Talent , thy name is Sohail !

Some fresh breeze in mess of third class cheap dramas floating here and there on private productions.Cheap digest story-tellers of Kiran , Shua and Khwateen Digest have become writers. No production , no direction , no acting , no expressions , BS stories , cheap plots, low necks , sleeveless, vulgar themes , spacious bunglows, mummy daddy pepsi burger class description which shows only 5% of Pakistan , few pretty faces close ups of Juggan Kazim , Aisha Khan ,Sanam Baloch , Sara Chaudry and Mahnoor Baloch and dramai baazi end after an hour or so.

When Amjad Islam Amjad ’ Waris’ used to be on air in late 80s , streets of Dehli and Amritsar became quiet as all people used to stick to thier TVs. Same was for Munno Bhai masterpeice Sona Chandi. Urdu legend Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi and his unforgettable stories Qasmi Khania and who can forget Ghar sai Ghar tak which we all have read in Matric Urdu course. Atta ul Qasmi Shub Degh and Khwaja and Sons. Asghar Nadeem Syed , Ashfaq Ahmed , Bano Qudsia all from Government College Lahore and thier immortal plays and writtings. Maigh Malhar , Manchalay sa Soda , Aik Mohabbat So Afsanai , Zawia etc etc. Qasim Jalali like director and writer. Kashkol, Chand Grahan , Rahain , Bandhan(Nadia Khan). Fatima Bajia and his brother Anwar Maqsood and plays like Sitara aur Mehrunisa (Atiqa Odho) , Marvi , Hawai etc. Shoman’s Shunairai Din and Alpha Bravo Charlie and list goes on and on.Even in old days at evening a punjabi 30 minute play used to be on air at 5:30 pm with light comedy discussing some social issues , govermnet offices corruption , people standing for bills before bansks in long row are used to be just excellent.

Sohail Ahmed is one of them. From serious to comedy , from plays to stage dramas , an exceptional case in whole PTV history. If one remebers his part in Khwaja and Sons taking a cup of tea asking his guests : Chai peeni hai ,Nai , Kyu, Acha : :rotfl:

Wonderful Program
26th September 2009 Hasb-e-Haal

Video Hasb-e-Haal 26th September 2009 - Friends Korner

Re: Talent , thy name is Sohail !

funny guy and very funny show, very clever with his political satire. reminds me a bit of 'daily show with jon stewart'.

didn’t always have a lot of regard for him because of his work in Punjabi “theatre”… but he is super funny in Hasb-e-Haal… especially his parody of Naveed Qamar always gets me going…

Naveed Qamar

:cb: kitni daffa chai offer kar ke phir khud hi jawab de diya karta tha :cb:

miss those dramas :slight_smile:

nowadays its blagh :bummer:

Another Great Program :rotfl:

Video Hasb-e-Haal 1st October 2009 - Friends Korner

Sohail Ahmed is a legend... sohail's performance in hasb e haal is far more entertaining than the so called comedians in our soaps and dramas. The guy is so witty he's never at a loss for words.There's a valid reason why current affairs programs have become so popular. To be honest, I find these talk shows are more socially relevant - a trait that has gone missing form our dramas. today the soaps are being churned out by a tiny westernized elite with no idea of whats happening in 99.9% of pakistan. Talented people like sohail ahmed and rahat kazmi have moved away from dramas and shown more creativity in programs like hasb e haal and sama.
Sohail Ahmed definitely provides intelligent comedy with original one liners and realistic impersonations(not caricatures mind you). no soap or drama has that quality of humor.

^^ Before 2002 , there was only 2 or 3 channels PTV , ATV , STN , NTM etc and we all used to watch 8:00 pm drama on PTV with family taking dinner and those dramas used to be so good as well.When private channels came and specially GEO News , ARY News then Express News, Aaj and recently Dunya , i can say without any doubt that hardly 10 or 15% watch GEO , HUM , PTV or Aaj dramas. 80% of Pakistan is addicted to Hamid Mir , Kashif Abbasi ,Kamran Khan, Mubashar Lucman,Javed Chaudry , Talat Hussain , Moeed Pirzada ,Shahid Masood , Iftikhar Jawab Deh , Naseem Zehra etc starting from 8:00 to 12:00 pm on 5 or 6 channels simultaneously.Even family women watch these shows instead of cheap GEO or HUM dramas.This gave a huge political awareness as seen in Elections-2008 when major pillars uprooted from political arena.People more enjoy Firdous Ashique Awan and Kishmala Tariq fight or Shiekh Rasheed 'awami style' or Altaf Hussain** 'king kong style' **than so called 'comedy' of HUM or GEO which one dosent know that after watching , he should weep or laugh !

**Ch.Shujaat Hussain ** :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :k:

Good to see more quality programs coming out of Pakistan.

^^ PCG , I wonder , can you fully understand all this stuff. :confused:

Being raised in US, I dont think you can fully grasp the terms and words Sohail used specially in last youtube video.

get hold of his stage drama “ketchup”
when I watched it for the first time, I almost killed myself - laughing :omg:
some parts of ketchup are on youtube too - i think

Hasb-e-Haal is a wonderful program except for that girl who does nothing but laughing and tell about the agenda.

Tanz O maza is top level !

that guy is HILARIOUS!! Even though I do not understand Punjabi just the way he says things totally cracks me up!
During Ramadan he would come wearing a topi and kurta shalwar hehe ;-)
The other guy who actually tells the stories is pretty awesome too!
I always end up missing this show on repeat. It comes on at some odd time - 9 pm or so in the US....

^^ Enjoy **Chaudry Vs Chaudry

Other guy is Aftab Iqbal , son of ex CSP officer and himself a Ravian previously with Nawa-i-Waqt and now with Dunya News.

he is very, very funny. but I do think that he is bringing too much of the Punjabi "theater"/juggat stuff into the show. which is not my cup of tea.