Tauba

Assalamualaikum-wa rahmatullahi-wabarakatahu

Could some one please shed some light of how to perform a tauba for a wrong doing…?

Jazakallah khaer

Re: Tauba

sincere Tauba i guess. you ask for the taube anytime by reciting astaghfaar with the intention of not repeating the sin again. Allah is mericiful

Gunnah or sin can be forgiven by Taubah Allah is Rehman aur Raheem, most mercifull.

However if your sin is also a crime then it cannot be pardonned by law, for example murder,rape etc... you can do Taubah and thats between you and your Lord, but it wont stop you being arrested.

However that said all sins can be forgiven if you are sincere in repentance and indeed Allah is most mercifull.

many thanks..allah SWT bless you and your family...

Pray to ALLAH that ALLAH forgive your Sin and and try your level best not to do that sin again but even not knowing we commit lot of sins so atleast do astagfar 100 times in a day

:salam2:

There are two types of sins (1) Saghira and (2) is Kabira. (1) Gunnah (sins) saghira are forgivable but the (2) Gunnah Kabira i.e. shirk is unforgivable. Here i’m quoting some ‘Ahadeth’ from book Sahih Muslim, hope it will clear ur mind.

Here's an outline of lecture I gave once...(remember it's just an outline so doesn't have very many details)

Bismillah

Repentance or Tauba is obligatory for EVERY sin. The linguistic meaning of tawba means "to return". When we repent, we return to Allah swt. You return from disobedience to obedience. Obedience is a part of Tawheed because then we recognize that it is Allah that is above all and that He is the One who should be our most overwhelming concern.

The Prophet PBUH himself repented over seventy times a day! This is a man who was promised Jannah! And have a look at ourselves. May Allah swt give us guidance and humble us.

Steps of Repentace

If the sin is between the servant and the Lord (for example, not praying or fasting or something in secret), then there are three conditions:

1. Leave the sin immediately
  2. Feel remorse or guilt of having done the sin.
  3. Resolve never to do the sin again.

A note that I must put in here is that Tauba and Sincerity go hand in hand. Sincerity is of UTMOST importance. You really have to do this for the sake of Allah and 100% of your heart.

IF the sin has affected the right of others (i.e. you have spread a rumor or stole something), then you must redress the wrong. For example, if you have spread around a rumor about someone to slander their reputation, go back and tell the people you were wrong and so and so is actually a good person. OR if you stole something, return the item or pay off what it's worth.

Now, some of us, when it comes to repentance/tauba get very disheartened. I know I do. I have done sooo much wrong, how can I be forgiven for everything?

Don't be disheartened my brothers and sisters because as the Prophet PBUH has said in this following hadith narrated by Abu Musa Al-Ash'ari,

Allah, the Exalted, will continue to stretch out His Hand in the night so that the sinner of the day may repent and continue to stretch out his hand in the daytime so that the sinners of the night may repent, until the sun rises from the West

Take a look at the last part of that Hadith. "until the sun rises from the West" What does that mean?

The day of Judgement. That is when the sun will rise from the west right? Basically, this Hadith gives us that guarantee that as long as we repent and with full sincerity, Allah The Most Merciful will forgive us, InshAllah.

As another nice story that gives us all hope, I'll post one last hadith:

Abu Sa’id al-Khudri (Radi Allah Anhu) reported
Allah’s Messenger (sal-allahu- alleihi-wasallam ) as saying:

“There was a person before you who had killed
ninety-nine persons and then made an inquiry
about the learned persons of the world
(who could show him the way to salvation).

He was directed to a monk. He came to him
and told him that he had killed ninety-nine persons
and asked him whether there was any scope
for his repentance to be accepted.
He (monk) said: No. He killed him also
and thus completed one hundred.

He then asked about the learned persons of the earth
and he was directed to a scholar, and he told him that
he had killed one hundred persons and asked him whether
there was any scope for his repentance to be accepted.
He (scholar) said: Yes;
what stands between you and the repentance?
You better go to such and such land;
there are people devoted to prayer and worship
and you also worship along with them and do not come
to the land of yours since it was an evil land (for you).

So he went away and he had hardly covered
half the distance when death came to him
and there was a dispute between the angels of mercy
and the angels of punishment.

The angels of mercy said:
This man has come as a penitent and remorseful to Allah
and the angels of punishment said:
He has done no good at all.

Then there came another angel in the form of
a human being in order to decide between them.
He said: You measure the land to which he has drawn near.
They measured it and found him nearer to the land
where he intended to go (the land of piety),
and so the angels of mercy took possession of it.

Qatada said that Hasan told him that it was said to them that as death approached him, he crawled upon his chest (and managed) to slip in the land of mercy.”

This Hadith is both in Bukhari and Muslim.

Please forgive me for any mistakes I may have made.