results are suberb, However, non stick utensils including frying pans should not heated without anything it them as its hazardous to health. I have heard that tortilla griddles (avaialble at Bed Bath and Beyond) give good results instead. Only thing is if you wash it with water, you have to oil it and then put it awayotherwise it rusts. I am planning to buy it.

For now, I use a frying pan for parathas as there is oil in the frying pan and its not bad for health. I use a tawwa and keep it on medium heat and then on an adjacent stove on medium heat I keep a cooling rack for cookies and "seenko" the roti on it. Keeping teh tawwa on medium heat gives a better result for teh roti. A freind told me today that keeping a cooling rack under the tawwa as well gives good results as well. must try it!!

i use tawwa on electric, and i can make pholka roti

I've always used a tawa (mum had a heavy one, and hubby a light one). But on a whim bought a pancake pan, and that gives amazing results! I wouldn't look back.

We've got a Prestige non stick tawa, its awesome, good for rotis and parathas.

teh tawa with steel rack under it is great for puttign rice on dum.. i thought it didnt work at all well with the roti making... reduced the heating way too much

ya i would reccomend the frying pan for an electric stove..... sure if ure worried bout the health hazzard.. oil it a bit... though we've bee cookign without any oil in non stick frying pan since donkey yrs and are pretty alive and healthy.. :o

how to make phulka roti on electric stove?..I used to make roti on gas stove on Tefal tawwa..but recently we have moved to new home n here we have electric stove…i make parathas easily on elecric stove but dnt know hw to make a phulka roti on it..i tried to make but it becomes very “sakht”..:(..need practice i guess…:confused:.

^after i "saiking" the roti like 3-4 times fliping roti on tawwa then i remove the the tawwa half way from stove and roti on direct heat (rotating) becomes pholka :)

i hope u understand. try kar kae batana

guys, just wanted to share my results.... a heavy metal frying pan worked wonderfully to make phulkas and parathas on the electric stove alhamdulillah.....

I got one of those caphlon ones and it does great.... phulkas do take a bit longer coz of the heat being lower but they turn out real fluffy and soft so all good.

jiss ghar mein tawwa nahi hai …wahan for sure roti nahi pakti .. aur agar kissi cheese pe pakaatey bhi hein to then what ever the round flat thing is .. its NOT a roti .. tawwa andd roti is a must ..just like two sides to the same coin ..

we have a medium size tawwa but when we go pak .. we usually use our dadi ammas tawwa ..cos its ancient and bigg .. resulting in great nice big rotis .. which dunt burn .. cos modern day tawway are made of cheap metal .. two mint k baad roti begins to burn of ur not caeful ..

:smack: am bored so this is my first post in this section in over 3 years

mine don't take longer once i put in direct heat. try it

Here I use fry pan to cook roties(chapties) and parathas. Back home there are two types of tawas - the flat one for parathas and the round (heaped one) for roties/chapaties.

I have two heavy based tawas…one for rotis and one for parathas.

I have made parathas in a non-stick pan…but it just doesn’t taste the same for some reason…:hmmm: