Tape-Ball Cricket in Pakistan

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/cricket/newsid_2064000/2064890.stm

By Kashif Qamar
BBC Sport Online

Cricket equipment has seen many changes in recent years, from white balls to coloured clothing.

Among Pakistan’s throng of cricket enthusiaists, there have been many adaptations to enable the game to go on no matter what the conditions.

In major urban centres like Karachi and Lahore where full-sized cricket fields are a rare luxury, it is not uncommon to see cricket being played in narrow lanes and streets.

And pads, arm guards and helmets can all be discarded with a single bat and ball all that is needed.

The latter, however, is a unique design - a tennis ball wrapped in sticky tape.

Although street cricket is decades old, the innovation of a taped ball is relatively new; introduced two decades ago.

Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif
A tennis ball is too light for cricket but wrapping it in tape increases weight and enables it to act more like a traditional cricket ball with extra bounce and speed.

Teenagers playing cricket with colourful tape-wrapped balls are now a common sight throughout Pakistan.

Commonly known as tape-ball cricket, the new-style game has proved so popular that even some professional cricketers can often be seen joining in.

Current Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif is one of those many Test players who have been playing tape-ball cricket.

“It has always been a fun for me. It’s thrilling and I still enjoy playing with my old friends,” Rashid Latif told BBC Sport Online.

“Every youngster in Pakistan who play cricket has to pass through this phase. Now it’s impossible for a cricketer not to play tape-ball cricket.”

Saeed Anwar, Basit Ali, Moin Khan, Asif Mujtaba, Mansoor Akhtar and many others are regular players in tape-ball matches in Pakistan.

One organiser of tape-ball cricket matches said the adaptation proved popular for the fact that this new style cricket was very handy.

“If you don’t have two full-sized teams, number of players on each side could be cut, number of overs for a game is not fixed and so the other things,” said Mansoor Siddiqi of Karachi’s Taimuria Cricket Club.

“The only fixed things are the spirit and enthusiasm of the game.”

A very popular season for such matches is the Muslim holy month of Ramadan when tournaments of limited overs tape-ball matches are organised throughout the major urban centres in Pakistan.

“The reason is that the festive mood allows fans to organise matches after dawn, before dusk and even during the nights,” Siddiqi said.

Tape-ball cricket is not recognised by official cricket bodies but tournaments featuring 200 teams are not unknown, with the winners collecting 25,000 rupees (£278).

Such a tournament can last two weeks with every match limited to 15-20 overs a side.

“It’s like beach football. In my view, it’s playing a critical role in promoting cricket in Pakistan,” said Latif.

"Many of the young and promising cricketers have been spotted through tape-ball cricket.

“If I am passing through a tape-ball match and see a player performing well, I can easily recognise his talent.”

In India too Tennis Ball Cricket is very Popular, Dilip Vengsarkar learnt his cricket playing with it. In India we dont use the taped ball though, We use ball called COSCO which is heavier than a regular tennis ball.

AK

But if someone get hit with the COSCO ball nani yaad a jati hai

in PAK they normally call it KOK ball. COSCO ball can hurt easily as compare to tape ball.

Naani to yaad TAPED-BALL se bhi aa sakti hai, It just depends where you are hit by the ball.

AK

Chances are you can still survive, but if u get hit by COSCO ball (specially depends where you get hit) then ahem

Playing with tape ball is so fun, I like playing with tape ball more than the real cricket hardball.
Matter of affect I still do sometimes but it can really mess you up sometimes when you are trying to bowl especially.
I play for a club here and I avoid bowling with a lighter tape ball.

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Naani to yaad TAPED-BALL se bhi aa sakti hai, It just depends where you are hit by the ball.

nahi agar tape kaafi charaai ho to kahin bhi lage naani yaad aa jaati hai...

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Momentum = Mass x Velocity

Its the momentum that percieves how hard you get hit, and in case of the hard ball, the mass is alot more than that of a tennis tape ball, so you get hit very badly if it were a hard ball...

Imagine Shoiab Akhter bowling at 155Km/h with a hard ball and it hits the leg without a pad...

Some of the guys I have been playing with on the streets in Pak in the past are now experts in swinging the cricket ball and they say they know how to do it because of their tape covered tennis bowling...

[This message has been edited by Spock (edited June 25, 2002).]

Yeah if you play alot with the tape ball you get the feel and most can easily swing the ball, more than the real cricket ball.

Me and my friends used to cheat by putting on tape unevenly on the ball so the ball swings more.

I was told by a friend before the world cup of 92 which PAK won Imran Khan had the whole team practice with tape ball. Dunno if its true or not.

how does taped ball help you swing it? I can get some swing with the hard ball but not with the taped one.

I also found that I didn't have too many problems bowling with a hard ball versus a taped ball. I just had to change the length a little bit. However, I had a lot of trouble with my batting. I can middle the ball but can't time it sweetly and that is a big problem for me especially because I am a timer rather than someone who goes after the ball Afridi style.

Anyways, hopefully I'll get much more time to practise this fall. Man, studies suck.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

Life is like a piano, What u get out of it depends on how u play it.

my mistake… I corrected it

With the tape Ball a more successful thing is " Finger bowling" . Some bowlers could move the ball in both directions with the same style and woww it is very difficult to play.

Originally posted by Moonstar201:
**With the tape Ball a more successful thing is " Finger bowling" . Some bowlers could move the ball in both directions with the same style and woww it is very difficult to play.

Moonstar, can you elaborate on that plz? It seems as though you have experience bowling with the tape ball...

The person who accepts his mistake is the bravest.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

Originally posted by sambrialian:
*how does taped ball help you swing it? *

Because sometimes if the ball not taped properly, the surface is uneven and that helps the ball swing more in the air.

One more trick to swinging the tape ball is swinging with one finger rather than two like hardball and it works really well.

COK ball to me i stylish cricket but I have alway played with tape and the fast pace in tape and no one cares about style when playing with tape ball, all ever one cares about is scoring some runs by laparing the balls.
just before I came to Canada for the first time I played a real tape ball match which invoved teams.
Oh I miss U.A.E
and basically I am a spinner balling both off spin, leg spin in the same over with the same style
what about u guys? what kinda baller or batsman are u?
waisey tape ball ka bhee bharosa nahin kab aur kahan yeh to waqt hi batata hai ahem ahem

waccha gonna do
tell me
waccha gonna do when .......... runs wild on you?

[This message has been edited by khiska hoowa (edited June 25, 2002).]

I've been playing cricket all my life.
All my friends make fun of me because I've always like to bowl fast rather than batting, so I'm usually everybody's guinee pig whenever they like to practice before our league matches.
I actually have no talent in batting and never will kind of like Courtney Walsh.