Tauqeer Zia, many others in political limbo after Benazir’s death.

It is ineed a shame that PPP is going through so much turmoil.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=91447

ISLAMABAD: Benazir Bhutto’s assassination has left the political future of many newcomers to the party in limbo with Lt. Gen. (retd) Tauqeer Zia not being an exception

The former chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, against whom the PPP had filed a corruption reference, said he would have to check the mind of new party guards and only then could determine his future course of action.

“I have yet to check the minds of the party hierarchy as to what they think about me and how they could make use of me,” he told The News on Tuesday.

Zia, who claims he had developed an excellent equation with Ms Bhutto in just one meeting, admitted he had no old ties with Benazir Bhutto.

And it took him no time to win late Bhutto’s confidence during the single visit they made to Peshawar where she went in connection with political campaign on December 26, a day before her assassination.

Although, he was taken into the party fold in early December, Zia said his first meeting with Bhutto took place on her way to Peshawar where she went to address a public rally.

He said Bhutto sent an e-mail desiring that Zia should accompany her to Peshawar and it was where he won her confidence.

“We traveled together and had a good discussion. She was keen to listen to me,” Zia said recalling his meeting.

Asked if he never met Bhutto before the Peshawar yatra, Zia said he met Bhutto when she came to the National Defense College as the prime minister and also when he was the DG Military Operations.

Responding to a question on how he made his way into the PPP, he said Qasim Zia, a provincial party leader, had contacted him. “I was contacted by Imran Khan and Qasim Zia both.”

Elaborating the prospects of his political future in the PPP, Zia said although he often met Jehangir Badr, he would wait for the hierarchy i.e. Asif Ali Zardari and Makhdoom Amin Fahim to decide if he could be of any use.

However, Jehangir Badr termed Zia as a valuable asset for the party and said Bhutto spoke very high of him.

“Benazir Bhutto had termed him (Zia) as a brave man. He was present on the stage during Benazir’s last address in Rawalpindi,” Badar said and added that Zia was very much a part of the PPP.

Zia is the person against whom the PPP had filed a corruption reference with NAB when he was the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

The reference was filed on April 7, 2005 which accused Zia of taking home an expensive official car at less than half of its original price in violation of the government policies. These details were put on the PPP website.

Even Benazir Bhutto’s spokesperson had told The News after Zia’s joining the PPP that the party stood by its reference. Farhatullah Babar, Bhutto’s spokesperson, had said that it was the duty of NAB to proceed against him.

He had even stated that the PPP would proceed against such references once it came to power.

Re: Tauqeer Zia, many others in political limbo after Benazir’s death.

please stick to the topic at hand guys.

Deep rooted establishment's favourites like Tauqeer Zia are the oppertunists that pop up whenever a party is certain to win elections or come into the power. In 70s a whole herd of typical establishment and agency men entered into People's party and made damanges, politically, governence wise and even went on the personal level and harmed physically (that pig kasuri and his slained father) to the rising hope of new Islamic Socialist bloc that ZAB dreamed of.

That's right. Pakistan, under the great leadership of President Musharaf and his govt. is moving away for socialist policies of the past that had ruined Pakistani economy.

aha....that shows how much you know the green revolution of 60s and typical propegenda of '9 sitaare' that Pak economy slowed down in 70s. Then whole bunch of stats and what not.

Janab, it takes time to change a pure agriclutural country into a hybrid one with strong social welfare for 120M people. It would have taken just one another term before you could see how detailed ZAB's program was. Unfortunately, the black sheeps in PPP (all the waderaz inlcuding kharz, jatoyiz etc) and agency funded '9 sitare' put a halt on the train when it was about to reach its destination. If you study economic policies under Ayub Khan, ZAB and then the dog Zia, you would know what kind of genius this country had. Ofcourse its never to easy to take money from 'bees khandaan' and give away to the poor.

You won't find much about that era because the capitalist west didn't like a bit what Bhutto was trying to achieve.

Mashallah. God Bless the Capitalist West. They obviously saw the mistakes in ZAB’s nationalization spree and socialist policies. See, the West is not always against Pakistan. :k:

Poor Lt Gen Tauqeer.
Will he installhis son into PPP too like he did in the Pak Cric Team :D

You mean you agree on ZAB assassinated by the West for destablizing Pakistan and promoting Zia to head of state, while changing the democracy into military regime?!

Actually, ZAB was hanged, not assasinated by the West. Infact the West requested he be sent in exile. Death penalty should be abolished. No one deserves to be killed by another human being.

^ This pretty much shows your knowledge and analytical skills. They start from Dawn and ends at Jang/NWaqt.

Thank you for saving our time, which we would have wasted going into deep analysis of ZAB’s reform agenda and policies.

LOL. Deep analysis of ZAB's reform agenda and policies. :)

Excuse me if America would have wanted ZAB alive then there was no Zia aur even his satans (people like him dont have farishtay :P) would have had the guts to kill him...it was the U.S who wanted him to get killed so he got killed. he wasn't hanged but tortured in jail! get your facts correct your MQM people dont go by the book..all they know is how to kill people.

Has anyone raised an FIR against the USA yet?

Even though when death occurs is written probably even before a person is born that doesnt mean you just torture a person and if he dies its because his time was up :S this is not the religious forum so stick to how the events carried out at that time... people who died in the bomb blast was it only because their time was up so why do you guys chant slogans in this forum that those extremists should be captured and punished :s peoples times were up buddy let the sucide bombers go and explode anywhere they want to they end up going to people whose time is up so why bother..those who survive they have two three more explosions too go :S isnt it? ....sheeeshhh...

Even a jahil knows that the judge on ZABs trial was corrupted to ensure ZAB was hanged to death (assassinated). With CIAs blessing, Zia made It possible. But let us not talk on that, coz you will never admit. Even If you know.

Haha you changed your opinions after reading my reply :p

Didnt you say that death is in the hands of Allah (swt) first..

I agree. Pakistan should abolish the police force and lawyers. Who needs them. Na rahay ga baans na bajay gi baansri. :k:

^So are you saying that the people who believed in police men useless for Pakistan anyway and justified killing of police force in the bomb blast in Lahore died for the good cause. Thus many more of these type of bomb blasts should occure in future?

Yeah, dismantle judiciary, lock down all press/media they are worthless pieces in a society… we really don’t need them… all we need is Musharraf.

Indeed. Only the greatest institution in Pakistan, the Army, and President Musharaf can save Pakistan. :k: