Tapal Chai Commercial (Mahira Khan)

Re: Tapal Chai Commercial (Mahira Khan)

This commercial so reminds me of the song
shaayad meri shaadi ka khayaal dil main aaya hai
isi liye mummy ne meri tumhain chaa'ey pe bulaaya hai
How predictable!

I think the Ad is really cute and I am one of the severest critics of desi programming and their stereotypical portrayal of women.

I think it's good that it has sparked a debate though. I am sure that the creators of the ad did not have any agendas behind the ad, but the fact that it is making people think is actually a positive thing.

Also, doesn't it kind of show the reality of the situation? She is super excited about whatever happened in her university and then she comes home and is shoved into a situation where she has to serve chai to strangers. I am sure there are a lot of girls in Pakistan who actually think that they will continue with their education because they are so talented, but actually end up getting married because of family pressure.

The only difference between the ad and real life? Mahira seems to have a fairy tale life and most of the real girls will most likely never have that.

maybe they are trying to portay that it's end of school year and she's done with her studies - ready to start a new life? Actually to think of it they could have cut the whole part out.

It's an adverisement folks! It's entertainment and it does really promote anything. Drinking and serving chai is a social act. Lots of girls do go to university and do well for good rishtas. The parents of the girl can brag that their daughter got a position. The guys family usually does inquire what skills their potential Bahus has.....

Anyways.....the writer could have made of point of why everyone int he commercial is good looking? Why are the male models fair and Mahira looks stunning. Does the vast majority look like that? Is everybody that good looking? Probably not! Anyways it is a 30 sec commercial enjoy for what it is worth. Is it original ? No tons of commercial like that in India and Pakistan. However I liked it. Mahira khan is the hottest commodity along with Fawad Khan. they are very marketable! These actors are smart to milk the cow while they can. In less than a year the masses will have forgotten about Humsafar! I like to discuss and critique the drama serial and story and direction rather than these commercials.

The person who wrote the blog entry has a site dedicated to reviewing dramas. The only reason they even bothered with this commercial is because of its popularity due to Mahira Khan and Humsafar.

I posted a link to this thread on that website. I hope the writer reads all of your views on the issue they tried to raise.

Honestly, a lot of Pakistani TV ads are edit up. Take for example, Fair & Lovely. The dark-skinned girl has no prospective in life... it's almost as if there's a collective "QUIT YOUR LIFE" sign pasted on every Fair & Lovely ad. I think most ads with females are like that in Pakistan. Chai/beaut/appliances....=/

I saw the ad and thought it was nice.I never thought anything beyond that.
The tea tray scenario might not happen in every household anymore.But it is a 1 minute long ad only and they are showing what they had to.More likely a scenario for an arranged marriage which still is common in Pakistan.I do not find it degrading to women or educated women (as shown in the ad) in any way.But that is just my take on it.
We dont know but the girl in the ad might have a professional job after completing college,getting married (arranged marriage) and being a DIL,all at the same time.I am sure if it was a 5 minute long thing they would have showed it...hehe.I honestly find the other lotion potion ads more annoying where the girl is of wheatish complexion and she 'has' to be gori gori before she can get a young handsome husband.What kinda message are the sending across...??

She could've been shown coming home from work :) and then the dupata coulda been thopped on her head.

anyways, i don't care about the ad. i like mahira in it and the clothes. It seems like fun. makes everything seem like a fairytale. : ) =\

ofoh. har koi kapron hi kiiyon baat kar raha hia :naraz:

Anyone else feel like a cup of chai? :-/

No? Just me then. :hinna:

Calm down? Really? I am furious! :mad2:

Part of journalism is reviewing the media contents. :wink:

double post..

No I feel like having a cup too…:smiley:

I feel like getting a pepsi now. It's my poison.

let the guest bring tea for host......

takes notes
Pepsi and burnt cookies

Wait, when did I ever say anything about actually wanting/liking your burnt cookies?

(How does one mess up ready-made cookie dough? That's like messing up jello. How does one mess up jello?)

Did I ever tell you about that one time I messed up jello? :-/ :hinna:

Fine! :mad: in soup nazi’s voice No cookies for you! :mad:

Oh mama…the authoritative tone. :wub:

Now go fetch me a bebsi. I’ll be a gentleman and not require that you pour it in a glass and set it on a tray. The can/bottle will be fine. :snooty:

Planning to get an ‘operation’ RV? Coming out of closet? :wink: