saida i will give u tom ab INSHALLAH
Changez_like,
The issue is controversial.
Quran does not mention anything about AnHazoor (saw) such state of mind, the incident is only mentioned in Hadiths. On top of that Quran declares many other prophets like Moses (as) & David (as) defeated the so-called magicians/sorcerers of their time.
Many disbelievers at the time of AnHazor (saw) tried to cast spells and then used to question (Naozubillah) the state of mind of AnHazoor (saw) when Quran was recited infront of them:
17: 47/48. WE knowest best what they listen for, when they listen to thee, and when they confer in private, when the wrongdoers say, `You follow none but a man who is a victim of deception.'
But Allah rejected their claims as ill founded.
The Hadiths that you pointed out are indeed Sahih (like many others on this very subject) but I question their authenticity due to the exalted status of the Prophet (saw) described in Quran & other Hadiths over all other prophets.
In the end its a matter of belief.
listen sadia i wil qoute tommorow ........ but another point is that quranic words has power they can kill the evil ...... as in a hadees that ayatal kursi parhnay se koi makhlook kuch nahi bigar sakti aap ka....... so agar kisi ko rohani beemari ho aur wo asaib se bachnay k lia quran ko apnay seenay se laga k rakhta hai to this is valid and u know here in our city there happened an incident that a man killed a cat by throwing acid on to her bcoz cat killed his pigion ..... so what happened to hinm his 4 children died on consequtive 4 fridays ...... and the doctors couldnt understand their deaths ..... so he called some aaamils and they did their job and by their ilaj ........ ( BY THE WILL OF ALLAH is understood so dont go intothat ) on the next friday nothing happened to him so its a real world thing sadia .... u cant deny that i will give u example .........
buttJee: I'm waiting for you to back up your arguments in the light of Quran & Sunnah.
I don't believe half the stuff that happens in Pakistan. So you don't need to waste your time telling me stories from your city.
Actually, aapki's right! All I'm doing is wasting my time over here. I'm gonna stick to mine and you go stick to yours. You've failed to convince me and I don't think you'll be able to anyway. I prefer believing in stuff thats been said in the light of Quran & Sunnah and not in weird stories/stuff happening in Pakistan.
I'll stick to my beliefs and you can stick to yours.
"I put my trust in Allah, my Lord and your Lord! There is not a moving creature, but He has a grasp of its forelock. Verily, my Lord is on the straight path. (The truth)"
(11:55-56)
"...Indeed my prayer, my sacrifice, my living and my dying are for Allaah, the Lord of the worlds" (6:162)
Let me quote from a ** Salafi source ** (www.islam-qa.com)
http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=13792&dgn=3
With regard to various kinds of ruqyah, the scholars have stated that in order for ruqyah to be correct and acceptable, it must meet three conditions:
1 – Neither the raaqi nor the one for whom he does ruqyah should believe that the ruqyah brings benefit in and of itself, because this implies associating something with Allaah (shirk). Rather he should believe that it is a means which can only bring benefit by Allaah’s Leave.
2 – The ruqyah should not involve anything that goes against sharee’ah, such as calling upon anyone other than Allaah or seeking the help of the jinn and devils, and the like, otherwise it will constitute shirk – we seek refuge with Allaah from that.
3 – It should be understandable; if it includes any mysterious words or humbug it is not permissible. (See al-Qawl al-Mufeed by Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen, 1/184).
If the ruqyah is free of these objectionable matters ** then it is valid in whatever form it takes, ** whether it is recited over the sick person, with or without blowing, or it is recited over water which is then drunk by the patient, or over oil which is then rubbed onto him, and the like. That is permissible and is beneficial by the permission and grace of Allaah.
** BENEFITS OF ZAMZAM WATER ** (Source : islam-qa.com)
Click here to get a printable version
Question:
What are the benefits of Zamzam water?
Answer:
Praise be to Allaah.
The water of Zamzam is water of great virtue which first sprang forth when Jibreel (peace be upon him) struck (the earth) with his wing (Saheeh al-Bukhaari, 3364). Allaah provided water for Ismaa’eel (peace be upon him) and his mother with it. The heart of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was washed with Zamzam water. Many saheeh ahaadeeth have been narrated concerning its virtues, such as:
The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “The best water on the face of the earth is the water of Zamzam; it is a kind of food and a healing from sickness.” (Saheeh al-Jaami’, 3302).
It was reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) drank it, did wudoo’ with it and poured it on his head. He used to carry Zamzam water in small vessels and large containers in order to pour it on the sick and give it to them to drink. (al-Silsilat al-Saheehah, 883).
One of the Sahaabah said: we used to call it al-Shabbaa’ah (satisfying) and it helped us to take care our families (i.e., it was filling and helped them to do without food, it was also sufficient to nourish children). (al-Silsilat al-Saheehah li’l-Albaani, 2685).
The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ** “The water of Zamzam is for whatever it is drunk for.” ** (Narrated by Ibn Maajah, 3062; this is a hasan hadeeth. ** Scholars and righteous people have experienced this – they have drunk it with the intention of fulfilling some need such as healing from sickness or being freed from poverty and distress, and Allaah fulfilled these hopes). **
And Allaah knows best.
Islam Q&A
Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid (www.islam-qa.com)
** VIRTUES OF ZAMZAM WATER ** (Source: islam-qa.com)
Question:
What is the status of Zamzam water? What are its virtues? Why are Muslims so keen on Zamzam water?
Answer:
Praise be to Allaah.
Imaam Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyah (may Allaah have mercy on him) said:
Zamzam water is the best and noblest of all waters, the highest in status, the dearest to people, the most precious and valuable to them. It was dug by Jibreel and is the water with which Allaah quenched the thirst of Ismaa’eel.
It was reported in Saheeh Muslim that the Prophet SAWS (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said to Abu Dharr, who had stayed near the Ka’bah and its coverings for forty days and nights with no food or drink other than (Zamzam): “How long have you been here?” Abu Dharr said: ** “I have been here for thirty days and nights.” ** The Prophet SAWS (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said, “Who has been feeding you?” He said, ** “I have had nothing but Zamzam water, and I have gotten so fat that I have folds of fat on my stomach. ** I do not feel any of the tiredness or weakness of hunger and I have not become thin.” The Prophet SAWS (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Verily, it is blessed, it is food that nourishes.” (Narrated by Imaam Muslim, 2473).
Other scholars added, with their own isnaads, “… and a healing for sickness.” This was narrated by al-Bazzaar (1171, 1172) and al-Tabaraani in al-Sagheer (295). In Sunan Ibn Maajah (al-Manaasik, 3062) it was reported from Jaabir ibn ‘Abd-Allaah that the Prophet SAWS (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “The water of Zamzam is for whatever it is drunk for.” The Salaf and ‘ulamaa’ acted upon this Hadeeth. When ‘Abd-Allaah ibn al-Mubaarak went for Hajj, he came to Zamzam and said, “O Allaah, Ibn Abi’l-Mawaali told us from Muhammad ibn al-Munkadir from Jaabir (may Allaah be pleased with him) that Your Prophet SAWS (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said, ‘The water of Zamzam is for whatever it is drunk for.’ I am drinking it to ward off thirst on the Day of Resurrection.” Ibn Abi’l-Mawaali is thiqah (trustworthy) so the hadeeth is hasan (good).
** Ibn al-Qayyim ** (may Allaah have mercy on him) said:
Myself and others tried seeking healing with Zamzam water and saw ** wondrous things. I sought healing with it from a number of illnesses, and I was healed by the permission of Allaah. ** I saw someone who nourished himself with it for a number of days, half a month or more, and he did not feel hunger; he performed Tawaaf along with the other people just as they did. And he told me that he consumed nothing but Zamzam water for forty days and he had the strength to have intercourse with his wife, to fast and to perform Tawaaf numerous times.
Zaad al-Ma’aad, 4/319, 320.
Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allaah preserve him) said:
** So you should have the intention of what you want to gain by drinking this water. He should drink his fill, i.e., fill his stomach with it until it is filled to the ribs, because this water is good. ** A hadeeth has been narrated concerning this: the difference between the believers and the hypocrites is drinking one’s fill of Zamzam water. (Narrated by Ibn Maajah in al-Manaasik, 1017; al-Haakim, 1/472).
Al-Boosairi said: this is a saheeh isnaad; its men are mawthooqoon [trustworthy].
This is because Zamzam water is not sweet; it is somewhat salty, and the believer only drinks this somewhat salty water out of faith, believing that there is barakah (blessing) in it. So when he drinks his fill of it, this is a sign of faith.
(Sharh al-Mumti’, 7/377, 378, 379).
Perhaps Allaah did not make it sweet so that people would not forget that the meaning of drinking it is an act of worship. Whatever the case, its taste is fine and there is nothing wrong with it. We ask Allaah to quench our thirst from the Cistern (al-Hawd) of His Prophet on the Day of the greatest thirst. May Allaah bless our Prophet Muhammad,
Islam Q&A
Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid (www.islam-qa.com)
I know zamzam water may be a little off topic, but I thought I might share it with you.
i said i wasn't coming back for 12 days but seriously i hv got addicted to this site.Any ways Sa'dia i did a little research and i found that in Bukhari there is no hadith abt charms in others there are but none of them tell that any of those charms or amulets contained quranic ayas.
for example
some people oppose its use.
They
cite the following Hadith which prohibits the use of Rukyas which were used by people
at the
times of ignorance, and which contained polytheistic words.
The Holy Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said: The people were displayed
in front of me and I saw one Prophet passing by with a large group of his followers,
another Prophet passing by with only a small group of people, another Prophet passing
by with only ten (persons), another Prophet passing by with only five (persons), and
another Prophet passed by alone. And then I looked and saw a large multitude of people
(sawâd 'azîm), so I asked Gibreel: "Are these people my followers?" He said: "No, but
look towards the horizon." I looked and saw a very large multitude of people. Gibreel
said: "Those are your followers, and there are seventy thousand of them in front of
them who will neither have any reckoning of their accounts nor will receive any
punishment." I asked: "Why?" He said: "They used not to treat themselves with
cauterization nor amulets, nor to see auguries and omens in birds, and they relied
solely
upon their Lord." On hearing this, 'Ukasha ibn Mihsan stood up and said to the Holy
Prophet - "Invoke Allah to make me one of them." The Holy Prophet said: "O Allah,
make him one of them." Then another man stood up and said to the Prophet: "Invoke
Allah to make me one of them." The Holy Prophet said: 'Ukasha has preceded you with
this request." (Saheeh Bukhari)
Here in this Hadith the word "amulets" denotes the Jahili Rukyas used by the ignorant.
These
are made with spells, incantations, charms, magic etc., which are forbidden in
religion. This is
what the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) meant in the above Hadith. It
does
not relate to the Rukya according to the Holy Prophet's Sunnah consisting of using
some
verses of the Qur'an or the permitted supplications for treatment.
Now i haven't come across any hadith which does not allow the use of Quranic verses for cure. and i also came across this
As for Ta'weez, Hadhrat ibn Amr ibn al-Aas (may Allah be pleased with him) used to
write some words and hang it on the necks of children. (Abu Dawud)./quote**
secondle as u spoke abt peers taking money...well i hv been going to a peer for last 20 years and he has still not asked for money....why is that? does he enjoy breaking the powers of evil eye ? these are not easy practices as some ppl tend to believe. He has an educated man a gold medalist in university...has a job so why does he devote most of his time helping people who are under the effect of black magic and himself gets hardly any sleep.
And saadia another thing if u don't believe in some practices they are not a lie...if u have anything against peers i think that is because of ur lack of knowledge abt them...i assume that u have never gone to a peer and all the knowledge u have abt them is from the books and articles.
And well as far as shirk is concerned i don't believe in minor or major shirk...shirk is a shirk and it is a belief that some body else other than Allah can cure u.and as far as the matter of magic is concerned Quran clearly states:
** 2:102 They followed what the evil ones gave out (falsely) against the power of Solomon: the blasphemers Were, not Solomon, but the evil ones, teaching men Magic, and such things as came down at babylon to the angels Harut and Marut. But neither of these taught anyone (Such things) without saying: "We are only for trial; so do not blaspheme." They learned from them the means to sow discord between man and wife. But they could not thus harm anyone except by Allah's permission. And they learned what harmed them, not what profited them. And they knew that the buyers of (magic) would have no share in the happiness of the Hereafter. And vile was the price for which they did sell their souls, if they but knew!**
now some ppl say magic cannot harm them unless Allah wills. of course that is true and it is also true that any worldly disease like malaria cnnot harm u unkess Allah wills. But Allah only wills it to see the belief the man puts in him...if a man goes to a peer to get cured of evil eye thru Quran then is he commiting shirk?????
Allah states in Quran:*, 'In the Qurãn is (spiritual, physical)
cure for people.' *
NOw we know that in medical books the cure of all diseases is written then why not every one of us picks up a medical book and strts leraning the cures???
ANd yes i also came across some ppl saying there is no power in the written text of Allah it self...now if that were true why are we prohibited to touch Quran if we are in need of wudu or ghusl???and well
It is reported that the evil Pharoah (Firaun) had the words "Bismillah AlRahman
AlRaheem"
inscribed on one of the walls of his palaces. Due to this, Allah delayed his due
punishment for
several years, although the unbeliever claimed himself to be a God, and whereas Syedna
Moosa (peace and blessings be upon him) had once prayed to Allah to punish the Pharaoh
for
his misdeeds (Tafseer Naeemi).
Such is the effect of the written blessed text....still if u have sum confusion abt it ask. and Allah knows best
thansk ench.......
u r saying the same things which i wanted to say ....... but u know the way i talk ........!!!!!!! :s
THANKS AGAIN
Hi, every body. The references given above by one of our member were realy good. Being a victim of such situations in which you wear Taweez, I was already aware of the effectiveness of it, but never had really gotten exact referances in such matter.
Taweez is realy help in getting rid of Jinnat, or Sahar or any bad things and is good for barakah as well.
Originally posted by enchanted:
......meant in the above Hadith. It
does not relate to the Rukya according to the Holy Prophet's Sunnah consisting of using some verses of the Qur'an or the permitted supplications for treatment.
Please quote me a hadith where Prophet PBUH used a "rukya"/"taweez".
*.....Allah states in Quran:, 'In the Qurãn is (spiritual, physical)
cure for people.' *
Brother, the words in parenthesis "( )" are not Allah SWT's words, but understanding of translator. Can you quote the whole ayat (translation ONLY) please?
ANd yes i also came across some ppl saying there is no power in the written text of Allah it self...now if that were true why are we prohibited to touch Quran if we are in need of wudu or ghusl???**
mind providing verse?
and well It is reported that the evil Pharoah (Firaun) had the words "Bismillah AlRahman AlRaheem" inscribed on one of the walls of his palaces. Due to this, Allah delayed his due punishment for several years, although the unbeliever claimed himself to be a God, and whereas Syedna
Moosa (peace and blessings be upon him) had once prayed to Allah to punish the Pharaoh
for his misdeeds (Tafseer Naeemi).
Did Allah SWT say the reason for delaying was because he had inscribed "Bismillah..." on walls?
May Allah SWT guide us all towards right and help us follow the right
well guess wat i thought saadia is going to cum up with sumthing well but here u are changez.
waisey thanx for contradicting my views now ur questions
Please quote me a hadith where Prophet PBUH used a "rukya"/"taweez
Brother, the words in parenthesis "( )" are not Allah SWT's words, but understanding of translator. Can you quote the whole ayat (translation ONLY) please?
I am a sister!!! and well wat else can u understand abt this verse and another thing Allah hasnot been very clear abt all his revelations so Prophet Muhamad used to explain it. and anyways after reading the following ahadith that will also be clear to ypou.
well if u had doubt abt the other verse here is another one
well as far as wudu being needed for reading Quran is concerned there is no verse proving it…but again Quran is outlines our religions and doesnot tell us of these things but Rasulullah has and of course our islamic scholars are uninamous on this…well here is an answer abt it from a scholar:
well ur last question…i need to ask Allah abt it…and as Prophethood has ended and i can’t become a Prophetess it is humanly impossible for me to ask Allah to clearify it…but i guess experience has taught me that the words of Allah are indeed powerful…i am not telling u to start using taweez or anything but i need it because i am ill and it is not malaria
And another thing to all of u who have serious misconceptions abt sufism…you all read what others say…i would suggest that u read books of some sufi writers.
well well…i got a little carried away and said i am ill…well i know most of u will think i have sum incurable desease or sumthing
well it is not that…well actually the basic reason is that for sum reason the jinns think that i am an easy target for them ( well if i start telling u my encounters that’ll take a very long time)
and well taweez lowers the rate of these encounters sum wat for me.
secondly cum to think of it…well i don’t hv malaria and i just wrote the word in the flow of thoughts but then i recalled that only a few months earlier i catched malaria…i was under medication of course ( my pir doesn’t disallow it and my bro is a doc) but i got cured in abt half the time…because of taweez and rukaya…queer rite?
Thank you sister (thanks for correcting me
)for sharing the info and the verse about ‘purifying’ before touching Quran. I want to find out if this “purifying” is for ablution? or ghusl after sexual pleasure? meaning the one who is not janab (not in need of ghusl) can touch?
The ahadith you mentioned still said about ‘reciting’ the verses. One of them though talks about “(blowing in water and Taweez)”. How many scholars do actually agree that ‘rukan = blwoing/taweez’?
Anyway, I’m more comfortable in reciting Quran rather than placing it on my arm or around neck in form of taweez.
WELL I GOT A REFERENCE
written in termizy " hazrror SAW....SAID that when a child borns aik ayat os k galay mai latka deni chaiye "
so i think quranic ayat to sabit hain
no comments about otherS
Originally posted by buttJee:
*WELL I GOT A REFERENCE
written in termizy " hazrror SAW....SAID that when a child borns aik ayat os k galay mai latka deni chaiye " *
Never heard that one before. Is that available somewhere on net? I don't have a copy of Tirmidhi collection.
well i dont know any information about net ahadees ... tell me the one coz i usually need that .......
well Changez...as i said i am not telling u to start using taweez...and it is good that u feel that it is better to recite quran instead of hanging it around ur neck or tying it around the arm. Well as i wear taweez it doesnot mean that i have any doubts about the power of reciting Quran...and another thing whether u wear taweez or recite Quran or do anything that Allah has told u to do without being concious of Him then it won't help.
As far as how many scholars believe in it...as i suggested before read books and articles by sufi writers. Allah knows best.