talking in circles

Re: talking in circles

Its not an issue just in our social settings even in business and poltics ppl go the roundabout way of addressing things, instead of giving an answer and then explainign or providing additional info if needed they like to throw everything at you so in their mindm you are reaching the same conclusion that they have. However for ppl who deal with direct answers, this approach seems like dodging the issue, not answering the question etc etc.

news anchors put middle eastern or desi folks in a situation where the person is cut off before he is able to finish the whole roundabout answer. Ppl in our countries really need to be trained to handle thse things better. What may be acceptable culturally just does not cut it in the increasingly small business and political world

This is hilarious Mamaof3 ! Its interesting how as an outsider (meaning gori), you have observed this fact to be true. I love the fact that goras are so straight to the point and there is no formalities with them. With desis, there are too many formalities and even then they are never happy. They like to say "so and so said this or so and so wants this", when its really them. For God's sake....be direct !!

I, being a desi myself HATE this formality business amongst my own ppl. It is one of my greatest pet peeves.

I agree 100%, Desis being direct means lots of ugliness and a very serious danger of things getting out of control. Desis tend to take things very personally.

well in those cases they should not be talkign period...I mean with talkign direct comes tact, comes a sense of right and wrong and confidence and ability to deal with the consequences.

keeping the same things going with circular BS sometmes through indirect channels and messengers and all that schming, frankly I dont understand how people have time for that shyt let alone the patience.

so its a bigger isue than just circles versus direct, it also has to include tact, sticking to your principles, and more than anything maturity..

on a maturity scale desis especially the scheing aunty variety are ver low. they remind me of high school or middle school chicas cliques ..

For his sake and for the sake of younger generation, I hope he does not mean the garbage he so produl spewed in his so called radio show.

I know what you mean, I hate it. Whats worse is that direct people are actually looked down at and people who are formal and indirect are "tameez wale".

WTH? Did I miss something?

ahem cough-cough!!

ok, radio-show is exception. I mean WHO is the same online as they are in person? Not a ONE of us I'm sure!! well, I really am but what-the-heck, leave him alone, ok? He's just having a bit of JohnnyWalker-whatevercolor and having a fun time ok??? OK.

ANYway, as far as people talking about my kids, watch out! If they have trouble with nose-shape, well it looks like "YOUR NOSE" I think.
NEVER NEVER say mean things about my kids or I will hurt you; and that is a promise. Fraudz, you have my sympathies dealing with people who squeeze pinch and critisize,,,,just tell them oh yes "just like you", with a sweet smile.

As to the rest, I agree. American correspondents do not understand the south-asian (or whatever term you choose) lack of ability to be direct. It should be handled with more respect for the culture and more patience since the truth WILL come out one way or the other, its just a matter of time and patience, but come on south-asians....lets get INTO it yeah?

what radio show, tell tell

I am all ears.

we know dumbo

Achaa acha itna tapney ki zaroorat nahin

aray yaaaar.. desion ko bhi poora samjhana parta hai..jhat naraz ho jatay hain, aray bhai pooch toh lo what was meant :)

u said you are all ears, dumbo is a baby elephent who was made fun of due to his long ears but he could fly with those ears.

it was a joke..

get it...all ears... dumbo...

haan haan haan get it get it?

Yes you did. Read Mo3's reply.

I am sure degrading all religions is a fine idea of fun time. I am sure he did not mean any of it. Yeah right. Like I said, for the sake of the next generation, I hope he did not mean any of it (fat chance). After all this is the same person who thought that putting Prophet Muhammad :saw: smiley was fun also.

I dont think its a desi thing at all, its purely human not to confront a problem or a issue at its face value. I have two vice presidents in my office not connecting to each other on issues for the last seven years, the problems are still there, but they will keep on talking in circles saving their brown, I mean white arses. Thats one reason people talk in circles because they dont want to be direct or rude, what ever you might say, but its not just a desi thing. There are people who will not react to any thing until the very last moment, when their vested interest are threatened, then they will become rude blatant direct or talk straight, what ever you may call it.

It varies from person to person, some are direct confident and blatant, rude in expressing their views and feelings and some are not.
But being a desi I can tell you that culturally, respect plays a lot in not being direct in many situations in desiland.