Tarawih - Wajib or not

I have a few questions about Tarawih and please do not go into sectarian stuff…

Here is a hadith from Sahih Bukhari* -v**olume 3, Book 32, Number 227: * Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, “Whoever prayed at night the whole month of Ramadan out of sincere Faith and hoping for a reward from Allah, then all his previous sins will be forgiven.” Ibn Shihab (a sub-narrator) said, “Allah’s Apostle died and the people continued observing that (i.e. Nawafil offered individually, not in congregation), and it remained as it was during the Caliphate of Abu Bakr and in the early days of 'Umar’s Caliphate.” 'Abdur Rahman bin 'Abdul Qari said, “I went out in the company of 'Umar bin Al-Khattab one night in Ramadan to the mosque and found the people praying in different groups. A man praying alone or a man praying with a little group behind him. So, 'Umar said, ‘In my opinion I would better collect these (people) under the leadership of one Qari (Reciter) (i.e. let them pray in congregation!)’. So, he made up his mind to congregate them behind Ubai bin Ka’b. Then on another night I went again in his company and the people were praying behind their reciter. On that, 'Umar remarked, ** ‘What an excellent Bid’a **(i.e. innovation in religion) this is; but the prayer which they do not perform, but sleep at its time is better than the one they are offering.’ He meant the prayer in the last part of the night. (In those days) people used to pray in the early part of the night.”

My conclusions from this?

1. Umar himself was not praying in the mosque initially
  2. Umar was not saying these prayers even after he congregated people and they started saying it in Tarawih format
  3. Umar called Tarawih ba Jamaat as Bid’a
  4. Prophet (SAW) never prayed tarawih in congregation or otherwise instead he prayed tahajjud.

If my conclusions are incorrect then why is there so much emphasis on tarawih today?

Taraweeh salah is not obligatory and according to one of the two scholarly opinions, the correct one, is that it is better to pray the salah in congregation because it is sunnah of the sahaba (radiAllahu anhuma)

at least this hadith does not say it

that was a lingustic remark and not a sharee' bidah because the Messenger of Allah (sal-allahu alayhi wa sallam) did lead taraweeh salah in the masjid for two days in a row, but he discontinue this practice due to the fear that it may become obligatory. I am surprised that you do not bring other ahadith which explain this hadith even further specially when the statement of Umar (radiAllahu anho) has been brought up many times before and discussed. Here is that hadith again: ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) prayed one night in the mosque, and the people followed him in prayer. Then he prayed the next night, and many people came. Then they gathered on the third or fourth night, and the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) did not come out to them. The next morning he said: “I saw what you did, and nothing kept me from coming out to you except the fact that I feared that it would be made obligatory for you.” And that was in Ramadaan. [Agreed upon]

this is not true, read the hadith posted above

you meant to say if your conclusions are correct? Because it is a special sunnah of Allah's Messenger (sal-allahu 'alayhi wa sallam) and one who prays gets so much reward. Why does any one want to abandon any reward opportunity, specially during the month of Ramdhan!? Secondly, praying in congregation is the sunnah of the sahabas (may Allah be pleased with them) in addition to other rewards that you get: walking to masjid, praying Isha salah in congregation, etc.

and Allah knows best

Re: Tarawih - Wajib or not

^^

I would personally advise to the members and moderators of gs. please do not allow this issue to be discussion during the month of ramazan. members could come with the stronger opposition to this act.

because people are practicing it, considering it as a right act, it may cause bad feelings and may damage the unity among muslims.

raise this issue in some other month. thought people dont care about this issue in other months. thx

Sunnah of Sahaba? I thought religion was perfected and completed during the life of Prophet (SAW)? I think we are supposed to follow only Sunnat - Mohammadi (SAW).

Verse(5:3);
"Today I perfected your religion for you and completed my favor to you and have chosen for you Al-Islam as your religion."

It is obvious that he went there and wasn't already there and hence wasn't praying.

'Abdur Rahman bin 'Abdul Qari said, "I went out in the company of 'Umar bin Al-Khattab one night in Ramadan to the mosque and found the people praying in different groups.

Yes it does. Look at the sentence. If he was praying the tarawih then how did he go there and find people praying instead of being there already.

