Tapal Chai Commercial (Mahira Khan)

Re: Tapal Chai Commercial (Mahira Khan)

to phir app chai ki trolley kab ghaseth rahi hian. :chai:

Writer definitely over thought about the whole concept . Advertisers just wanted to sell tea showing pretty girls . Thats it .

Shall we get back to 'World hunger' or some serious topic like that please !!

Life 1 is full of flirting and “what turns you on more” type nonsense. World Hunger? :rotfl:

WTH..... no issues with 100,000 jazz and ufone and this-phone and that-phone ads every day?

TAPAL main keeray.... seems the write-up is more out of some other feelings for the actress than the content of the advertisement.

Maybe the article has been written by that vilain lady of the drama Humsafar, that VJ from AAG TV, Maheen/sara

Drama Buff (author) Says:

Just a quick response to some of the comments here:
  1. My main issue in that ad was with the tea-serving business – cut that out and the ad was pretty much alright. I would not have given it a second thought then.

2. Why I have an issue with this when I did not go through it myself (and my marriage was one hundred percent arranged, mind you) is I have seen personally what this does to girls in our society. It is a flawed system and someone has to initiate change. (Just because everyone follows it does not make it right or even appropriate). And honestly, seeing that our youth is being flippant about it is disappointing!

3. There are many creative ways of meeting the girl in question without letting her know she is being considered for a proposal. Again, I know personally many ladies who don’t want to go girl-hunting to different houses and thus, they find ways to meet them (weddings, university functions, etc). That suits them and does not hurt the girl’s self-esteem.

4. I did not write about this because of Mahira! Honestly rolls eyes. I wrote about this because at least on my own Facebook, people are posting this with going ga-ga comments – this made me realize no one even understood the underlying message being portrayed. I also wrote about this because Tapal is a bigwig and I want them to take note and understand that if they are launching such extensive campaigns, they should at least try to propagate positive social change!

http://www.dramapakistani.net/?p=1846

Mehnaz, can we have two separate polls ... one for if you (guppies) were introduced to their spouses with chai trolley? And second if they will send their daughter out when her time comes or if they would expect their son to sit their.

I agree that the whole tea trolley thing is a bit (a lot) out dated, but it is one of the ways that people do things there, and it's not going to change anytime soon. But I would like to think that the "tea trolley stage" isn't really the very first stage now a days is it? Or is it a total blind setting still as it was before the recent tech revolution of the last 15 odd years? Would this be the very first time that a prospective couple see each other (when the trolley is rolled in)??? That sounds a bit absurd.

In this day and age of technology, I'm sure the couple to be has seen each other somewhere or the other before that stage. The guy or the family coming over for tea would be more of a "let's get the ball rolling" or "let's get to know each other better" situation. Or am I totally off base here? If people who have gone through this recently, or know of others who have, would enlighten us on the matter, that would be great.

Where are these writers when "GORA KERNY KI CREAM" ads come? In those ads girls are offended by their friends or family because their complexion is dark or they are not getting proposals....... but one day they start using THAT CREAM and everyone starts staring her and she get a perfect proposal. i get offended with these ads seriously.... there is nothing wrong in this Tapal ad.

I think writer was running out of topics, one day she saw this ad and thought ohhh why not! i can make a story on this harmless ad........

CF: agree

Oh Lord! I don't know what to say, all that time I was thinking the author is angry about the fact the girl who tops her exams gets married off instead of having an opportunity to utilize her education for building a career or serving the society. I was wrong for giving so much credit and silent appreciation for a very valid point but to my utter surprise, the author's main beef is with the tea trolley? Seriously, a tea trolley? How could I miss this grave injustice and earth shattering shattering zulm o sitam in the ad?

My advice to the author: next time you write another hullabaloo of an article, make sure you put your personal issues and emotional injuries to a side and talk about things worth talking about.

Is it only me who is getting a totally diff. message from the ad? I think they are trying to show that she i.e. Mahira Khan is an educated gal, she gets 3rd position in Uni. she is beautifull, but still she is an obedient daughter. She accepts the proposal her parents brought to her. She doesnt do nakhray as most of us do. She doesnt throw tantrums and say oh ammi this is MY life, and i will decide whom i want to marry whom i wont. etc etc.

I dont know from where and how did some people pull out the tray and trolley from this? Baat ka batangar, and women are known for this trait.

Yes, and nowhere in the ad it shows she is going to die or not going to be able to pursue her career if she has a rishta coming to her house. She is happy, everyone is happy.

But… :smack:

I kind of agree since this whole 'tea trolley' process during a rishta is long gone (i think...well i cant generalise it but just saying it from some rishtas for some of my cousins.....they didnot bring any tea trolleys or trays....their mom or maids did everything....the girls just came and sat...or just offered whatever was on the table.....but their was no sar pe duppatta aur haath main chai ki tray ya trolley).

anyhow i think the ad is nice....class ati hai ad main...and mahira does look v nice and elegant along with emaad who looks v good looking. mashallah.

Talk about making a mountain out of a mole hill.

yea…trolly is bad…arranged marriage is bad…:nono:

next ad should have the ‘chai’ drinking scene after the guy and girl wake up in the morning after having sex all night… and with the cup of chai…they propose or something…and then do the shadi…

that would be a perfect legitmiate and acceptable ad promoting liberation of our repressed chai trolley pushing mazloom women who are treated like a cart pulling khoti…:rolleyes:

It's just a commercial people.

It's like blaming McDonald's because, while eating a big mac, you aren't skinny like the people in their commercials.

Writer is jealous of Mahira Khan's beauty . . . so sure of it . :p

Please no disrespect for McDonald’s . . . I love their fries :snooty:

They have pig fat in their fries.