"Then on another night I went again in his company and the people were praying behind their reciter."

that was a lingustic remark and not a sharee' bidah because the Messenger of Allah (sal-allahu alayhi wa sallam) did lead taraweeh salah in the masjid for two days in a row, but he discontinue this practice due to the fear that it may become obligatory. I am surprised that you do not bring other ahadith which explain this hadith even further specially when the statement of Umar (radiAllahu anho) has been brought up many times before and discussed. Here is that hadith again: ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) prayed one night in the mosque, and the people followed him in prayer. Then he prayed the next night, and many people came. Then they gathered on the third or fourth night, and the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) did not come out to them. The next morning he said: “I saw what you did, and nothing kept me from coming out to you except the fact that I feared that it would be made obligatory for you.” And that was in Ramadaan. [Agreed upon]
this is not true, read the hadith posted above

this hadith clarifies that the prophet was not in the mosque but praying at home actually.

*Sahih Bukhari - Volume 1, Book 11, Number 696: * Narrated 'Aisha:
Allah's Apostle used to pray in his room at night. As the wall of the room was LOW, the people saw him and some of them stood up to follow him in the prayer. In the morning they spread the news. The following night the Prophet stood for the prayer and the people followed him. This went on for two or three nights. Thereupon Allah's Apostle did not stand for the prayer the following night, and did not come out. In the morning, the people asked him about it. He replied, that he way afraid that the night prayer might become compulsory.
*Sahih Bukhari - **Volume 1, Book 11, Number 697: * Narrated 'Aisha:
The Prophet had a mat which he used to spread during the day and use as a curtain at night. So a number of people gathered at night facing it and prayed behind him.

you meant to say if your conclusions are correct? Because it is a special sunnah of Allah's Messenger (sal-allahu 'alayhi wa sallam) and one who prays gets so much reward. Why does any one want to abandon any reward opportunity, specially during the month of Ramdhan!? Secondly, praying in congregation is the sunnah of the sahabas (may Allah be pleased with them) in addition to other rewards that you get: walking to masjid, praying Isha salah in congregation, etc.

and Allah knows best
What you say is right only for the congregational prayer and not otherwise.

sahih bukhari - Volume 1, Book 11, Number 698: * Narrated Zaid bin Thabit:
Allah's Apostle made a small room in the month of Ramadan (Sa'id said, "I think that Zaid bin Thabit said that it was made of a mat") and he prayed there for a few nights, and so some of his companions prayed behind him. When he came to know about it, he kept on sitting. In the morning, he went out to them and said, "I have seen and understood what you did. **You should pray in your houses, for the best prayer of a person is that which he prays in his house except the compulsory prayers." *

I think the last hadith nails the fact that Prophet (SAW) prayed tahujjad at his home and people followed who were in the mosque. Tahajjud is a prayer mentioned in Quran as well. Tarawih has no mention in Quran as far as my limited knowledge is concerned.

Brother Intuit. I respectfully disagree. It is exactly for the reason that people care in this holy month that we should talk about it with an open heart and mind.

As far I know, Tarawih is not a wajib prayer but it is sunnah.Prophet Muhammad (SW) also used to offer the Tarawih prayer.It’s is also said that one who doesn’t offer Tarawih during the month of Ramadan, his/her Sawm/Fast will not be accepted,and it’s like wearing a shirt with no pants under.Please correct me if I am wrong.

Sahih Bukhari
Search Quran

@righteous

if you wanted to start another game and debate then you should have at least waited for Ramadhan to be over. Knowing you, I should not have given you benefit of doubt, but I thought maybe you're sincere. What are you going to gain by deceiving others and staring this repetitive useless discussion when you've nothing but ill intentions? At least ponder upon your own words:
I have a few questions about Tarawih and please do not go into sectarian stuff...
You think we, the people of sunnah, do not know why you are raising these questions? We know in and out of you raafidha (go complain about this word to mods but people like you deserve it)! As far your response, it is as pathetic as your attempt to act innocent about this whole issue. Why do you not go back to shaichat or answering-ansar and copy paste some more stuff?

I will wait for end of month before I can blast your poor attempt, insha'Allah

brother, may Allah preserve you, this is not correct. As you very well said, salat ul-taraweeh is not wajib then how a person be sinning if he misses it?

and Allah knows best

^^
Brother Allahkabanda;

"Tali dono hathoun say bujti hay"

raafidha reserve the right to say against Tarawih; because they see the same kind of reaction against "Matam" in the month of Muharram. I can say it will be stopped once the people of Sunnah stop it during the month of Muharram atleast.

May views are different from you and i am not in favor of the prayer of Tarawih (a sunnah prayer in congregation) but i would not say anything against this in respect of my muslim brother. I respect their love to "Sunnah". and i appreciate they are practicing it considering it that it is a right practice. However it is debatable, which we should not start it now.

i also oblige the views of brother righteous; that this is the only time when people can think over it, we can raise the issue.

but the problem is: how we can stop people "to feel harted"; they always think its misology against them, when they see conflicting arguments. we cant control their emotions.

advise for people: create a courage to read this kind of stuff, if not possible; stay way. we have lots of other things to do. :-) thx

'What an excellent Bid'a (

mafhoom-e-hadees hai** her bidd'at gumrahee hai **

is hadees ko samjhnay kay bad app hazrat ummer rz kay kalaam ko samjhain gai

main ik shaikh ul hadees wa tafseer say suuna hay

hazrat ummar ka mutlub yeh k agar taraweeh ko koi bidd'at kahay to kia hee ahsan bidd'at hai ..lakin choonkay hadees say maloom hoa kay her biddat gumraahe hai layhazza yeh biddat nahi ho saktee

hazrat ummar alim or faqeeh thay un kay kalam ko shreyat kay asooloon per samjhna ulma-e-karam ka hee kaam na k app or mujh jaisai bay ilm logoon ka jo sirf zahiree ibartoon ko perhtay hain

Sunnah of Sahaba? I thought religion was perfected and completed during the life of Prophet (SAW)? I think we are supposed to follow only Sunnat - Mohammadi (SAW).

ajeeb bat hai app sunnat-e-sahaba ko sunnat-e-nabi say alag kaisai samjhtay hain

kia quran main shaba ko imaan ka mayaar nahi theraya gya ? nabi paak salal Alllaho alyhi waslam nay khud fermaya k

mere bad mere or khulafa-e-rashideen ki sunnat ko thaamna

or fermaya *tum jis sahabi ki iqtada kero gay hidyat per raho gay *

is kay bad koi muslmaan kaisai sooch sakta hai kay sahaba ka koi ammal shareyat say hut ker ho ga ?

is terah to app quran hadeees ko bhi jhutla rahay hain jo khud sahaba ki iqtada ka hukam day rahay hain

tarweeh sunnat-e-mu'akida jo wujoob k hukam main hai jammat kay saath ...is main koi ikhtilaaf nahi ....

behter hai k apnee aqal say koi faisla kernay kay bajaye kissi mustanad Alim say sawal kerain

You are so absolutely right dude, but I actually would love for you to not give me your twisted interpretations and back it with references like i have put a few.

It's a major misconception among muslims, it took three hundred years for Shariah to be completed.

I have asked for honest thoughts based on the hadiths quoted and raised some extremely valid points with authentic references.

You are insulting me and my beliefs.

Let any reasonable person without bias judge who is making arguments and who is blowing hot air.

Please feel free to blast me right away, why wait till the end of the month and please spare me the lame personal attacks. If you have something of substance, then i am all ears.

Oh!!! That is indeed news for me. So Allah send down the verse without really thinking it through - Nauzobillah

and the PRophet (SAW) nauzobillah did not complete his mission.

Can you elaborate on this Quranic verse then...

Verse(5:3);
"Today I perfected your religion for you and completed my favor to you and have chosen for you Al-Islam as your religion."

It took 3 or 4 hundreds of years for Quran and hadith to be compiled by the sahaba and taba ta'baen.

It's a major misconception among muslims, it took three hundred years for Shariah to be completed.

I think this sounds right. Sharia was completed during the life of Mohammad (SAW), it was only documented later on.

however the doors of Ijtihaad is still open. nobody can close it.

May Allah bless those who stand in prayer at night, and guide those people, who spread ignorance because of their lack of ilm and knowledge.

Alhamdolillah brother inuit. You said absolutely the right thing. Ijtihad is extremely critical in an ever changing world.

Ijtihad is for the Mujtahids who understand what religion is and have the understanding and capability to find answers to new questions.

Ameen Brother Crescent.

Night prayer (Tahajjud) is definitely a way of salvation and closeness to Allah Subhana Tala and should be established all the year around.

May Allah bless those who stand in prayer at night, and guide those people, who spread ignorance because of their lack of ilm and knowledge* and deviate from the right path showed to us by our beloved prophet (saw).*

was not Tarawih through Ijtihad then? and Hz Umar was a Mujtahid of that time.